We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downton with all Mod Cons!”
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Downton with all Mod Cons!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This is a beautifully restored, well maintained country house with spacious rooms and excellent facilities. I went with a party of friends for an overnight spa break and we enjoyed every minute of it. Our rooms were large, clean and well appointed with everything we needed. The food was delicious and attractively served and we found that nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. We had booked additional spa treatments and found that whether it was 60 minutes or 30 minutes, that was what we got - not 55 or 25 as is sometimes the case when we visit a spa! The hotel was quite busy and with a number of families staying in the cottages in the grounds it had a nice buzz with a good mix of guests. I am already thinking of a return visit, this time with my husband and would certainly recommend Doxford Hall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desiderata22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    228
    97
    28
    12
See reviews for
181
725
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was here with my mother and sister in-law and we had a brilliant time. We all had 30-minute spa treatments, which although not a long time left us very refreshed. The SPA itself was wonderful with steamrooms and sauna, and a wonderful pool. We were lucky and had the whole pool area for ourselves for about an hour, which made it even nicer.

We were a bit late arriving for tea and it took quite a long time before we were being served but when we were it was all very good service. The sandwiches were wonderful, scones delicious and the cakes - also very good.

The hall itself I feel had a wonderful feel to it and they had managed to mix old with modern in a very nice way.

It was simply ab fab and I would love to go back for a stay with my husband.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visited for a spa day and afternoon tea. Staff in hotel extremely helpful and pleasant, afternoon tea delightful and surroundings beautiful including the grounds. Spa not so good. Very disappointed that despite it being very obviously quiet we could not add on any additional treatments to those which we had booked. The changing facilities are very average and the toiletries on offer very poor quality as were the towels and robes. Pool was reasonable but never nice to see chewing gum lying at the side !!! We had both booked Prescriptive facials and although we filled in extensive questionnaires prior to our treatments our specific skincare requirements were never mentioned by the therapist! One reason for choosing this spa was the fact that they used Babor products. I have owned a salon in the past and was an agent for Babor. I was looking forward to hearing about what new products they had on offer and what I might then be able to purchase. I was therefore very surprised that after the rather rushed facial I was not given any skincare advice or told what products had been used. I would love to know what was used as my skin has never felt drier which is very strange given the quality of Babor and the fact that I used it for years as it agreed so well with my skin. No one wants the hard sell but we were genuinely interested in the products. Our therapists obviously couldn't get rid of us fast enough and the reception was completely unmanned on our departure so we couldn't even ask then. Finally don't be fooled by the 25% discount voucher you get sent as you can't use it on the day. Such a pity that this beautiful hotel is let down by its spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malky21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Stayed here for five days in July. Beautiful hotel in beautiful grounds with friendly, helpful staff. Only negative was a long delay between ordering cooked breakfast and its arrival at the table (almost 25 minutes on one of the days). However, this was more than made up for by the overall standard of the hotel. We had booked through Secret Escapes, so already had a 42% discount, but on arrival we were upgraded to a beautiful, well appointed suite (The Langley) with sitting room and fitted kitchen, as well as one of the most luxurious bathrooms we've ever experienced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick Upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

if anywhere could be described as perfect this was it. From the delightful gardens to the superbly renovated interior of a lovely early Victorian house; from the skilled service to the delightful food. We went there for afternoon tea for my wife's birthday. We had tea in the library and in every way our expectations were exceeded. Afterwards we spent a lovely half hour in the gardens. A soon return beckons.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My Husband and I were married at Doxford Hall and also celebrated our 1st anniversary there. This time round we had another fantastic time. Our room (Grace Darling) was beautiful and overlooke the gorgeous beautifully kept gardens and the staff were lovely. Dan deserves a special comment, he is always so positive and friendly and a total asset to the Hall.
Just a couple of little things we felt a little disapointed with the evening meal some flavours and combinations didn't seem to go together and it was all very salty and the spa is looking a little tired, however that did not take away from our pleasure and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon. We were in the new coach house rooms which were beautifully decorated but very hot and the bed was very uncomfortable. We did notify reception but nothing was done and they seemed very uninterested. The spa was ok but had mixed changing rooms which I didn't like. Because we were in the coach house it was a 5 minute walk over to the spa. The breakfast however was delicious. One of the best we have had. And the setting and location were lovely.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Tory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.9 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
11.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Property: Doxford Hall Hotel
Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing