We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring North Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring North Central”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge for 14 nights. This was unusual as most visitors are there for 2-4 nights on their tour of Sri Lanka.

Our decision proved to be a good one, we had time to both enjoy the marvellous local sites and also take advantage of the hotel's own extensive gardens and facilities.

The hotel is managed by the wonderful Mr Marlon. Despite dealing with around 270 guests every night there is a family-run feeling in the hotel. We were privileged to be asked to take part in the Independence Day ceremony on 4 February with the staff.

No complaints about the food, half board is more than enough for most people! Try and avoid meal times for the large groups when queues for the personally cooked dishes and the pudding room can build up.

All in all a wonderful two weeks. If we had any niggles, it would have been the lack of space in the bedroom cupboard to hang long clothes and being charged for bottled water at meals, but these are minor inconveniences.

If you have time to explore outside then ask for Mohan Raj at the art hut opposite the main entrance to the hotel. An independent guide with a wide-ranging knowledge of local birds and wildlife. Ask him to take you on a dawn boat ride, magical is the only word to describe it.

If you lack the time, just enjoy the hotel grounds. Huge water monitors, turtles, waterfowl, every conceivable egret, mongooses, chipmunks, giant squirrels, paradise flycatchers, many different herons, grey languors etc, etc. Be wary of the macaques, they aren't known to actually bite but will stand their ground when challenges and bare their teeth at you!

Please feel free to contact us for any other info which may be of use.

Room Tip: Try for one of the cottages - no neighbours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thenorwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheharaAnthony, Shehara Anthony - Assistant Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you for your review on Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, it is a pleasure to find that you explored the resort and its 27 acres of lush greenery. The resort personifies five star luxury and invites guests to enjoy its surroundings after a busy day of sightseeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,419
    713
    170
    32
    21
See reviews for
636
1,161
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Wonderful hotel. The accommodation is set in acres and acres of beautiful land in colonial type bungalows. Lovely lake area. Wonderful pool and surrounding area. We would stay here again and recommend it to anyone. The wild life all around makes the places interesting and fascinating to all europeans like ourselves. Monkeys, squirrels etc all over the place. Great fun

Room Tip: All the rooms are away from the main hotel area ie., swimming pool, dining room so all the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DARINABEESLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge at the end of January, This was our first trip "long haul", and were therefore incredibly nervous and worried about what to expect.

The minute we arrives at Cinnamon Lodge our concerns were laid to rest. In the middle of an amazing setting the hotel is right next to a lake and hidden in lots of trees. Our Duluxe villa was exactly that - spacious with a balcony, huge bathroom and the biggest bed you have ever seen! And clean!

We stayed Full board and the food was simply amazing. Yes it was a buffet, but still some of the best food ever. Fresh fruit and locally made yoghurts for breakfast, alongside cooked breakfast, pastries and curries, A huge selection for lunch and evening meals. I think i have very high standards when it comes to food, but I cannot fault it here.

With every meal came another animal experience - some days we shared our meal with a chipmunk, others with a squirrel or two, Every so often a mongoose popped and monkeys were everywhere.

The staff were what really made this hotel special. Truely lovely. Yes, it helped to tip them, but hey, where doesnt it help to tip?? But, we never felt like the staff were were waiting to be tipped - they were helpful either way.

I have seen on some of the reviews that people complained it was dark. The hotel is in the middle of the jungle.... what did you expect??? And yes, it is a fair trek from the airport, but it is incredibly worth it. With Sigiryia and Dambulla less than an hour away, and elephant safaris and rides just round the corner, this is worth the trip.

I truely fell in love with Sri Lanka and Cinnamon Lodge played a huge role in this.

Without doubt i will be returning to Cinnamon Lodge,

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaS828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Lavinia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This is our third visit to this place located close to the picturesque Habarana Tank and we spent 3 beautiful days from Jan 30th to Feb 2nd, 2012 at this 5 star resort on a FB basis,
This place is full of Indulgent luxury with wildlife and the unspoilt nature everywhere. The beauty of this hotel (in terms of architectural features, interior decors and the fact that they have preserved tall trees and the native vegetation, landscape) has mesmerized us a lot with stunning views to die for.
Perhaps the very best of rooms I have ever seen or stayed in my life is at Cinnamon Lodge. The rooms are so colorful, stunning and so is the bathroom which is also very elegant. Very clean (spotless)
For those who love wildlife, this resort is a great haven for a variety of native fauna such as Toque macaques, Giant Palm Squirrels, Grey Langur monkeys, land monitors and several species of aquatic birds such as the cormorants (Indian Shag and Little Cormorant).
The staff is very friendly, courteous and efficient. The Managers in the restaurant are so friendly to ensure that everything is fine (special mention should be given Jerome Robert and Dhinuka Boralessa).
Sumptuous buffets with a lot of variety and quality were served for the breakfast, lunch and dinner. I began to love the spicy Sri Lankan omelets (which are still served here) after patronizing this place several years back. The dessert room is awesome (a chilled room with some light fittings – love their homemade ice cream such as the sour sap and even their homemade yoghurts)
The hotel also organized a great safari to the Huruluwewa Ecopark (thanks to Tharaka Koggala) where we saw at least 30 elephants
This place is very expensive, but the money is worth it.

Room Tip: Book the rooms at least 6 months ahead of your visit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanilMountLavinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel during my Chinese New Year holiday with my family. After having visited the Dambulla Caves, we checked into the hotel and were pleasantly surprised to see that this hotel is surrounded with plenty of trees and a big lake.There were monkeys,squirrels, cows and we can hear the chirping of birds early in the morning. The rooms are spacious, clean and with a good a decor.

Do not miss the elephant ride nearby which takes you through the 'jungle' trail and river. This adventure is operated by Green Wood Elephant Safari Habarana and the fee is 20 USD per pax. But then we are tourists and we just paid the fees and enjoyed our elephant ride.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed one night in this wonderful hotel in January 19. Everything was perfect starting from very welcome reception and followed by guidance to our deluxe suite that in reality was part of a two storey bungalow having incredibly magnificent views towards lake. Bathroom was a top of everything - bath was located next to a window, so you could have a relaxing bath watching monkeys playing outside! There was very relaxing atmosphere in this hotel, food was delicious, service was good and it was really sad that we stood there only for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel. Habarena is a great place to visit Sigiriya and other highlights. This is not a standard hotel, as the hotel rooms are spread out on a large terrain. When we arrived, there were big groups of monkeys chasing each other, giving us a unexpected wild experience. The rooms are not that big and we could hear the neighbours from time to time.

We were truly thrilled with the buffet breakfast and dinner. There is a wonderful choice. They even make your personal salad and please do not forget to enter "the fridge" for some scrumptuous desserts. The staff is very helpful and we realy felt we said goodbye to close friends at the end of our stay.

There is a nice pool and please take time to stroll around the premises (and do take your camera everytime). We saw a couple of huge water monitors, a four meter long snake, lots of monkeys, buffalo's and of course chipmunks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 114Roomwithaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,488 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,591 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,534 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Habarana
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing