We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for my 2.13cm boyfriend..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just for two nights,in its clean and spacious rooms and very friendly people...we also found our drive guide there,Sarath and we call him anytime we needed a driver..very carefull and he never stop once in a winkel for pushing us buy things,like in Kandy ,tuk-tuk drivers do...The food was very nice but dont expect ala cart,usually is fried rice with chiken or fish ,and vegetables with fruit from the villaga...perfect place just 30 min from Sigiria and 10 min for "the gathering " in minneriya national park.

Room Tip: Not tip,all goed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JannikaBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights. Our room was really spacious, incredibly clean as for Sri Lanka's conditions and equipped with air con. We checked, I think, about 4 hotels before we arrived in this one - all of them were a disaster. And last but not least - great location - near sigiyria, in the walking distance from Habarana.
I also would like to say that were also very impressed with the friendly staff and the food there (the cook has even shown us how he cooks sri-lankan food).
Best regards to the owner :)
Francois and Cathy

Room Tip: All rooms - as far as we saw have the same standard, however I recommend to check the prices in Inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaOsinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The gates to Le Grand are on the left, about a km down the Trincomalee road from the Habarana junction. It is a very convenient base from which to explore the cultural triangle. The owner is French educated but unlike like the hero in Alain-Fournier’s novel there is nothing impulsive or reckless about this project.

Set off the main road in a large plantation of fruit and coconut trees this motel style accommodation has being operating for two years and consists of six large air conditioned rooms each with its own large modern bathroom with excellent hot water and a front verandah on which to lounge.

The room rate of around £35 per night for a triple included breakfast. The motel kitchen provides lunch and dinner at cost if required. The menu was limited but what was available came in large servings and the quality excellent. Driver accommodation and wifi, only available in the dining area, are included in the tariff.

Elegant in its simplicity the Le Grand Meaulnes is clean and comfortable and value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ditsywitsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in " Le Grand Meaulnes" ,with our family ( 2 adults and 3 children) it was great !! The rooms are very big and very clean. There is also a good working airco. The staff is very helpful and always friendly. Also the food is excelent. Al the places to visit are nearby.


a fine place to stay !!

we highly recommend it .

Family " De Weerdt" Belgium

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stijn12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stopped here for one night and were very happy we chose to stay here! Friendly and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms, good food. The hotel had a lovely relaxed atmosphere, perfect after a busy day of sightseeing. Great location also - near sigiyria, and minneryia national park. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahleaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We arrived here on a Sunday afternoon - our second guest house in Sri Lanka to find the gate shut: obviously not expecting guests - even although I had a booking from booking.com. Our driver, knowing the place well, went through and talked with the staff and the gates were finally opened. The owner, apparently, lives in Colombo and an elderly man is either the caretaker or manager. He seemed a little put out by our appearance - phoned his son and then said, yes, his son confirmed we had a booking!
The individual bungalows are lovely and comprises two rooms - bedroom at the front and wet room at the rear. Very good shower with lots of hot water. The rooms, as other guests have said, are very big. The property is set back from the main road so I'm unsure what the noise is like in the high season with the increase of traffic. We stayed one night and appeared to be the only guests. Because the guest house is not within walking distance of Habarana we ate on site. Had a chicken curry but we weren't overly impressed with the food nor breakfast the following morning. The property is a good stopping off place from Colombo and we reached it in about three and a half hours on good roads with one or two short unmade surfaces. You can easily access the national parks and the cultural areas from here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScrabbleAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dishant, Manager at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thanks for your comments. We booked your reservation writing that your are Australians but you said that you are British on your arrival. The room was ready for you but the country was the reason for the confusion.
Our place is a quite private property and we accept guests only on online reservation basis. We don't accept clients at the gate but only through online bookings. That's why we close the gate when there are no clients but never lock it. Just shut it for security reasons of the property. We informed your driver well regarding that matter that the gate is just close but never locked. You were the only guest that day and we kept the gate just closed but not locked but we feel sorry for the inconvenience you faced.
We wish you good luck!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night as it was recommended by our driver when we were passing through from sigiriya to polonnaruwa. We were with another driver at this time and it was dark as we passed through town, white entrance on left with small sign on fence but worth the third pass to find it. Friendly staff welcomed us and helped with bags as it was raining then brought us fresh lime drink made from fruit in the orchard which surrounds the accommodation. Air cond room and massive room at that! Dinner was great however we asked for medium heat and was not hot enough but still very tasty. Breakfast was all that we have come to expect in Sri Lanka, however enough to get you through til lunch. Again when leaving staff were extremely friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewcastleVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dishant, Manager at Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thanks for your good comments about our place. We always try to do our best to keep our guests satisfied. We wish you good luck . Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Habarana hotels
1.3 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
1.4 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 9 in Habarana
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
1.3 mi away
Mutu Village
Mutu Village
#1 of 39 in Habarana
312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amba Sewana Resort
Amba Sewana Resort
#3 of 39 in Habarana
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Address: Green Path | Trincomalee Road, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range: £17 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dreams a reality while holidaying with your family and friends at Habarana in Sri Lanka. Le Grand Meaulnes Holiday Bungalow is situated in a 2 acre land with coconut and fruit cultivation. Besides, full of trees and brushes you may feel the cool and windy climate though it belongs to the dry climatic area. Habarana is probably the best destination for safari, wildlife, bird watching, nature lovers and situated in the centre of Sri Lankan cultural triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing