We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Far away, but beautiful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Other Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Other Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Far away, but beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here overnight during a quick swing through the central part of Sri Lanka. The road to get to the hotel is pretty terrible, so you need a skilled driver and/or 4-wheel drive vehicle to get there, but once you're there, it's idylic in terms of peace, quiet and being far away from the crowds. The hut I stayed in was quite spacious, and comfortable. The food was quite good, and staff were all friendly and helpful. Great value for the price!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MC_Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    94
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
125
121
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

It took our driver a long time to find TOC, but when we got there, it was really worth the wait. We were greeted warmly, and our room was garlanded with leaves and flowers. The room smelt a little damp, but this is a forest setting, so we appreciated we couldn't expect otherwise. The owner/manager was very helpful and when he knew that we were interested in nature, he made a point of finding the giant squirrels/birds/resident peacocks for us.

At night, we walked along the bund/lake path and saw elephants walking along (admittedly carrying tourists and with their mahout), which was magical for us all but particularly for our son. The lakeside setting was absolutely magical. Each night we walked to a large hotel nearby for a walk/drink. It was dark when we got back, but we had a torch and endless fireflies to help us find the way.

Food was nice and the boys serving were always lovely and smiling. No alcohol is served at TOC, but if you can tell them what you want they go and buy it for you in advance. We are not sure why this was the case, but it worked for us.. The swimming pool was glorious and there was always a shady place to lie in. Definitely one of our favourite places in our three + week trip to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlostatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We just stayed at The Other Corner (TOC) for 2 nights while exploring the cultural triangle and had a really relaxed and peaceful stay. The hotel is a GREAT alternative to the other options in the area - significantly cheaper than the high end hotels, and much more beautiful and tasteful than the more budget oriented options (we paid usd 120/night for 2 people, half board - this was also during the week between Christmas and New Years, when everyone's rates were sky high).

TOC consists of a few small chalets that sleep 2-3 people each, as well as a couple of larger family rooms. The chalets are spread out around the grounds, which also have a swimming pool and a couple of quirky / interesting tree houses. The chalets were tastefully decorated and had all the conveniences we needed (all chalets have a/c; ours even had a jacuzzi!).The staff was very friendly, and the food was good. The location was also convenient, with TOC being just about 5 minutes from the center of Habarana (and so within easy reach of Sigiriya, Dambulla, Anuradhapura, Polannaruwa).

One note of caution: bookings for TOC are arranged through a travel agency (Lakpura Travels), which we found to be incredibly difficult to reach (they did not reply to email and rarely answered the phone). So you might need to be quite persistent to get a booking!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HT1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The road to the hotel in the dark was a challenge, with water on each side and a very bumpy road. We learned that the bridge on the other side was broke, so we had to go to the hotel via this road. Bit scary. The lodges are very nice, the staff is very very friendly and the food is great. The wild elephants walk, past your lodge at night. We made a trip to a national park by jeep and saw hundreds of wild elephant, that was a fantastic trip! In the lodge you will find a couple of insects. We found a whip spider, brrrr. Thank God it was already dead, because it looked horrible. And of course quite a few mosquito's and bugs. The electricity broke down a couple of times, but the staff will come to you with flashlights to lead the way. Its also the charm of staying in a lodge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saskia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kandy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Other Corner could never bore me, even after my 8th visit there.
The staff is excellent and always friendly.
And the FOOD.. just heavenly.


Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NiliRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
657 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in a beautifull bungalow with all the comfort you can imagine. We received a very warm welcome with a garland made out of a waterlilie and a cool refreshing drink.
The place is ideal to visit the sites of the cultural triangle as well as enjoying nature, birds singing in the morning or watching the elephants walking along the lake.
The staff was more than friendly and very helpfull. The food was delicious and the vegetables they use come right out of their garden. What we also appreciated were the different ways of folding napkins and the way of decorating the bed: every day there were different flowers on our bed.
We warmly recommend this nice little hotel and when you go now you also can enjoy the swimming pool, which they were building during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at The other Corner Habarana in July 2010 and we loved it so much the kids still remember our stay here very fondly. The entrance to the resort wasn't marked out too well but once we got there via a very narrow road shared a couple of times with elephants, we were very happy that we selected The Other Corner. We received a very warm reception from the gentle and friendly staff with garlands and a cool refreshing drink. The rooms were on stilts with a lovely huge balcony which was also the dining area. From there we could see the elephants taking tourists for a round. The staff not only arranged for our elephant ride but we alighted right on to our balcony. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much for them. The food was also excellent. They organized a lovely barbeque the night before we left. Its also a great place for taking walks through the forest and spotting birds. The owner has some lovely books with information regarding birds that can be found in that area.
We loved the little bathroom with the skylight and the rustic feel. However if you dont like frogs and insects you may have a problem. Not all the staff speak English and that can be a problem, we travelled with a Sri Lankan family so that helped. But dont let that stop you from staying at this lovely place as its quite an experience. We thoroughly enjoyed living so close to nature, relaxing and gazing out at the elephants, looking for various birds. Would definitely love to visit The Other Corner again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharjahresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
3.2 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
12.0 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Corner

Property: The Other Corner
Address: Anuradhapura Road | Laksirigama, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Other Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 172Kms, about 4 hours drive from Colombo towards North Central of Sri Lanka, 'The Other Corner' is a place of rare beauty and tranquility. The picturesque Eco Resort is located within easy reach of National Parks, Historic Sites, Cultural Triangle and best beached in Sri Lanka. The Other Corner is an ideal layaway for tourists and naturalists, photographers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Other Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing