We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderfully Quiet and Beautiful Setting”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glandon, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Udles
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Quiet and Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed for 14 nights in August 2017 at Chalet Toit Rouge and it was, from Mark and Alison's warm welcome to the reluctant departure two weeks later, a blissfully relaxing, peaceful and idyllic holiday. Set in the silent, unspoilt Dordogne countryside, on a back road that, at its peak, sees roughly one tractor an hour, the only interruption to an afternoon snooze in the sun came from the laughter and squeals of our children playing in the sparkling pool!

Mark and Alison are the perfect hosts, remaining invisible where at all possible but always on hand for advice on the local area and where to visit. They especially recommended Lake Rouffiac, just a couple of km away, and they were right to do so. It's perfectly safe, even for non-swimmers (there are lifeguards present at the sandy beach), and the kids loved the paddle boards and pedalos! There's also the only tele-ski in France (water-skiing by cable), which is almost silent in the peaceful, natural setting.

Evenings were spent watching the sun set leading to the Milky Way unfurling and spotting shooting stars (no light pollution at Chalet Toit Rouge) as the bats flitted around the garden. They were our most relaxing times of the day!

We cannot more highly recommend Chalet Toit Rouge unless your preference is the neon lights of Las Vegas or the nightlife of Paris. In which case look elsewhere - but, if you want complete relaxation in a beautiful and peaceful setting, look no further!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2017
:-). Such a wonderfully worded review that really does capture the special moments staying at Chalet toit rouge. We are delighted you had a wonderful time. Our 'night life' is more to cleans the soul .... Best wishes. Mark, Alison & Poppy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richardt1...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning slice of the beautiful Dordogne”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from what had been the best holiday ever after spending a fantastic week in a stunning little corner of the Dordogne. We cannot thank Mark and Alison enough for their hospitality, kindness and their complete respect to privacy for the duration of our stay. The children loved going into the pool everyday and one of the highlights for them was meeting Poppy the beautiful friendly resident dog. Perfect to relax and chill in the mornings and plenty of places to visit and things to do nearby in the afternoon. Highly recommend and will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thanks for such a wonderful review. It was our honour to host you at Chalet Toit Rouge. Our doors will always be open to welcome you back as it was a complete pleasure for us too. There is still so much to see and do here so please consider us if you decide to visit the stunnning Dordogne again. Poppy says Hi ... she misses you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharri-An...
1 review
“Beautiful, peaceful and family friendly retreat with a lovely pool.”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Spent 10 days in this lovely cottage and all I can say is wow!!!. It is in the most idyllic setting to relax but ideally situated to visit the many attractions within short car journeys away. If you want peaceful, stunning walks against backdrops of chateaux's or lakes mixed in with family friendly activities at the very local Lake Rouffiac or for a short drive you can get to zoo's and play areas then look no further you just can't get better than here.

Coupled with the lovely pool to relax by and let the kids wear themselves out this really is a great place to stay.

The owners are lovely too and very helpful at all times. They are also on site to ensure the pool is cleaned daily or if you have any issues can resolve quickly but are conscious to leave you alone to enjoy your break.

I highly recommend this cottage and will be booking again as soon as we can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was an absolute pleasure to host you and so glad you had a relaxing holiday. There will always be a very warm welcome for you and really hope you can join us once again fpr sundowners in the Dorsogne very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kai2012
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside cottage- a real hidden gem!”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in November 2016

What an amazing place, the cottage and surrounding area is absolutely beautiful! It's so quiet and peaceful yet jump in the car and in no time at all you find yourself in picturesque little villages. The lovely English couple that own the property are very friendly and it was on their suggestion that we had an excellent meal (for a dirt cheap price) in a local village. This is definitely an ideal place for a bit of rest and relaxation and although it was too cold for a dip on this visit we walked around the grounds and the pool looked like it would be lovely on a hot summers day- we definitely hope to return and try it out next year! Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rileymich...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Destination fora relaxing Peaceful French Adventure”
Reviewed 6 April 2017 for a stay in November 2016

We spent three days two nights in this fabulous location flying into Limoges. Peaceful, relaxed French countryside that provided the perfect break. You must visit Oradour sur glane and the owners will give you all the local knowledge you need. The property is excellent and the owners very helpful and accommodating. The property has a pool and its a great extra. We ate locally and enjoyed the bars and scenery. The night sky was astounding.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to host you and so glad you enjoyed Oradour. There is so much more to see and do all within a few minutes of the cottage. Hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B
1 review
“Beautiful, relaxing cottage with lovely pool and high quality spec all-round”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Situated deep in rural Dordogne, this cottage is luxurious, well-equipped in all respects and wills you to slow down and relax! Our young children, my wife and I came back fully refreshed and looking forward to our next visit. The owners' hospitality was terrific - they're only next door - and there were so many places to visit, all within an hour's drive. You'll be overwhelmed with story-book castles, amazing neolithic caves, beautiful riverside villages and a lovely sunny climate.

Add Lake Rouffiac to your list of early leisure trips - a five minute drive.
Then relax on the loungers by the pool and breathe in the fresh Dordogne air...

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and we are delighted you managed to see some of the wonderful places all around us. We hope you can visit again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Beautiful, Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks in this delightful place. If you want the bright lights and an active nightlife, look elsewhere. This is a place of peace and beauty. The cottage is surrounded on all sides by rolling countryside and panoramic views.
Chalet Toit Rouge is an old house with many original features but has every modern convenience; a well-equipped kitchen, 2 modern bathrooms, comfortable furnishings, UK TV, DVD player, wifi and, although we didn’t need it, a modern central heating system and a wood-burning stove in the inglenook fireplace. There’s even a library. The pool is large (by private house standards) and well furnished with recliners and large umbrellas.
Although it is deep in the countryside is isn’t isolated, there are large supermarkets and other shopping facilities reasonably near. A car is strongly recommended not only for the shopping but to visit the many charming French villages. We particularly recommend Segur le Chateau.
If you fancy a trip to the beach, Lac Rouffiac, 2 minutes drive away, has a large sandy shore with modern changing and shower facilities. There’s a restaurant and opportunities for many water sports, including water skiing, sailing and boating.
Our outstanding memories of our stay will be of peace, quiet, the friendliness of our hosts who live on site and the skies; glorious sun-sets and brilliant sun-rises and in between a canopy of thousands of stars. In the daytime vapour trail patterns are etched in the blue sky by planes making their soundless passages to distant destinations.
We’ve already booked our return visit

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing