We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quiet Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Quiet Oasis”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We spent two nights at Cinnamon Lodge and really enjoyed our time there. Upon arrival the front desk area had no idea about our reservation even though we showed a receipt. They kept asking if we booked through Expedia or Agoda even though we insisted we had gone straight through the hotel. Finally, we were able to be accommodated. This was really the only issue as we proceeded to enjoy the beautiful, extremely spacious grounds and a very nice room. I wished the room had a bathtub but that's just my personal preference. Flower petals were left in the room and the highlight was really the dining. Dining offerings were extensive, staff in this area were very helpful, and there were enough options available that those seeking gluten-free or healthy items could still have a meal. The dessert room in the evenings was to die for and pretty amazing. Overall we really enjoyed this resort and would return. There is also a giant swimming pool although we didn't get time for it and a nice jogging track which we did take advantage of.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time and giving your feedback .All of us at Cinnamon Lodge are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us especially the desserts we had on offer .We have also taken note of the comment regarding the check in
We look forward to having you with us once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,418
    713
    170
    32
    21
See reviews for
636
1,160
49
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was the first hotel we stayed in on the Kuoni Celon Tour . We stayed 2 nights and it was a lovely introduction to Sri Lanka. Food was lovely especially the dessert room and the chocolates . Enjoyed watching the monkeys in the morning outside our room which was spacious and had everything you could want. We were able to have a ride on an elephant along the side of the lake before breakfast. Pool looked lovely ,unfortunately not enough time to go in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent stay with us we are glad you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed all what we had on offer including the dessert room .It is one of the most popular places in the hotel.
We look forward to having you with us once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our first stay of our Kuoni Tour (arranged through Escape Worldwide), Cinnamon Lodge was pretty much what we expected - a pleasant out-of-town retreat with it's own grounds beside a large man-made lake, a couple of dining choices, and a central pool area.

We stayed here for three nights in an Deluxe room which was essentially the downstairs half of a two-storey lodge. The lodges are quite rustic with lots of dark wood and tiled floors and there is plenty of space to sit, eat or put things. The main bedroom/sitting area has plenty of electrical sockets (a mix of uk and sri-lanka style sockets) a mini-bar fridge (we had to ask to get this unlocked) containing some drinks and a couple of snacks and an iron/ironing board as well as plenty of clothes storage. This room is air conditioning with a remote control so you can keep cool.

The bathroom area included a shower, a bath and the wc. The windows in here were fairly open to the elements and in our case, the elements included hundreds of ants constantly streaming in a path from one end of the room to the other. For the most part, I just ignored them as they kept away from the shower and the floor but I did have to brush them off the wc a few times. Wireless internet access is free here (as it was in every place we stayed in Sri Lanka) but it was dreadfully slow from our room (even when the wifi signal was good), bordering on useless at times.

The grounds here are great, there's a number of paths that take you around the perimeter of the hotel boundaries including the lake. On one walk, we caught sight of (and photographed) palm squirrels, a giant squirrel, toque macaques, grey langurs, bee-eaters, a paradise bird, egrets, cormorants, an eagle, kingfishers and various other birds and insects. You do need to spray n some insect repellent in the evening/early morning but we didn't find the insects here anywhere nearly as annoying as they were at the coast.

Dining options mainly consist of a snack menu (burgers, sandwiches etc) that are available in-room or at the bar, a buffet restaurant (breakfast/dinner) and two a-la-carte restaurants. We tried all three for dinner and found the buffet was okay for dinner or breakfast - but try and get in early to avoid food that's been sitting out for too long (good advice for any buffet), the snack food was below par (one of the greasiest, bland club sandwiches I've ever had) but the food at the Lotus restaurant was excellent and I would recommend that to any future guest. The only real annoyance I had was that every single time we went for a meal or even a drink at the bar, the staff would push the special outdoor romantic dinner for two menu at you in the hope of getting you to pay the $100 or whatever is was to eat outside with the bugs. I got a bit annoyed at having to go repeat myself every meal/drink. The only other thing I didn't really like was, while having lunch at the bar on the second day, having a pregnant cat wowling at us throughout the whole meal. Every time a staff member came near, it hid and them came back a minute later.

I quite liked Cinnamon Lodge - it's a good base for activities in the Habarana area, the a-la-carte food is good and the grounds and lodges are nice (as long as you're okay living with nature) - just avoid the snack food and don't expect super fast broadband (the latter generally applies to most of Sri Lanka).

+ Great location
+ Wildlife (giant squirrels, chipmunks, toque macaques, gray langurs, heron, egrets, kingfishers, bee-eaters)
+ spacious rooms (premium room)
+ great a-la carte restaurant
+ good food prices
+ decent cocktails
+ nice welcome (cloth and fruit juice)
+ smiling/friendly staff

- ants
- average food bar/room service
- split beds
- dripping air con
- cats
- slow wifi

Room Tip: Premium rooms are nice, just watch for insect invasions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MProudfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for giving your constructive comments on you recent stay with us. And we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay.We would also like to mention that we have taken note of your concerns as well
We look forward in welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel on17th and 18th April and regret of our stay due to unpleasant staff attitude which we experienced in the hotel especially in the restaurant. As I realized the staff including the restaurant manager who spoke broken English are lack of proper trainings that how to smile, speak and treat guests with respect.

The room was also dirty and few insects around on the wall. The hotel environment was fine, but need a big improvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your review on Tip Advisor following your recent stay with us.
We do regret that certain aspects of your stay with us were not to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa District, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

spent there 2 nights in our recent april trip to sri lanka. not very modern but very good and spacious rooms. its restaurant is really one of the best we encountered in terms of quality and variety of food. the overall environment is relaxing and pleasant to stay in. service and staff are very good and prompt.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehud f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your comments on your recent stay with us.
We are glad you were delighted with all the services that we had on offer .
We look forward in welcoming you back to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The only thing I regret it that we stayed for only one night in the hotel .. all of it what wonderful, the rooms were great with a beautiful place outside it to sit and watch monkeys play in the garden, very nice pool for a relaxing swim in the morning, and much more ....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
We wish to thank you for choosing Cinnamon Lodge Habarana for your recent stay .And we glad you enjoyed all our facilities and the wild life within the hotel .
We look forward to have you with us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights at the Cinnamon Lodge and didn't want to leave! It's not just a hotel, it's an experience. Beautiful lodges all dotted around a big park with a lake, where we even spent time to do bird watching! Excellent buffet, amazing swimming pool and very kind staff. Our favourite hotel in our two week stay around Sri Lanka.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lory76Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your comments it was indeed a pleasure to have you with us. And we are delighted to know that this was your favorite hotel and we are glad you enjoyed all our services during your recent stay with us
We look forward to have you with us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,485 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#4 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,588 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#6 of 19 in Sigiriya
1,533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Habarana
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing