We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot to unwind after a hectic day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely spot to unwind after a hectic day”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Big room with a great terrace and a beautiful view of the tank. The tank offers a variety of activities like elephant ride, boat ride, bird watching etc.The room was clean and the shower of good quality. Dinner and breakfast offered good selection and good quality. Restaurant had cooking station that in the evening did fresh naan and in the morning offered egg dishes and pancakes. During our stay the bar was closed due to religious holiday but we were able to order a bottle of wine with dinner. The pool nice but cold. WiFi limited to public areas only and was of poor quality. The staff was helpful and friendly. There is not much around the hotel in terms of facilities and after a full day of exploring it was good idea to go with the half board.
Our room had mezzanine with double bad, this could be good family room. And with activities around tank you will not have problem to keep your kids busy.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking tank
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrmiho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    92
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
103
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

we stayed here for 2 nights over new years eve. we had one of the rooms over looking the tank with wonderful views and a fab sunset
The room was nice but understand what others have said they were lacking the little things you expect in a hotel of this class having said that we had a wonderful time here
They put on a special buffet for new years eve and the food was great.they had a guest band who were sweet but really bad singers but we weren't bothered we had a lovely time and saw in 2014 on our balcony watching the fireworks
staff really friendly would stay here again good for a base for touring the area

Room Tip: room facing the tank great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airmiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
291 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Nice and spatious room, perfect location. Lots of potential to be a Nice boutique hotel, BUT .... Some things need to be ameliorated: bad towel quality, plastic shower curtain, bit lack of style and staff training. Food is ok. All this hotel needs is a bit of restyling and this could become a pearl with perfect quotes!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jannim1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were there for two nights, this hotel location was suggested by our travel agent. We thought the location seems suitable, it was not too far for us to travel to Elephant Orphanage, Dambulla rock cave, Sigiriya and Polonnaruwa etc.

Pros:
1. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful.
2. Free wifi available at the lobby area
3. The lobby/ restaurant provides a lovely view of the lake, lovely during sunset where you can see elephant (ride) walking along the lake.

Cons:
1. Though spacious, the room is very basic. The TV provided is rather small.
2. Would appreciate more plug points.
3. The floor (not carpeted) was dirty at certain spots.
4. I called the restaurant to make some inquiries, but got hung up twice when she didn't understand my questions

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Sorowwa Resort, using the hotel as our base of touring the northern part of the island. Our room was very nice and quite functional. The balcony was great -- we enjoyed sitting and watching the elephant rides across the dam of the lake -- beautiful sunset. The restaurant was good -- we ate breakfast 2 mornings and dinner the two evenings. This is not a luxury property but was a very good place to stay -- quiet, near the village of Habarana but separate enough to allow one to rest peacefully. Service was good -- everybody was eager to please.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
196 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This was a very nice spot to relax and enjoy the view over the lake. The food was great and everything very clean. The staff were fantastic.

The hotel is the only place to eat and drink in the area. You can walk around the lake or into the nearby “village”.

We enjoyed the bar and restaurant as I friends rode the elephants around the lake. The elephant ride looked very uncomfortable, but our friends said that they got into the rhythm after a while. The elephant ride is not recommended for people with back injury.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed for one night in October 2013 with family. The room was spacious and clean. The view - the sorowwa, the lake and the gravel road used for elephant rides - is really excellent. Food was great too. The dinner menu could benefit from more variety - maybe it was an unusual day, but the breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third level (3xx) would have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhma60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.4 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.9 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
14.1 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,440 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorowwa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorowwa Resort & Spa

Property: Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Address: Anuradhapura Road, Habarana 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sorowwa Resort & Spa is the latest addition to the hotels in Habarana. This 23 roomed boutique hotel overlooks the Habarana Lake. The hotel lobby commands a stunning view of the Lake and the route of Elephant Safaris. The hotel provides 24 hours room service and Restaurant service. Rooms are luxurious and provides a breathtaking view of the Lake and the the jungle beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sorowwa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorowwa Resort And Spa
Sorowwa Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing