We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel opposite of the Barcelona fair”
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel opposite of the Barcelona fair”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is very good. The breakfast is reasonable priced, especially when you book it in advance at the reception, and shows a big variety of food.

The airconditioning system is quiet and can be switched of completely; I think that's a real advantage.

The choice in the bar is also very good however I think it is a little overprized. A gin & tonic (Tanquerray Ten) costs € 15,- and that's a lot of money for one drink...

The rooms are good and well equipped. However I had booked a privilege room and got a urban room.

One thing that really bothered me was the smell in the lobby. The airconditioning system there spreads some kind of refreshing scent which is already noticed when approaching the revolving doors from the outside... I thought it was terrible. When telling this to the staff (not complaining, just telling) I was told that the majority of the people like the smell. And that I can understand.

Next time we will most probably come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    476
    94
    20
    8
See reviews for
136
364
59
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed the modern unique hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our flight was early and we could not check in until 2:00 pm. We were able to leave our luggage and do some shopping close by before check in. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We purchased to have breakfast included which was very tasty and lots to eat. It was well worth price.We also enjoyed evening meals which was reasonably priced and good variety. We were traveling with family and they made sure that our rooms were side by side. The Metro was close by (reasonably priced)as this hotel was outside of tourist area. I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in an urban room, really nice modern clean even some English TV choices, room not massive and shower, toilet and basin all enclosed in a frosted glass box, looked good, sitcom works well, bar is ok food was nice. Location good for the conference centre but metro isn't far away. No ATM near by which was a pain. Wierd seeing security walking around with night stick... Wonder if they ever need it, not much else nearby touristy but some shops and an ikea.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank John_Gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here for a few nights before our cruise. Loved the style of the room and was a great location. Just a few blocks from the Metro line and 1 simple line change to almost anywhere you want to go in Barcelona. Our room was extremely quiet and had a safe. Great water pressure, had a small problem with the remote control randomly working and I'm not sure there was an alarm clock, but very happy with our choice overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerLearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Lovely rooms in a stunning building. Very close to the airport (Bus 46 15 mins) and close to the Gran Via 2 shopping centre. However, on Sunday, there is nothing open apart from the theme restaurants. On Saturday you have all the shops in the centre including Carrefourre, food supermarket is in basement. I cannot fault the hotel, staff are ok, probably used to business guests most of the time.Beds are the best and rooms wonderful.
Did not try the 13 euro breakfeast but did try the bar which was expensive and soulless. The trouble is the depression in Spain, as the area has lots of empty buildings (Big ones)
However, it is 20 mins to Pl Espanya on buses and was excellent value for money (no exhibitions at the weekend)
However, research the night buses if you go into town on a late one, we did not and it was a pain, the drivers quite like to shut the doors ASAP sometimes and so you don't get on. ( we were not madly drunk)
Lovely hotel, beautifully relaxing and quiet and good sauna.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry2671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we stayed for 5 nights and it we enjoyed.the room so wide,the bathroom,etc are so modern.the architecture is so artistic.the hotel is in the quiet zone but it's easy to move by metro and near supermarket.the staff are helpfull and gently.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citradesyrosaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times, last time mid-July this year alone for business. Easy access to public transport, however I always had a rental car -they have a garage available. Helpful, nice people everywhere, all looks brand new, and super clean and trendy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#122 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Property: Hotel Porta Fira
Address: Plaza Europa 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing