We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay close to the Northumbrian coast”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay close to the Northumbrian coast”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We can't speak too highly of this brilliant hotel. The bedroom was lovely, good size and thoughtfully appointed. The Moulton Brown toiletries and whirlpool bath in particular made it feel very special. The public rooms are comfortable and welcoming. We ate both in the restaurant and bar and the meals were excellent. The biggest asset of this hotel has to be the friendly and obliging staff for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. If you are looking for somewhere special in the area look no further.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrysidefans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    847
    237
    99
    30
    13
See reviews for
183
750
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We agreed to take our friends away for a weekend in Northumberland and decided to stay at Doxford Hall again. We have stayed here numerous times in the past.

On arrival we were greeted very warmly by the receptionists and allocated our rooms. The rooms were terrific! They are extremely well appointed, very comfortable and very clean. In fact they are very luxurious!

After a quick cup of tea we went down to the spa for a nice swim and to indulge in the sauna and jacuzzi. It was lovely.

We had dinner in the George Runciman restaurant and it was superb.

After a great nights sleep we had a lovely breakfast the next morning with an extensive menu to choose from.

Our friends really enjoyed the hotel and as usual we had a fantastic time. It's a great place for a relaxing weekend!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Wow. If you are going to treat yourself then this is the place. We had a deluxe suite - the Capability Brown. Pure luxury and so much space. Enough seats in the room for a group of 8. Lovely bath room too with shower, double sinks, under floor heating. The grounds are great, maze, walks. We were treated so well by all of the staff. The George Runciman restaurant was wonderful with a great choice on the menu. Couldn't fault the place. If I had to be picky I would prefer built in Jaccuzzi pools rather than the 2 plastic ones they have in the spa. Will definitely be going back for a longer stay this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mejola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Having stayed at The Gardners Cottage back in Jan this year, for New years eve, We returned this May for the bank holl weekend. We were just as pleased. The grounds to this cottage are not enclosed, so not as good for dogs as the other cottage. The living room was bright and airy, and the fire is AMAZING if you are there in winter. We were apprehensive about being right at the gate and near the road, but it was peaceful and quiet.The staff at the hotel were as always, beyond helpful, friendly and considerate. We could not have asked for a better break away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Set in a tranquil location with easy access to the coast. All the staff were friendly and service was good. We had a superior room with an excellent bathroom; however as this was at the front of the hotel there was some light pollution from the spot lights outside. I had a superb manicure in the spa from Megan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BegbrokeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Arrived here for a spa day. Lovely friendly staff and beautiful lunch in a extremely pleasant dining room. The pool area is looking a bit dated but it was nice and quiet and relaxing. The steam room was not working and although we reported this nothing was done that we saw, and the jacuzzis were cold initially but did warm up later. Treatments were very good. The hand and body lotion on the changing room wall smelt like it was off and unfortunately this was not discovered until it was on my body and so I had to shower at home again, which kind of spoilt the day. However, I would definitely recommend this place for a very relaxing day with good food and a nice ambience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria.
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a gem of a Hotel set in Rural Northumberland. Renovated by the previous owners, it is a superbly appointed hotel, with comfort and quality in abundance. All the rooms are large, comfortable and well equipped. The stunning dining room complements the menu and quality of food and service. A comprehensive wine list is also available. Breakfast is part buffet and part cooked to order, which makes for a relaxing start to the day. The Spa facility is excellent and provides a modest pool, with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Traement rooms are ask available. The Hall is surrounded by well attended gardens and even a challenging maze! The Hotel location is ideal for visits to Banburgh, Alnwick, Alnmouth and Holy island along with all the other pleasures of the Northumberland coast. Three of our friends together with my wife and I spent three nights at the hotel and we will be back!

Room Tip: Not an issue they all seem excellent. The East side gets the morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
7.8 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
512 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waren House Hotel
Waren House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bamburgh
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Property: Doxford Hall Hotel
Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing