We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for culture and wildlife”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Antarctica
Level Contributor
224 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Great base for culture and wildlife”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We are a couple who stayed for a week in a superior room.

Pros:

- incredible grounds teeming with wildlife (colourful birds, monitor lizards, 2 types of monkey, palm squirrel, giant squirrel etc.)

- friendly and helpful staff (not so much in reception)

- clean and spacious room (although starting to show its age) with large balcony on top floor

- buffets were varied and good

- inviting pool (although loungers become scarce at certain times of day)

- great base for the Cultural Triangle (unfortunately, experience dampened by the outrageous demands of tuk tuk drivers and exorbitant entry fees for foreigners i.e. USD 30 p.p. for Sigiriya vs. USD 15 for the Taj Mahal in India)

Cons:

- overpriced tours (walk out the resort gates and negotiate directly as front desk will redirect you to the travel desk and try to stick you with inflated prices and excuses for them) i.e. hotel jeep safari USD 140; outside jeep with insurance 8500 rupees - almost half the price

-overpriced transfer (hotel USD 115 to Kandy; our other hotel arranged it for 10000) a savings of USD 40

- no happy hour or tea time

- received no reconfirmation of my reservation through Agoda after three e-mail attempts to the hotel leaving us to wonder if they had received it (luckily, they did)

- no help with negotiating the inflated tourist prices for tuk tuks (guests left to fend for themselves against various and many scams)

- many tour groups monopolizing seating area of restaurant with "reserved" signs

Overall, we enjoyed the facilities of this hotel but, unfortunately, like so much of Sri Lanka we felt that there was some tourist exploitation going on. As independents, we watched prices unlike most who stay here in tour groups and have no idea of individualized pricing/gouging.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,393
    698
    165
    28
    21
See reviews for
622
1,139
49
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

we stayed at the 2 bedroom villa for 2 nights, and it was the best stay during our one week trip to Sri lanka, we wished we could extend but the trip was pre planned.

the villa is 2 floors, the upper is the master bedroom ,TV, balcony , WC with standing shower and jacozi, the lowers was the kids bedroom with its private wc, TV as well, and there was a sitting ares with a TV, dining table for 6 or 8 and a guest WC with no shower.
we got our own butler who pampered us to the max.

the open spaces for kids outside the villa was amazing for them to run, see the monkeys early morning, the cows, birds, etc, they had a blast...
the elephant ride was just at the gate of the hotel so that's a plus :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us .Looking forward to having you with us once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcountry
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Though very much not a boutique hotel, not ritzy but a vast old reliabably establishment, a little like being on board a ship. Perfect for families and has a stunning location on the Tank so birdlife, reptile, monkey & elephant heaven. This was a second stay after a 10 year gap. A remodeled pool that is outstanding, deep and refreshing. The choice of food was impressive both local and Western. Do not miss a tour of the kitchen garden (organic farm) which is low key and charming.

Though large and rambling Cinnamon Lodge, Habarana is still top of the the game for families. The rooms near the Tank are best for the view, the rest are clustered in chalet villages in different locations on the grounds. Kids will love the wildlife and pool and parents the calm.

Sadly the vast increase in tourism of recent years has taken its toll. The Elephant rides from near the entrance of the hotel are a tourist trap. They are far shorter than they used to be and the only time you actually venture into the tank is for a shambolic photocall at the end of a very short ride.
The Elephant safari to one of the parks is a must and unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitybreakWestcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
All of us at Cinnamon Lodge are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the tour of the organic farm and the kitchen .We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel itself is beautiful and the room is comfortable too. Even though the bathroom, the shower area wasn't been clean properly, overall cleanliness wise, it's still acceptable. Bad experience start when we checked in and they told us that dinner is included. As far as I remembered I only booked for B&B basis. So I thought maybe the travel agent arrange so, as it was my birthday trip. So we double checked again with the receptionist before heading for dinner and was once confirmed dinner was included and we can only dine at the main restaurant serving buffet. Actually we prefer to dine at their the other restaurant but since dinner is included, so we just help ourselves with lots of nice curry and unique Sri Lankan food. So the next day when checking out, we were told that dinner wasn't included in the rate and we have to pay for it. We made a complaint to the travel agent and was given complimentary buffer (again) at the other hotel we stay.

Overall we love the hotel itself, would love to spend more time visiting the area of Habarana.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawneoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback and letting us know some of the shortcomings and we have taken necessary steps. We are looking forward to welcome you back once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
210 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights in this fantastic hotel situated in a huge park. Lots of beautiful birds to be seen. Very good place to be for visiting Sigirya rock or Natinal parks. Excellent breakfast and restaurant. The waiters asked for your room number time after time without managing to get it onto th bill in the end. Each item purchased resulted in a new boll which had to be signed etc. Some work to do there. Will not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fjodolf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & we thank you for your constructive feedback which will reviewed & addressed.

As commented by you the central location of the Cinnamon Lodge to the sites of historical interest & Wildlife parks is an aspect commented on by many of our guests.

Thank you for having chosen the Cinnamon Lodge for your holiday & we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tissamaharama, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Beautiful setting by lake. Accommodation set in large park like area. Somehow it looked a little dated. Walkways to accommodation poorly lit at night Room good but wi-fi strength on the slow side. Huge dining hall. A bit impersonal, but excellent staff. Extensive buffet of a very high class. We really liked the food. All staff friendly and very efficient. Medical attention needed for injured foot (caused by walking barefoot at a temple) and nurse arrived quickly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you for your review & for having stayed with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us & your constructive feedback is indeed appreciated.

All of us at the Cinnamon Lodge look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Traveled with my wife when we were pregnant with our first baby. The location took our breath away as soon as we arrived at the place. The staff at the front desk needs to be more friendly, but we soon forgot it since the restaurant staff were super friendly. The food tasted wonderful in all six meals we had.
The room was a deluxe room and a wonderful one with a large upper balcony where we spent most of our time.

Room Tip: Choose upper floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your constructive comment, we do value your feedback which helps us serve you our guest better.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,409 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#5 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing