We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Bright Hotel opposite the Fira”
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
222 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Clean, Bright Hotel opposite the Fira”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times while attending exhibitions at the Fira (opposite) since it first opened. By taxi it is about 17 minutes from Barcelona airport (approx 25 euros with tip). There is a shopping centre very close to the hotel, with a huge supermarket, shops and fairly basic restaurants.

Remember this is not a city centre hotel. If you want to go to the centre, there is a metro (L'Hospitalet de Llobregat) a few minutes walk away, with trains to Placa Espanya (approx 8 minutes transfer time) from where you change to numerous metro lines (there is also a shopping centre with a good selection of restaurants here if you cannot be bothered to hike into town)

Purchase a ticket for 10 journeys if you are staying a few days or there is a group of you (we purchased a T-10 zone 1 multi person ticket for 9.80 euros the tickets and just handed the tickets on to each other as we travelled) The nearest station to the hotel and the city centre metros are in Zone 1. If you want to go to the city centre by taxi an average cost would be approx. 12 euros without a tip – depending on traffic this can take from about 15 minutes to 30 minutes.

The hotel reception/bar area is large and airy. The bar does get busy while exhibitions are on. Wine, beer and soft drinks are reasonable but the cost of spirits seem high about 14 euros, but the measures are enormous!

Rooms are bright and very clean. The bathroom is glass (modesty glass panelled) and very well lit, with a large mirror - great for putting your makeup on! Good range of channels on TV (including main news channels) and free wifi. Rooms on the upper floors get some good views back to the city if you are facing that way.

Downside - no kettle - I now take my own, but if you like an early morning coffee/tea you are disappointed. I did not have room service this time, but in the past this has been fine.

Breakfast is ok, although the hot food is not always hot - this has been a recurring problem, but there is a good selection, and the early start time 6.30 for breakfast is good if you need to be at the exhibition venue early.

Food served in the bar area is fine and reasonably priced. The restaurant does more formal eating, again not used this time, but have done so in the past when the who tabled opted for a set menu which was good.

Staff at the hotel are polite and friendly.

Like anywhere always ensure your bag is with at all times, a bag was stolen in the bar, and on a previous visit a bag was stolen at breakfast time. Just don’t give thieves a chance – they are very professional and this could happen anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    488
    476
    95
    20
    8
See reviews for
136
364
59
389
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We (me and my wife) stayed at the weekend in Oct 2013.The hotel is nice. Breakfast is very expensive. Rooms are lovely and have a modern feel. The view from upper floor rooms is great.
We arrived late on Friday and were allocated a twin room in spite of booking a double. The next day , when we requested they changed us to a double room but we were charged extra 15 euros. Make sure before checking in to confirm whether your room is twin or double.

While changing from twin to double room we lost a bag and brought this to the attention of reception. The staff initially could not find our booking and told us we never stayed in the twin room! Later they told us to wait & they will check with house keeping. We waited for 1 hour and they ignored us and kept serving other customers. Finally we went to the reception and asked them if they found our bag they simply told us they haven't found any & kept doing their work!

In general the hotel rooms are great but reception staff are rude and lack manners.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukdoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirportafira, Director General at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing the Porta Fira Hotel for your last stay in Barcelona.
We really appreciate your comments because they are the best way for us to improve our level of service.
We have been analysing your incident and we have seen that you made your reservation without any requirements about having a double bed.
The next morning when you required a change to a Urban Room with a double bed, we could not offer you this possibility because the hotel was fully booked for Urban rooms and that is why we offered you a special price of 15€ for an upgrade to a Privilege Room with double bed. We looked on our system and also double checked with the housekeeping manager to verify if there was something left on the room you had the first night, as you mention here in your comments, unfortunately we did not find anything in our database.
On the other hand we would like to sincerely apologize if the treatment of our reception desk did not meet your expectations and for surely we will take note about your comments.
We will appreciate if you visit us again in the future and give us the opportunity to show you that our level of service fulfills our guest’s expectations.
We remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely,

THE MANAGEMENT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff. Rooms modern with comfy beds and free wifi. Close to shopping centre with loads of choice food and clothing. The hotel food not up to much and drinks very expensive. On whole nice experience and would recommend .

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Johndunn5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights after a cruise. Check in was easy and quick and I was able to get a room in the morning. The room was clean and neat and did have a safe. The hotel it self was warm but great A/C in the room. The hotel was very quite, I had a room by the elevators and still didn't hear any noise nor did I hear anyone banging doors. After being on a cruise it was nice not to have anyone banging doors! The buffet breakfast started at 6:30 am which was great for early flights most hotels that I have stayed at start later. The only down side was you had to take the metro to get to Barcelona. which was only a block away and the metro was fairly easy once you catch on. As a solo female traveler I was just a bit nervous arriving back on the metro late at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Very interesting design, clearly a boutique style hotel. Views are nothing special, the hotel is located right across from the convention center. A hike to the sites of Barcelona, but subway is only a block away. The restaurant is very good - both dinner and breakfast. If all you want to do is attend a meeting then the location is great. If you want to enjoy Barcelona, you are far from the action.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijkerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is very good. The breakfast is reasonable priced, especially when you book it in advance at the reception, and shows a big variety of food.

The airconditioning system is quiet and can be switched of completely; I think that's a real advantage.

The choice in the bar is also very good however I think it is a little overprized. A gin & tonic (Tanquerray Ten) costs € 15,- and that's a lot of money for one drink...

The rooms are good and well equipped. However I had booked a privilege room and got a urban room.

One thing that really bothered me was the smell in the lobby. The airconditioning system there spreads some kind of refreshing scent which is already noticed when approaching the revolving doors from the outside... I thought it was terrible. When telling this to the staff (not complaining, just telling) I was told that the majority of the people like the smell. And that I can understand.

Next time we will most probably come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We enjoyed the modern unique hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our flight was early and we could not check in until 2:00 pm. We were able to leave our luggage and do some shopping close by before check in. The rooms were very clean and spacious. We purchased to have breakfast included which was very tasty and lots to eat. It was well worth price.We also enjoyed evening meals which was reasonably priced and good variety. We were traveling with family and they made sure that our rooms were side by side. The Metro was close by (reasonably priced)as this hotel was outside of tourist area. I would recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#123 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Property: Hotel Porta Fira
Address: Plaza Europa 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing