We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice big room with veranda and garden but expensive taxi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice big room with veranda and garden but expensive taxi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We were picked up from the train station - a nice surprice - and welcomed with a lemon juice. The owner was absent but phoned us regularily to see that everything is ok. Nice, clean and big room with fridge for 35 US $ including nice breakfast. Nice dinner for 7 $. We met other guest who had booked a taxi and when we joined them, the price increased from 90 to 110 $ to go to Polunnaruwa and Anaradpura the same day. That was relatively expensive compared to 100 $ we paid to go from Anuradpura to Nuwera Eliya with another taxi. But the driver was nice, explained a lot (even though his english was basic) and he brought us to the nicest lunch place in sri lanka with absolute delicious rice and curry. Thanks for that.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    70
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Grand Meaulnes is a nice hotel with a few rooms with nice veranda on the ground floor. It is a quiet area. The staff is friendly an helpfull.
We visited different places when we stayed in Habarane. We had a nice tuk tuk driver, Buta, tel no 0766841919. He showed us Elephants, domestic and wild from his tuk tuk. We also visted Sygaria and Ritigale with him. We als went to the full moon ceremony in the temple with his family and it was very nice.

Henk and Agnes,
Holland

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henk N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We only stayed here from the one night on the way from Kandy to Kalkudah but we certainly made the most of our stay!
On arrival we were greeted with sweet fresh lime juice, picked straight from the beautiful garden.
We explained that we were looking to visit Sigiriya and the Minneriya National Park (to witness the incredible elephant migration) and within 20 minutes we were presented with a light lunch, and told a taxi was on its way, at a very reasonable price.
The driver was very friendly and knowledgable, taking great delight in stopping and showing us all the nature to be seen along the drive. As nice as he was however, he was also the reason for our only negative comment, which is solely due to him driving us to visit his 'friend's' wood-work shop, where we were given a lengthy demonstration of how all the ornate statues were made and treated and then asked to 'browse' the shop's wares. Suffice to say, we decided not to buy anything. It's understandable that they want the trade, and no harm done, but just something to be wary of.

The guesthouse itself was simply but tastefully decorated, perfectly clean and very convenient for the local attractions. Also, had a comfortable bed and blackout blinds so we slept very well.
Recommended for those looking for a cheap but comfortable stopover.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustenandLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night during our road trip. It's in the middle of a forest if Palm and fruit trees. They welcome you with fresh lime juice. The room was big and clean. Bathroom clean. They made us a nice dinner for 7 usd per head and arranged a safari trip to minneriya park. There is a nice porch where you can sit outside on the evening. Very friendly staff. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

This family hotel is very clean. The rooms are spacious and comfy. Though being on the main road, the dense trees in front block outside road noise completely, so it's very calm and feels like in the middle of the jungle. Also perfectly located close to a crossroad if you want to visit Polonuwara, Sigiriya and Anuradhapura, like we did during our 3 days there. The staff is very kind and helpful. And the price of it all very much worth it compared to all the other options around! Amazing value really. We paid 35$ per room at the time of our visit (jan 2014), including breakfast. Rice and curry was really good. Would definitely recommend staying in this hotel if visiting the cultural triangle, it's was just perfect! Good job to the whole staff and keep it up as it is!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank IzuBackpacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Habarana was the first stop oon our two week holiday and this accommodation was in hindsight one of our favourites. Habarana itself is a dusty crossroads with few charms but it was a great base to visit Polonnaruwa, Kaudulla National Park and Sigiriya. The property is located 5 minutes from the crossroads up a driveway which feels secluded and private and the rooms are spacious and clean with AC. It was the hospitality shown to us by the manager that was particularly special. We enjoyed two incredible dinners cooked by him and I came home disappointed that I didn't ask for his chutney recipe! Unfortunately we didn't catch his name (our driver called him "Uncle") but we enjoyed some interesting conversations with him. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Large, spacious rooms with mosquito nets over windows and big bathroom with hot shower.

What really made us love the place was Abey, our host. A really lovely man, who looked after us during our stay in addition to cooking delicious traditional Sri Lankan cuisine. Thanks Abey!

Extra entertainment in the form of lots of wildlife in the garden, including monitor lizards and some amazing birds.

If you do stay, and are looking for transport we'd recommend "Gune Tours" - Tuk Tuk, Car/Van, and 4x4 if you're doing a Safari - 077 611 5205

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
1.2 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
4.0 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 18 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
6.8 mi away
Sigiriya Village Hotel
Sigiriya Village Hotel
#7 of 18 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mutu Village
Mutu Village
#1 of 33 in Habarana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
1.5 mi away
Amba Sewana Resort
Amba Sewana Resort
#3 of 33 in Habarana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel

Property: Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel
Address: Green Path | Trincomalee Road, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make your dreams a reality while holidaying with your family and friends at Habarana in Sri Lanka. Le Grand Meaulnes Holiday Bungalow is situated in a 2 acre land with coconut and fruit cultivation. Besides, full of trees and brushes you may feel the cool and windy climate though it belongs to the dry climatic area. Habarana is probably the best destination for safari, wildlife, bird watching, nature lovers and situated in the centre of Sri Lankan cultural triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Grand Meaulnes - Family Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing