We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely birthday treat”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely birthday treat”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This is a good place to treat someone to a special trip away. The setting is quiet and tranquil, close to the coast and Alnwick. The room was spacious, with large windows and quality fittings. The bathroom was spacious with a big roll top bath and a separate shower. We ate in the hotel restaurant where the food was excellent. The menu used local ingredients, all freshly cooked, beautifully presented and with sensible portion sizes. The one thing I would say is missing, is a choice of a lighter dish, as the half dozen main courses are all rich and filling. Breakfasts were excellent. They could do without the piped music in the evening which spoilt the pleasant atmosphere at times. The spa was clean and we used the pool during our stay, but the small mixed changing area could be improved. We found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful. My only disappointment with our stay was the poor cocktails! At £9.50 a watery, weak martini, that barely half filled the glass, was not what I would have expected here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wine07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    240
    99
    31
    13
See reviews for
188
765
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

My best friend held her wedding here and the location was just beautiful. The hotel provides a lovely setting. However the staff really did ruin the day for us. I turned up early in the morning to collect the keys for the room for the bridesmaids to use to get dressed. We are all privately educated hard working tee total professionals who work in the legal and medical professions. We were greeted with a rude young lady barely in her 20s who said "oh and don't trash the room" when she handed me the key. I was absolutely appalled and the bride was very upset to hear this.
They made us feel like we were a burden to them all day even though they had a customer paying several thousand pounds for her family and close friends to stay there for the weekend for a lavish wedding.
If you want good service I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BirdBrain86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broughty Ferry Dundee
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

It was our Golden Wedding and we spent two nights there as part of the celebration. The family had arranged, among other things,treats which included massages for us both. These were definitely the best we had ever had. The room was of a very high standard as were the dinners we enjoyed both evenings.Wine was a reasonable price and of good quality.
Overall the hotel had an ambience and luxury which was not overstated.
Would stay again and will look for special deals

Room Tip: Use a sat nav to find the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCM1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at Doxford Hall and we love it. It's the perfect place to get away and have some peace and tranquility. The location is beautiful but not too far away from some lovely areas to visit. The service is second to none. The staff are helpful and friendly. The rooms are well laid out and comfortable. The breakfast is fabulous. We did not eat in the restaurant as I am a very picky eater and the lavish menu was not for me although I have heard the food is fabulous. Maybe a more basic ordinary dish for people like me would be an idea as I know my husband would love to eat in the restaurant!!! This would not stop me from going back though I love the place!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeordieApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We found this gem of a place by accident after having booked a hotel in Seahouses which was a disaster so we transferred to Doxford Hall for our stay .It was totally enjoyable so we returned in March and brought along family. Again the whole experience could not be faulted . I found myself looking for things that could be wrong with it as it seemed too good to be true !. It will be our bolthole for any future relaxing treats away . The spa facilities and massage offers are excellent . The whole ambience of the place is conducive to a complete restful break .The staff are the most polite and helpful that we have come across , nothing was too much trouble. Very rare to say that for all staff ( we have been to numerous hotels in our lifetime ) and never experienced this. The setting was excellent and the surrounding countryside has so much to offer that it is difficult to decide whether to make the most of the facilities at the hotel or explore the surroundings . As we are walkers and were mostly away from the hotel until late in the day we did not experience the dining room so could not comment on dinner however the breakfast is very well presented and a wide choice for everyone . Personally I cannot write enough good comments about this little piece of heaven .

Room Tip: We have had a great experience on both occasions so don't feel at liberty to judge Both rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

On arriving at Doxford hall we were very impressed. The check in was perfect and the staff wonderful. We had a standard twin room as Deluxe rooms can not be made into twins. The food was very well prepared and quality excellent. the only downside for me was that the menu was far too fussy - it was as if nothing could be simple, everything had to have multiple ingredients - even a potato croquette would have 4 other ingredients like ox cheek for example. The first night we were looking forward to a quiet meal but this was soon interrupted by the crooning of a wedding singer then the band/disco took over. After retiring to bed we were then woken up by the sounds of the room next door flushing toilets, running taps and talking till 2.30 am. Either the insulation between the rooms is poor or sound is travelling through the venting system. The following night diner was quieter but our new neighbours next door were not. The same problem with noise pollution, but this time they arose at 6am and put the TV on.
The grounds are superb for wandering around.
On check out the duty manager did say she would check out the noise issues from the room next door.

Room Tip: miss out 316/317y as the noise travels
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank intipusscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a 3 night brolly break bought for me as a Xmas pressie. We stayed end of March 2014 thoroughly enjoyed our time. We went to Edinburgh and went to the local sites and managed a trip to the Metro Centre!!

Hotel very plush, large room, food very good (very expensive if buying separately to package), breakfast ace and so was the service. Spa and pool area clean and everything provided, communal changing rooms in pool area though, so you haven't to be on the shy side!!

All staff were obliging, had to keep asking for extra milk for room and always happy to help. Spa bath in room really good but we could hear when next door had theirs on at 11.45pm at night! If I had one small negative observation, the bedroom doors didn't lock automatically behind you and occasionally we walked away without locking the door and later we remembered we'd left room open. Not a great problem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
23.9 mi away
Marshall Meadows Country House Hotel
Marshall Meadows Country House H...
#2 of 3 in Berwick-upon-Tweed
472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Property: Doxford Hall Hotel
Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing