We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a beautiful lakeside setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a beautiful lakeside setting.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

On arrival we were greeted with chilled cinnamon scented towels, a lovely touch after a long flight to Sri Lanka. Our lodge was spacious and clean, though the bathroom had a bit of an odd smell. We had a couple of problems with the aircon but this was addressed quickly by the staff. The a la carte restaurant was nice, service was very good, though it would benefit from some music as you can't hear the band playing in the main bar from there. The buffet restaurant had excellent food, the sweets were especially good in their own chilled room. Service there was pretty good, though our drinks order got lost once. Drinks were very reasonably priced.

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of a tour of the region and we were too busy to fully enjoy the surroundings which was a shame as the lake was beautiful and we'd have loved to have taken a walk down by it. There were opportunities to have a private bbq by the lake which we were asked if we wanted at least once at every meal (it got a bit annoying after a while). We'd have probably done this if we could have predicted what time we'd be back from our tour. There was also a small lodge on site where the guides all stayed, which meant we got a prompt start every morning.

On our last night we entered our lodge to find a lovely display of flowers spelling out a parting message and an elephant made out of towels which was a lovely touch.

Overall a very nice hotel and we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vintage_Beau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,401
    705
    168
    30
    21
See reviews for
627
1,146
49
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What an absolutely stunning hotel. I stayed here for 3 days with my husband as part of a tour of Sri Lanka and could easily have stayed longer. It's a beautiful property in a very secluded area. The staff couldn't do enough for you and always welcomed you with a smile. It was quite a quiet hotel so if you fancied a chat they were always happy to have a conversation with you but left you alone if required.

The food is top class, a huge selection to please even the most picky of eaters and the chefs were happy to add a little extra spice if required.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0JamesHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in a deluxe suite, with our 2 children ages 12 & 14. The rooms were spacious - lighting poor for book reading at night!
Food excellent, buffet breakfast & supper. Great selection to choose from.
Pool big but not many sunbeds around it taking into account the number of guests the hotel can accommodate.
However, overall it was ideal as a base to explore Sigiriya, Polonnanuwa, Anuradhapura.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your review & we are truly glad you enjoyed you stay with us, your feedback on the sunbeds is indeed appreciated as it's candid feedback from our guest that helps us improve & serve you better.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at Cinnamon Lodge for 2 nights en route from Sigyria before heading to Anuradhupura and used as a base to go and see the elephant gathering at Minneryia National Park. The food was lovely, such a large variety and great quality. The rooms were lovely, like little lodges and so quiet. The staff were very friendly, especially the waiter we had near the poolside who was extremely knowledgeable on the wildlife and took us on a tour of the hotel grounds which has its own organic farm and paper recycling facility, we were very impressed in the uniqueness of this hotel in trying to become sustainable as much as possible. There were even a few resident terrapins which we met after dinner by going down to the bridge between the 2 lakes and throwing in bread then sitting and waiting and one night 3 terrapins came out, totally surreal. The National Park visit was also really brilliant, it did feel at times it was the gathering of the jeeps rather than the elephants but it did not detract from a wonderful and wild experience.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room nearest the lake and it was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trina31_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted that the bird & other wildlife that have made the Cinnamon Lodge their home & our sustainable practices added to your holiday experience.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we are glad you enjoyed the Cinnamon Lodge experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napoli
Level Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A great hotel, with all the services you would expect from an hotel like that. Great breakfast (just too large for what anybod could possibly taste), impresssive pool, beautiful jungle setting. In one word: fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are delighted with you comment that your stay with us was "fantastic"

Thank you for having stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wonderful, relaxing setting. Food amazing, particularly the salad bar, where you can have any manner of green leafy salads made up at your request. Fantastic staff who went out of their way to ensure we had a memorable 2 night stay. Any issues we had regarding our room were dealt with efficiently and professionally. When our driver was delayed we were presented with little boxes of chocolates and homemade biscuits to nibble on while we waited. Such a thoughtful gesture from The Lodge. As anywhere in Sri Lanka, the gorgeous people and delicious food make the whole trip fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
We are truly glad that you enjoyed the serenity of the Cinnamon Lodge, our culinary offerings & that our team made your stay with us memorable.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels in the region. Superb service and food.we had a really great time staying there during our holidays. The Staff were extremely warm and friendly.
Beautiful location, great rooms & views and excellent food & services. A highly recommended resort to stay if visiting the cultural triangle. Minneriya national park, anuradhapura, polannuruwa, sigiriya, dambulla etc are within easy access.
Truly a beautiful cinnamon property!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sabooChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghazzali M, General Manager at Cinnamon Lodge Habarana, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The central location of the Cinnamon Lodge to the cultural sites & wild life parks is an aspect commented on by many of our guest, we are glad it added to your holiday experience together with our culinary offerings & the service element of our team.

Thank you for having stayed with us & we look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Sri Lanka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Habarana
11.6 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
3,441 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,555 reviews
7.4 mi away
Jetwing Vil Uyana
Jetwing Vil Uyana
#1 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Sigiriya
Hotel Sigiriya
#7 of 20 in Sigiriya
1,505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
Sorowwa Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Habarana
211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sungreen Resort & Spa
Sungreen Resort & Spa
#3 of 8 in Habarana
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lodge Habarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lodge Habarana

Property: Cinnamon Lodge Habarana
Address: Habarana, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > North Central Province > Habarana
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Habarana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cinnamon Lodge Habarana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana is located at the heart of Sri Lanka's world famous cultural triangle where history, time and tradition meet. Make delightful discoveries in over 27 acres of resplendent beauty, shielded by over 1700 tall trees, surrounded by three nature reserves. Discover tranquility in the midst of lush greenery. The 68 Superior, 63 Deluxe, 2 Superior suites and 4 Deluxe suites are aesthetically designed and are located on the ground and first floor level of chalet type accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lodge Habarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lodge Habarana Hotel Habarana
Cinnamon Hotel Habarana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing