We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but prices are high and weddings can spoil your stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doxford Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doxford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely but prices are high and weddings can spoil your stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Classic country hotel in quiet rural location with beautiful gardens and high standards. We stayed in the newly equipped coach house which is absolutely luxurious. But there is a big BUT. The hotel is frequently used for weddings and these can distribute the thumping beat of the disco throughout the main areas of the hotel - including the restaurant. The staff were delightful and the breakfasts excellent - there was always a member of waiting staff to help when needed.

Room Tip: If you stay in the coach house, bring a torch AND there is no wifi there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoundBritain2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    218
    97
    28
    11
See reviews for
176
698
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My wife and I booked in for a Spa day and Lunch in the restaurant. The spa is very clean, spacious and very compact. No need to walk far to receive treatments, or to visit the relaxation room.

The main focus for our day was lunch. Firstly I will start by saying the lady who served us throughout our lunch was brilliant. She was so polite, courteous and helpful. I wish I could remember her name because she is a credit to Doxford Hall.

The food was gorgeous from start to finish. The Kipper pate and Beetroot soup were delightful and a perfect start to lunch. My wife then had Salmon which was cooked to perfection. I chose the chicken with mushrooms and blue cheese, again cooked to perfection and with crispy skin to die for.

If you in the area and want an incredible lunch, served by excellent staff, visit Doxford Hall immediately.

We will be going back, maybe even for our first anniversary...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights while attending our sons wedding which was held at the hotel. It is a really lovely hotel and is set in such beautiful grounds. We stayed in The Prudhoe Room which was very spacious and even had a jacuzzi bath. The two Full English breakfasts we had were very nicely cooked, though we both did not like the sausages.We had a wonderful day at the wedding with a wonderful wedding service, meal, entertainment, and being with great friends and family, the rain even stopped for the wedding and the sun came out. The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and friendly, but a special thank you to Rebecca and Chris who managed the wedding so superbly.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with a fiends for a wedding. We stayed in room 19, this was tastefully decorated as was the hotel through out. The room had a jacuzzi bath stocked with toiletry items.
The staff upon check in we're friendly and very helpful, we were assisted to our room with our cases on the second floor, this had a nice view over the gardens.
The room was stocked with water and items to make hot drinks and a kettle, we needed extra milk when we returned to our room later on in the evening and the staff were accommodating with this request.
We had a bar meal which was reasonable priced and of a good quality.
The wedding reception room didn't serve cocktails therefore we had to go to a bar on the next floor. We asked for Black Russian cocktails and at £8.00 a piece you expect a cocktail drink to be served in a cocktail glass however our cocktails were served in a spirit glass until we approached another member of the bar team whom changed the glasses to an appropriate cocktail glass upon our request topped up with soda.
The service is very good and maybe a bit to formal but non the less I have to give them a lot of credit for there professionalism and courteous manner.
We didn't have the opportunity to use the spa so I am unable to comment on the facilities.
We had an excellent night at the reception of Kevin and Sarah's wedding night, this was a pleasure to be part of there wedding celebration.



Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

my fiance Sarah and i stayed here last night in the recently refurbished coach house, we have previously stayed in the main hotel which is also great but trust me if you get a chance try out the coach house its very private, the rooms are also very stylishly furnished to a very high standard.
we both ate in the main restaurant and could not fault the food at all however the one thing i would say is that it is very formal.
there is a maze in the grounds for a bit of a laugh after dinner and we liked it so much were going back to stay there tonight after work.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Had a spar day including lunch 22aug14. Kipper pate with salad and a horseradish cream. Mmm lovely and fresh, but not too overpowering. Lamb with jus, crushed peas and Vegetables. Delicious, two sorts of lamb. A lovely warm almond tart, with cherries and cream on the side. The pastry was to die for. Friendly efficient service and a nice glass of wine. We even had the pleasure of seeing a wedding draw up in two magnificent old cars which just suited the environment perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding. Everything from the welcome on arrival to the 'bye' on departure was absolutely spot on. The food was great and the atmosphere so peaceful. The staff are really good, friendly and helpful. Would we go back? In an instant.....

Room Tip: Simply go there .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wadey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chathill
2.9 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
16.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
6.8 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
6.7 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
5.0 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doxford Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doxford Hall Hotel

Property: Doxford Hall Hotel
Address: Chathill, Alnwick NE67 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Chathill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chathill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Doxford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxing and luxurious holiday, short break or special event Doxford Hall is your perfect choice. Each of our 31 bedrooms have their own traditional charm and character and benefit from modern facilities bespoke furniture and many with views over the gardens. As a residential guest you can experience the indoor leisure facilities, swimming pool, spa baths, steam room and sauna. Open daily, the award winning George Runciman Restaurant is a genuine experience in fine dining. Doxford Hall is perfectly situated for guests to explore the stunning Northumberland coastline, countryside and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doxford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doxford Hall Hotel Alnwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing