We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL IN HABARANA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN HABARANA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice hotel in Habarana area in Sri Lanka , rooms are not in a one building spread over tree cover ( chalet type ) , friendly staff and good food . easy access to tourist sites such as Sigiriya , Polonnaruwa and Minneriya National Park

Room Tip: All rooms are good but if you have wlaking difficulties better to ask for a room close to main buldi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kapila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    680
    161
    28
    19
See reviews for
597
1,116
46
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Lodge and enjoyed every minute. We were in room 87 which is at the end of one of the blocks and we had great views of the monkeys climbing up in a treehouse and limited view of the lake. We enjoyed the wild life at the Lodge and looked forward to the walk to the main building from our room. We enjoyed seeing the large turtles in one of the ponds. The monkeys were on the bridge as we made our way to breakfast and then they played around the outside dining area of one of the smaller restaurants. Our room had everything we needed and the beds were very comfortable. We enjoyed having drinks in the bar before dinner and our meals were very good. The buffet is of high quality and much better than we have experienced at many European hotels. We tried to eat only Sri Lankan style food as that was one of our reasons for visiting there. The breakfasts were fabulous and the egg and honey hoppers were delicious. The ladies preparing them were a bit shy but soon warmed and agreed to pose for a photo. The staff was attentive and considerate as well as being friendly. We enjoyed every moment we were at the lodge.
I would be remiss if I did not mention that fact that the shower in our room was in desperate need of cleaning and disinfecting. The rest of the bathroom and bedroom appeared spotless and we had no complaints. Perhaps the cleaners need some training and access to products that can eliminate the mold and mildew growing around the shower floor and door.

Room Tip: Request a room that is at the farthest end of the blocks. They don't have as much people traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnosnews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
211 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Large rooms situated in a series of blocks dotted around the spacious grounds bordering the lake.

Super swimming pool!

Food was OK - there was certainly lots of it, and tended to be geared to Western tastes...but it did seem to please everyone. We really disliked the Western music being played continually . It's Sri Lanka...be proud of your culture and traditions! On our last morning someone was playing a local flute and the sound lifted our spirits! Much better.

We got fed up of the mass buffet and got our driver to take us to a local restaurant, where food was cooked to order, we where made to feel part of the family and it was a fraction of the price of the hotel. An altogether agreeable experience!

There are loads of wildlife to enjoy in and around the rooms - including snakes, water monitors, lizards and monkeys, which we loved. Not so welcome are the biting insects. Take plenty of deet!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is strategically located in the center of the cultural triangle, Habrana is a small town and it is the best hub to reach Anuradhapura, Trincomalee, Polonnarauwa, Batticoloa, Sigiriya, the above places can be visited within a day except for Batticaloa (the East Cost Beaches).

If a traveler stays at Cinnamon Lodge for about 2 to 3 nights he or she can visit all the important sites leisurely and with ease.

The hotel itself is an master piece, located in the vicinity of the Habarana Tank with lovely natural landscape, the rooms are well located in chalet type accommodation and beautifully decorated, the rooms have all comforts that a traveler needs, and a bit of extra pampering, you could do a stroll around the hotel and spot many endemic and migratory birds and many small amphibians, reptiles etc...

The service is amazing, the staff very courteous, friendly and helpful at all times and it make you feel at home and important.

The food is amazing, from a vast range of salads, a Sri Lankan corner fit for king, Thai corner, Italian corner and many more outlets with show cooking. Prepared by talented chefs the food can be considered the best in the region.
The hotel is in no doubt the best place for a traveler who needs a bit of luxury towards the end of a hard days travel.

Room Tip: Try to book a room with the lake front view if you are just going to chill out without much sight se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohanj J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent 3 nights here as the first stop on our tour around Sri Lanka. All 4 of the hotels we stayed in were fantastic but this was my favourite overall.

This hotel was marketed by our travel agent as a "stop over" hotel and it was originally suggested that we might stay there 2 nights which i extended to 3 - and I am so glad. This is so so much more than a stop over hotel, I could have stayed there a week and been happy. There is so much to see on site, from the local wildlife (monkeys, deer and so many birds and lizards), to the on site farm where you can see honey being collected, mushrooms growing and a variety of plants which are used in the restaurant. With so much to do I never even made it to the pool which looked idylic.

There is also so much to do close by from elephant rides (really a must-do!!), to a river boat tour and trips to Dambulla, Sigiriya, Polonnaruwa and the elephant safari at Minneriya (another absolute must do!!)

Sri Lanka is known for its great hospitality and friendly people and this was demonstrated best of all at Cinnamon Lodge. The staff clearly delight in finding out about your stay and trying to make your time at the hotel as good as can be. One chef took us around each dish at the restaurant individually explaining what was on offer and encouraging us to try the local cuisine options.

In terms of the restaurant this was also be best selection of food we experiences in Sri Lanka. There are lots of different types of cuisine on offer (sri lankan, asian, european) and a huge amount of choice. Breakfast is also made more entertaining by visits from the resident monkeys (particularly at the tables nearest the pool)!

There is also the option to have a private dinner at one of the few private dining locations around the resort. We chose to have a private dinner for 2 on a little island in a lake at the edge of the resort. It was amazing. And as it happened to be Valentines day it made for a very special evening. We have a private chef and waiter and more food than we could possibly eat. We felt it was definitely the best private dinning spot. Candles were lit around the edge of the island and we could watch the sunset over the lake. the waiter even gave my husband a rose to give to me! The whole experience and the amount and quality of the food is definitely worth the price!

We were also extremely pleased with the room which was really clean. We'd recommend room 73, it was only a superior room but had everything we needed and it was such a good size. Plus as we were on the edge of the resort our room looked out onto the woodland and lake which was just beautiful, with all the local wildlife. The hotel has no boundary walls in that direction you forget that you are in a hotel at all and really feel engrossed in nature.

Absolutely loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeymooner1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fantastic place to start our vacation. Would highly recommend it.
Upon arriving after a long trip from Colombo we were greeted with cool towels and ice cold juice. We were taken to our room which again was lovely. Only a few ants in the bathroom but nothing we couldn't deal with. Breakfast and the Buffet dinner was amazing, such a wide variety and of great quality. Would love to go back.
Wait staff were polite, friendly and prompt.
Pool was amazing. I would love to go back for a dip right now!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.
It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us
Once again thank you for choosing Cinnamon Lodge for your holiday and we look forward to see you once more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely place to stay withe family...in the middle of the forest, big rooms, free wifi and a great breakast...you see monekys while swimming or gaving cup outside ur room..close to sigirya rock..and minnerya park

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregorios E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfad S, Resident Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for giving your comments on trip advisor

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us .Monkeys are a part of the amazing wildlife within the hotel premises and they are always a joy to watch.

Once again thank you for choosing Cinnamon Lodge for your holiday and we look forward to see you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
11.7 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
7.5 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Habarana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
2.8 mi away
Camellia Resort and Spa
Camellia Resort and Spa
#4 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: P.O Box 02, Habarana, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing