We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantasti hotel with excellent service and an idyllic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of my touring holiday in Sri Lanka, and could not find another hotel to surpass the quality and value for money of this establishment.
The hotel is superbly set overlooking a small pond and a lake in a peaceful area of Habarana. The hotel rooms where spacious, very clean and well-equipped; the rooms featured a mini-bar, safe, satellite television, telephone, hairdryer, and all the mod-cons in the on-suite bathroom.
The view from the glass-fronted bedroom and balcony was exceptional. From a room on the third floor, I was able to view the pond and lake with its wonderful wildlife. From the room and hotel foyer, I was also able to watch the local villagers bathing or washing their clothes in the water, and to my great surprise elephants walking back and forth as they gave tourist rides or as they were being taken to bed each night.
The public areas of the hotel were of a high standard and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. The hotel's restaurant had a wide selection of food whether you choose the al-carte or buffet meals. The food was kept hot (unlike many of the other hotels I stayed in in Sri Lanka).
Other amenities in the hotel included a swimming pool that was cleaned everyday, and free wi-fi. The hotel also has a spa, but I can't advise upon this. The hotel can also arrange an elephant ride around the adjacent lake.

Room Tip: Best hotel in the Habarana/Sirgiriya area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chachapuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2011

We spent 3 days at the Sorrowa it was a good base for visiting attractions. We had a lovely view over the Tank (lake) from our balcony where we were able to watch elephants giving tourist rides, monkeys and other wild life. We were also able to see the locals bathing, fishing and doing there washing in an outlet and enjoy a walk along the banks.
The hotel was good but we would have preferred more local food and less European. Also thought evening meal expensive for Sri Lanka.
The bedroom and bathroom was spacious but unfortunately the shower curtain did not keep the water from the floor no matter how we adjusted it.
All the staff were all pleasant and friendly and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screennamechalky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We were in a lakeview room, which was very spacious and beautifully furnished. The bathrooms are good. The views were simply divine, we would enjoy a couple of drinks on our balcony overlooking the lake and watch the elephants come in each afternoon for the week we were there.
The service was very personalised, I thought the staff were very keen to assist in anyway possible and very sweet.
They had bands and musicians in the restaurant the nights the hotel was busy, which was a nice touch.
This is one of the smaller hotels around the lake, and we were debating whether to go to this or the bigger one, in the end because this seemed like better value we came to the Sorrowa and were very glad we did.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Himashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Having spent 3 nights at this hotel, it seemed to be all right. On the positive side it is nicely located by the lake and the interiors are neat and clean. It could however improve on the visitor experience as I find it average in all aspects and there is virtually nothing that deferentiates it from other hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michal_Paprocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Going into advantages first:
- hotel is new
- rooms and the hotel itself are beautifully designed
- rooms are cleaned several times a day
- meals are okay if you are not up to haute cuisine
- you must try their banana fresh!!
- staff is nice, smiley and wiling to help
- no crows!! If you suffered from crows in Colombo, then go to Habarana, there are no crows here!
- In the lobby there are some highly informative books on Sri Lanka. Take a time to read.
And some disadvantages:
- make sure to have ear plugs with you. The walls are quite thin and you can hear your neighbors.
- watch out for protruding bed corners. We were constantly hitting agains them.
- I would recommend the hotel owner to train his spa specialists in Thailand/Maldives/Bali where spa is best.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Violettavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Wonderful small hotel right on the lake excellent for watching bird life. Lovely rooms with good views, lots of space and large balcony. Staff very helpful and friendly. Located in rural part of the island but staff manage to provide a 5 star service. Able to experience sense of rural life and mix with the locals. We will definitely be back. Close to Sigiriya, Dambulla, and the Ancient cities.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

What a beautiful, relaxing hotel.
Staff very very friendly.
Lovely cake with tea.
We stayed 1 night at this hotel as part of our trip, wish we could have stayed longer it was superb. My only complaint was brreakfast, we ordered fried eggs etc , they presented beautifully, but cold, could not get the staff to understand hot food is better.

The rooms - what a view from the loo, very well presented and furnished, very, very comfortable.
Bed turned down with lotus petals layed on it. (in a nice pattern).

We did a safari from this hotel, with two lovely young men with a very good sense of humour. Wildlife just kept appearing, what a treat elephants galore ( I love them).
We did suffer a very heavy rain storm near the end, but being British we continued with the roof down for best part of it, and got very wet, but what fun and laughter.
we also did an elephant ride from the site around the lake, wish we could have gone into the trees, but it was great.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustJanet21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.9 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
67 reviews
12.2 mi away
Deer Park Hotel
Deer Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Polonnaruwa
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,730 reviews
12.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#2 of 17 in Dambulla
3,691 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorowwa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorowwa Resort & Spa

Address: Anuradhapura Road, Habarana 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: £76 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sorowwa Resort & Spa is the latest addition to the hotels in Habarana. This 23 roomed boutique hotel overlooks the Habarana Lake. The hotel lobby commands a stunning view of the Lake and the route of Elephant Safaris. The hotel provides 24 hours room service and Restaurant service. Rooms are luxurious and provides a breathtaking view of the Lake and the the jungle beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sorowwa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorowwa Resort And Spa
Sorowwa Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing