We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in good location”
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the Porta Fira hotel last weekend. It is an impressive looking building and the interior is immaculate. Although out of the city centre, transport into the city and to the airport is easy and cheap (see below for my own transport guide). The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The rooms are lovely with great views of the city outskirts. We were on the 13th floor. The corridors are very quiet and there was next to no noise from the roads outside. We had no problem sleeping. Breakfast was excellent!! Great choice! A few wonky table legs though so watch for that.

The only issue for me was that the toilet/shower area in the room is only boxed in by frosted glass panel. It is not in its own room (like a usual an en suite). As a result, there is next to no privacy when using the toilet or having a shower. There are also gaps in the glass panel so even with the doors closed over, there is no privacy. I wouldn't share a room with anyone other than my partner put it that way! Also, no kettle, tea/coffee or complimentary water in the room which is always a bug bears of mine.

To get around follow my guide: When leaving the airport terminal take a right along the walkway until you reach the bus stance for service '46 Barcelona'. It's 2 euro and get off at the stop directly outside IKEA on the main road (should take 15 minutes). The hotel is just round the corner from IKEA. To get into the city use the 'Europa Fira' Metro Station. Come out the hotel, turn left, cross the road and you'll see the stairs leading down to the Metro. Use the ticket machine (which can be read in different languages). Buy a T10 ticket at 9.90 Euro. This will give you 10 trips on the Metro. Each trip is considered as 75 minutes. So for 75 minutes you can use the metro's as much as you want and only lose 1 trip from your ticket. It should last you a while and is great value. You will have to get off at 'Espanya' stop and transfer to another metro line to get into the city centre 'Catalunya'. This will only take you around 20 minutes in total. To get back at night, just reverse the process. The metro is really simple and the hotel has metro maps. To get back to the airport, cross over the main road at IKEA and there is a bus stop. Get the service '46 Airport' which arrives every 25 minutes.

We did loads in Barcelona including the football, so any questions give me a shout.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Urabanrodeo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Porta Fira
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location is 10min wants to shopping mall. Train station is near too. It was very safe to walk even late at night. The road was quiet but very safe even if you walk alone.

Walking distance to McDonald which is open 24 hours.

Breakfast spread was awesome. F&B manager and staff are friendly. Lift was a little confusing. Staffs are friendly. didn't move because we pressed a wrong button without realizing that it was for fire.

Room aid condition is off during winter. Not used to it as it can be stuffy. It was difficult to sleep. I suppose all Aircon across Europe are switch off during winter.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonrocky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a night prior to catching a cruise. We found the hotel staff very friendly and helpful, the food was good although the hot drinks at the breakfast buffet were somewhat tepid. We enjoyed free underground car parking for a week whilst away cruising, which is a great saving in Barcelona. The rooms are modern and very comfortable with a wet room shower and free wifi. Will use again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times while attending exhibitions at the Fira (opposite) since it first opened. By taxi it is about 17 minutes from Barcelona airport (approx 25 euros with tip). There is a shopping centre very close to the hotel, with a huge supermarket, shops and fairly basic restaurants.

Remember this is not a city centre hotel. If you want to go to the centre, there is a metro (L'Hospitalet de Llobregat) a few minutes walk away, with trains to Placa Espanya (approx 8 minutes transfer time) from where you change to numerous metro lines (there is also a shopping centre with a good selection of restaurants here if you cannot be bothered to hike into town)

Purchase a ticket for 10 journeys if you are staying a few days or there is a group of you (we purchased a T-10 zone 1 multi person ticket for 9.80 euros the tickets and just handed the tickets on to each other as we travelled) The nearest station to the hotel and the city centre metros are in Zone 1. If you want to go to the city centre by taxi an average cost would be approx. 12 euros without a tip – depending on traffic this can take from about 15 minutes to 30 minutes.

The hotel reception/bar area is large and airy. The bar does get busy while exhibitions are on. Wine, beer and soft drinks are reasonable but the cost of spirits seem high about 14 euros, but the measures are enormous!

Rooms are bright and very clean. The bathroom is glass (modesty glass panelled) and very well lit, with a large mirror - great for putting your makeup on! Good range of channels on TV (including main news channels) and free wifi. Rooms on the upper floors get some good views back to the city if you are facing that way.

Downside - no kettle - I now take my own, but if you like an early morning coffee/tea you are disappointed. I did not have room service this time, but in the past this has been fine.

Breakfast is ok, although the hot food is not always hot - this has been a recurring problem, but there is a good selection, and the early start time 6.30 for breakfast is good if you need to be at the exhibition venue early.

Food served in the bar area is fine and reasonably priced. The restaurant does more formal eating, again not used this time, but have done so in the past when the who tabled opted for a set menu which was good.

Staff at the hotel are polite and friendly.

Like anywhere always ensure your bag is with at all times, a bag was stolen in the bar, and on a previous visit a bag was stolen at breakfast time. Just don’t give thieves a chance – they are very professional and this could happen anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CareySJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We (me and my wife) stayed at the weekend in Oct 2013.The hotel is nice. Breakfast is very expensive. Rooms are lovely and have a modern feel. The view from upper floor rooms is great.
We arrived late on Friday and were allocated a twin room in spite of booking a double. The next day , when we requested they changed us to a double room but we were charged extra 15 euros. Make sure before checking in to confirm whether your room is twin or double.

While changing from twin to double room we lost a bag and brought this to the attention of reception. The staff initially could not find our booking and told us we never stayed in the twin room! Later they told us to wait & they will check with house keeping. We waited for 1 hour and they ignored us and kept serving other customers. Finally we went to the reception and asked them if they found our bag they simply told us they haven't found any & kept doing their work!

In general the hotel rooms are great but reception staff are rude and lack manners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukdoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirportafira, Director General at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for choosing the Porta Fira Hotel for your last stay in Barcelona.
We really appreciate your comments because they are the best way for us to improve our level of service.
We have been analysing your incident and we have seen that you made your reservation without any requirements about having a double bed.
The next morning when you required a change to a Urban Room with a double bed, we could not offer you this possibility because the hotel was fully booked for Urban rooms and that is why we offered you a special price of 15€ for an upgrade to a Privilege Room with double bed. We looked on our system and also double checked with the housekeeping manager to verify if there was something left on the room you had the first night, as you mention here in your comments, unfortunately we did not find anything in our database.
On the other hand we would like to sincerely apologize if the treatment of our reception desk did not meet your expectations and for surely we will take note about your comments.
We will appreciate if you visit us again in the future and give us the opportunity to show you that our level of service fulfills our guest’s expectations.
We remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may require.
Yours sincerely,

THE MANAGEMENT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Lovely hotel, pleasant staff. Rooms modern with comfy beds and free wifi. Close to shopping centre with loads of choice food and clothing. The hotel food not up to much and drinks very expensive. On whole nice experience and would recommend .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Johndunn5707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights after a cruise. Check in was easy and quick and I was able to get a room in the morning. The room was clean and neat and did have a safe. The hotel it self was warm but great A/C in the room. The hotel was very quite, I had a room by the elevators and still didn't hear any noise nor did I hear anyone banging doors. After being on a cruise it was nice not to have anyone banging doors! The buffet breakfast started at 6:30 am which was great for early flights most hotels that I have stayed at start later. The only down side was you had to take the metro to get to Barcelona. which was only a block away and the metro was fairly easy once you catch on. As a solo female traveler I was just a bit nervous arriving back on the metro late at night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,592 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#6 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#127 of 513 in Barcelona
2,555 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
3,828 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Barcelona Fira
Travelodge Barcelona Fira
#336 of 513 in Barcelona
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Address: Placa Europa 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range: £76 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing