We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay- Perfect in everyway”
Review of The Other Corner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Other Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I booked a triple chalet for two nights last weekend expecting an eco lodge which is very common now in Sri Lanka. I have never stayed here before so I was worried about over expecting something and disappointing my parents whom I was taking along.

To our surprise the hotel standard exceeded our wildest expectations.

I will write about the hotel in sections

Rooms- The rooms were lovely and in proper hotel standard. Similar in design to a small bungalow with outdoor verandah. The inside was quite spacious with all creature comforts one would expect from a 4-5 star hotel.

Food- The food was right up our alley with lovely rice and curry served for lunch (complete with rice made "gourmet" by the chef and displayed in creative manner every time served on a lotus leaf), to creative desserts, and continental dinner menu where we had succulent medium rare beef steak (Somthing I didn't expect to find in Habara) and many more. The breakfast was amazing as well with a lovely bakery basket complete with breads, buns, pastries and an array of sweet treats which I loved. Kudos to the chef for making every meal a pleasure.

Staff- The staff were very helpful and polite in every way. The manager during our stay Danushka was particularly attentive and .looked to our every need. The young staff are all from the local region and hence the hotel is "giving back" to the community. From the security guard at the entrance to the young boys carrying our bags they all were with smiles and eager to please the guests.

The Environment- The overall environment of the hotel was as it should be a natural haven with unspoilt jungle surrounding the hotel and the hotel itself being built around the jungle rather than the other way around. Full of birds, butterflies its such a pleasure to wake up early morning and sit out in the verandah listening to the various calls of birds.

Price- I have to say for a fully serviced hotel with A/C, Swimming Pool and great dining the rate was very very reasonable.

Final Verdict- 10/10 in all aspects from a seasoned traveller, and hoping to visit TOC for years to come.

Congratulations to Rahula the owner of this amazing eden of a hotel, for getting this spot on and thank you for ensuring an amazing and unforgettable stay for my parents and myself.

Room Tip: Choose the Twin Chalet. It has more direct access to the surrounding jungle and environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rajivwelikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed at TOC for 5 nights in February. This really is a beautiful place to stay. The manager Eric and all of the staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. They arranged numerous trips for me and the hotel is ideally placed to explore the cultural triangle. As others have mentioned, the food was absolutely delicious, at every meal. Special mention must also go to Dhilip, the in-house naturalist who took me on a boat trip on the lake. His genuine love of the local wildlife is infectious and he even went to the trouble of coming to fetch me when a hornbill landed on a nearby tree. I will send you photos Dhilip when I get home. Others have mentioned the cost and this isn't a cheap place to stay but the chalets and the grounds are simply gorgeous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulaH732014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Our favourite hotel in SriLanka! We really regret that we stayed in the wooden villa for one night only. This hotel is definitely dedicated to eco tourism and exploring the wildlife. Its direct surrounding is very well maintained and full of birds, monkeys, lizards, etc. that can be easily spotted. The villa itself was very spacious and clean (no wildlife inside ;) and the was breakfast superior to anything we had had in any hotel restaurant in Sri Lanka. The staff was also very dedicated, professional and helpul - it's a pity we had not time for attractions they could have arranged.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pawel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

When we were planning our visit to Sri Lanka we immediatly noticed that TOC was the place where we wanted to stay in order to explore the cultural triangle of Sri Lanka. We are a family with 2 kids (13 and 10) loving to stay as close as possible with the local culture and nature. Since this accomodation was not available at the requested dates, we even adjusted our vacation planning to deal with this issue. And we did not regret this at all ! ....We did spent 4 nights in "The Other Corner" and it was the best hotel we had during our trip. The location was fantastic, the bungalows nicely decorated and airconditioned, the food super, the service very good with a very welcome focus on our childrens interests, the bird spotting walks with the naturalist Dhilip great, the cooking demonstration fantastic.....why didn't we book more nights :-) we advise everbody to go there for the good service, the beauty and piece of nature and the perfect local food. Congratulations TOC !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at The Other Corner for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a great base for visits to Sigiriya, Dambulla and the surrounding area and is set in a beautiful and incredibly tranquil location. The food and service were terrific and the rooms lovely, albeit a bit dark. Our one criticism we had was that it seemed disproportionately expensive compared to everywhere else we stayed in Sri Lanka. Our bill for 2 nights' accommodation (B&B) for a family of 4 was US$500 + dinner etc. We were expecting to play just over US$400 for B&B accommodation which seemed pricey anyway but we hadn't read the small print (our fault) about tax and service of 23% being added on! This seemed incredibly expensive when we stayed in some lovely guest houses and homestays elsewhere in the country with pools, air con and fabulous food for US$60-70 a night! There's no question that this is a lovely place to stay though, but I guess it depends what your budget is as you can probably find better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOtherC0rner, Owner at The Other Corner, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Ann White,
Many thanks for posting your reviews about 'The Other Corner' on TripAdvisor.
When we investigate why you have paid + US$ 500 per 2 nights for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, we found that in June 2013 you have booked online our 'Main Lodge' exclusively for 6-8th April 2014 for which we allow 7 adults on basis BB. This information is clearly indicated in all online booking agencies. Once a client make such a booking, the booked accommodation will be blocked accordingly. Ideally you would have booked a Triple Room for 2 Adults and 2 Children below 12 years, which would have costs only US$ 130 nett per day, inclusive of all taxes + SC.
As we see this is a genuine mistake you have done at the time of booking, what we can offer you a considerable discount next time. Or if you could recommend TOC to your family or friend, we can extend a similar discount, based on availability of rooms at TOC.
Thanking you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Nice staff - perfect service from the welcome to the cooking.
Environment in nature as we were Robinson crusoe (hut in trees wood bungalow) and ecological dimension
Cooking : perfect restaurant of the hotel, delicious diner and breakfast
If we had time we would have spend more time in this fantastic place!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Amandine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Other Corner is beautifully set into its natural environment and is a terrific base for exploring this region of Habarana.
We stayed here for three nights. The first night we arrived very late after a long flight and drive and we were shown to our little fuss and left to get some much needed sleep. Our room was a very nice natural bungalow type and had been prepared caringly for us with beautiful petals lad in detail across the bed. However, the following morning I managed to break the lever in the shower causing the water to spray out uncontrollably. . The staff sprung to action with the grounds man/handyman getting absolutely soaked trying to fix this problem. They managed to do a temp fix which allowed us to shower and the manager moved us to a room on one of the buildings on stilts. IF you judge a place by how they manage a problem then The Other Corner gets 10 out of 10 here.
The room on stilts shared a huge balcony with an adjoined room and I loved sitting up high in the early morning listening and watching to the jungle come alive. Our balcony had a gate for getting on and off elephants which was a new one for me! We only ate dinner here on our last evening and it was nice though unremarkable. Breakfast each morning was very good with fruit, a choice of eggs with toast and preserves. Plenty to set you up for a day sightseeing.
And what a fantastic choice of places to visit which is the real reason we were in Habarana. It is a perfect location to see the jewels of the Cultural Triangle and we loved every minute of our time here.
Staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Our one regret would be that we did not have enough time to just chill around the hotel grounds.
In all I would certainly recommend a stay at The Other Corner and if you have time relax in the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flan_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
0.6 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
0.5 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 9 in Habarana
66 reviews
13.9 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Amaara Forest Hotel Sigiriya
0.6 mi away
Habarana Village by Cinnamon
1.2 mi away
Mutu Village
Mutu Village
#1 of 40 in Habarana
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Other Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Other Corner

Address: Anuradhapura Road | Laksirigama, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Habarana
Price Range: £57 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Other Corner 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within 172Kms, about 4 hours drive from Colombo towards North Central of Sri Lanka, 'The Other Corner' is a place of rare beauty and tranquility. The picturesque Eco Resort is located within easy reach of National Parks, Historic Sites, Cultural Triangle and best beached in Sri Lanka. The Other Corner is an ideal layaway for tourists and naturalists, photographers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Other Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing