We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Ray Elephant lake
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a really nice place to stay in Habarana, which is about fifteen minutes away from Sigiriya. The rooms are amazing! They’re big, clean, well furnished and decorated. The bathroom is also nice with hot water and a lovely Jacuzzi. Each room also has its own little porch area with chairs where you can sit and relax at anytime during the day. The food is fine, nothing special, but not too bad. The staff in the restaurant and who clean the rooms are good, but the staff at reception aren’t great. They’re not very helpful and couldn’t tell us some basic things such as how to go to a certain place by bus, or where the nearest ATM was (we were given multiple different answers, only one of which was correct). One other slight annoyance is that you’re very isolated when you stay here. It’s in the middle of the countryside, so it can be awkward trying to get a bus somewhere. You literally have to stand at the side of the road and try to flag them down yourself. Having said that, it’s a really nice place and worth it for the rooms alone.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharonwinters14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in December - 30th and New Year's Eve. We arrived around 8.30 in the morning and although this was well before check-in time they served us coffee while the room was prepared. After around 20 minutes we were shown to our bungalow which we thought was quite nice upon first inspection then it became apparent that the room had not been cleaned and was full of Mosquitos! We realised that the sheets were dirty and there were dirty hand towels on the floor in the bathroom that had been used to stand on which were filthy! We asked them to change the sheets and provide new towels which they did and they offered the next day (around 4 pm) to change our rooms. As we were leaving early the next morning we didn't bother as we would have to kill all the Mosquitos in the other room if we did! The bathroom was stinking too and very odd that there was no actual roof over the shower itself, only a net?! If it rained while you were in the shower it came in. We opened the fridge to put drinks in but something had been spilled in there and it absolutely stunk! The room was just far too dark also. We also had a problem with the telephone randomly ringing in the middle of the night and waking us up but there was no one on the other end. We weren't half board and there was no where nearby to eat at all. Our driver took us for breakfast on the way to our excursions and also for dinner one night. We did eat at the hotel on New Year's Eve and they had a special buffet which was actually pretty good but there were less than ten people eating there and probably more staff on hand than guests! Definitely too far out of the way and if you want to visit sigiriya or dambula you would be better off staying in sigiriya itself. On a plus side, the air con was good but that's the only positive and would definitely not stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lioness101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed for one night and Mr. Amsad and his staff went out of the way to make my Wife's birthday a memmorable one.

He had a cake, Champange and flowers with the room decorated and we had a wonderful evening.

Thanks Amsad. Wish we had stayed there longer

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Each accomodation is a small cottage or cabana and two in a building. Decent size, good bedding, fan and A/C. TV and fridge in room. Well maintained gardens.
Bathroom was clean. Nice pool.
Good b/fast and nice menu for Dinner.
Staff extremely helpful. Nice location for dambulla and sigiriya trips.

Surrounding land is still a bit wild, so expect small visitors in you room. That's part of the charm I think. Very relaxing to stay if you could ignore the above.
I personally didn't like the decor, but that is a minor point.
Also not many places to eat outside the hotel - You will need transport to travel 2-4 kms on the highway if you wanted to eat out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navel_Fluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed four days at Joe's while visiting some of the sites in the neighbourhood (Sigiriya, Dambulla, Miniriya). It seems to be popular with French tourgroups. The hotel is situated on the main road between Habarane and Dambulla, about 5 kilometers from Habarane. Therefore we booked Half Board as we did not want to venture out in the evening. If you don't want to eat here, there's a nice little eatery opposite the hotel. We had the buffet meals and they were good, with enough variation. One night there were only westners, so the bufeet was als western. The cook russtled up Sri Lanakn food for us in no time. Same with breakfast; if we wanted something special for the kids, it was no problem. All staff was really friendly and helpfull from the manager Mr Amsath down to the roomboys. Special kudo's to the excellent waiter Mr Wijesiri. We booked two standard rooms, with a discount for our kids. We were upgraded to the very large, squeeky clean deluxe rooms, therefore 5 stars; in the standard rooms it would have been at least 4.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Hansje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This is our 2nd time at Joes. Excellent stay, friendly Manager and staff , beautiful pool, outstanding service, nice restaurant , good food and just amazing to wake up with such great private chalets!

Room Tip: get a new chalet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jey_Dasrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Excellent three night stay at Joe's maybe a little expensive at $75 US a day which included breakfast and dinner at night, but well worth it as we found the food was also excellent; sometimes a risk when prebooking meals. We changed the menu to suit ourselves after the first night; eating wonderful sri lankan dishes for every meal. The first room on our travells in Sri Lanka that we had our beds made & towells replaced every day. The room also had a refridgerator another first. The staff were very helpful and very happy, possively our favourite place we stayed in on 35 days in Sri Lanka. It was also close to Sigiraya Rock and Damdula caves enjoying a swim in the pool after conquering these two icons on a very hot day

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
2.9 mi away
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
3.5 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#4 of 9 in Habarana
79 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 21 in Sigiriya
601 reviews
10.8 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Sigiriya
1,823 reviews
3.5 mi away
Flower Garden Eco Village
Flower Garden Eco Village
#11 of 21 in Sigiriya
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Ray Elephant lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Ray Elephant lake

Address: 107 Mile Post Avenue | Sigiriya, Habarana 50150, Sri Lanka (Formerly Joe's Habarana Village)
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Ray Elephant lake 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Oak Ray Elephant lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing