We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for the airport”
Review of Hotel Porta Fira

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Porta Fira
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
288 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 481 helpful votes
“Handy for the airport”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed here for a night as we had an early flight from Barcelona Airport. We had a nice room and it was only a short drive from the airport. Hotel has parking - though I would caution that it is difficult to find - we ended up having to go into reception to ask where it was.

Even with GPS finding the hotel was difficult. In the end we tried to home in on the oddly shaped bright red tower that is the hotel. This is difficult with one way streets, even though you can see the building. So if you are driving here, make sure you have looked at the photo of the building before leaving home.

The GPS was fine going to the airport, but I would not have liked to have tried it without GPS. In short, unless you are going to the Fair, it is in the middle of nowhere, whatever the duty manager says here! There is little around in the way of eateries, so either you bring your sandwiches in with you, or you eat in the hotel restaurant.

The reception staff were a bit grumpy - as in many Spanish hotels they are keener on your Credit Card and Passport details, than they are on actually welcoming you to the hotel. I put that down to bad management

Having given the negatives, we did enjoy our stay here. We had a big room on a high floor. The décor, someone said minimalist, was fine for me.

I can recommend it if you have an early flight from Barcelona Airport

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    493
    102
    22
    8
See reviews for
150
378
59
405
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

What to say , this is the typical Business hotel near a fair ..
It offers good rooms , we had free internet access ( though connecting to corporate vpn wouldn't work )
Excellent breakfast for variety and quality of food .

Nearby the Metro station will bring to placa espagna in few minutes .

Can recommend for business , not to much for a getaway in barcellona

Room Tip: my room was on 20th floor and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Nice hotel, unusual construction.
Rooms on upper floor rang weirdly due to decor on outside. Additionally pillows are the huge foam variety that do not facilitate sleep easily.
Gym is really small, with 1 runner and 1 bike.
Breakfast good.
Location is ideal for Fira Barcelona, just across the road, but quite far away from anything else.
Upper floor rooms are larger as the buildings open live a flower towards top.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJKMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirportafira, Manager at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel and for choosing us during your stay in Barcelona.
We are really sorry about your problems with the pillows, just to inform you that we have some different kinds of pillows in our housekeeping department for guests than need a specific kind of pillow.
By another hand, the hotel is located, as you comment perfectly fine, just in front of Fira Gran Via and you can enjoy some different facilities 5 minutes walking from the hotel in Gran Via Center where you can find cinemas, shops, children attractions, etc....Just across the street you can find the tube station named Europa Fira than connects you with the city center in 10 minutes.
It will be a pleasure for us if we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the next future. I am totally sure than your experience will be more comfortable than the last one.
Thank you again for your precious opinion.
Best Regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Last November (2013) I had another business trip in Barcelona and opted for the Hotel Porta Fira as it was nearby the conference I was attending.

Nice design hotel and great location just in front of the "Fira Barcelona" trade fair. 5 min, walk to the nearest metro station.

Negative comments:
The room was very minimalist not worth the price level for that hotel. This means the overall price was too high for what one gets.
The hotel restaurant was OK if you just eat there one night or two at max.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDX65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dirportafira, Manager at Hotel Porta Fira, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion about Hotel Porta Fira.
We really appreciate your comments about the Hotel design and our Spiral Restaurant.
Regarding the rooms, we have different room categories distributed in 24 floors. Each category has different size and different design depending on the floor.
If you give us the opportunity to welcome you again I am sure that your new experience will cover your expectations.
Thank you very much again for your opinion, that is the best way we have to improve our services and facilities.
Best regards.
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Towering over its neighbors, the Porta Fira is an architectural wonder - tall, bright red and oddly shaped. It certainly makes finding it easy to say the least.

The Porta Fira is a very modern and well run hotel. The rooms are large and airy. The beds firm but very comfortable. The shower is a room unto itself - as large as my entire bathroom at home!! Hot water and water pressure abound.

If you book through their webside wifi is free. The wifi is better on some floors than others and always strong in the lobby.

The breakfast buffet is good but expensive. For a cheaper option go to the small bar next door where coffee and a good sandwich will set you back less than 5 Euros. If you need dinner and don't want to go into town there is a great shopping centre across the street with over 20 options for food, not to mention good shopping.

Right on the metro and a short taxi ride from the airport this is a great location. Made even better if you are in town for a trade show at the Fira Barcelona which is just across the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachellejv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed at the Porta Fira hotel last weekend. It is an impressive looking building and the interior is immaculate. Although out of the city centre, transport into the city and to the airport is easy and cheap (see below for my own transport guide). The staff are very friendly and speak excellent English. The rooms are lovely with great views of the city outskirts. We were on the 13th floor. The corridors are very quiet and there was next to no noise from the roads outside. We had no problem sleeping. Breakfast was excellent!! Great choice! A few wonky table legs though so watch for that.

The only issue for me was that the toilet/shower area in the room is only boxed in by frosted glass panel. It is not in its own room (like a usual an en suite). As a result, there is next to no privacy when using the toilet or having a shower. There are also gaps in the glass panel so even with the doors closed over, there is no privacy. I wouldn't share a room with anyone other than my partner put it that way! Also, no kettle, tea/coffee or complimentary water in the room which is always a bug bears of mine.

To get around follow my guide: When leaving the airport terminal take a right along the walkway until you reach the bus stance for service '46 Barcelona'. It's 2 euro and get off at the stop directly outside IKEA on the main road (should take 15 minutes). The hotel is just round the corner from IKEA. To get into the city use the 'Europa Fira' Metro Station. Come out the hotel, turn left, cross the road and you'll see the stairs leading down to the Metro. Use the ticket machine (which can be read in different languages). Buy a T10 ticket at 9.90 Euro. This will give you 10 trips on the Metro. Each trip is considered as 75 minutes. So for 75 minutes you can use the metro's as much as you want and only lose 1 trip from your ticket. It should last you a while and is great value. You will have to get off at 'Espanya' stop and transfer to another metro line to get into the city centre 'Catalunya'. This will only take you around 20 minutes in total. To get back at night, just reverse the process. The metro is really simple and the hotel has metro maps. To get back to the airport, cross over the main road at IKEA and there is a bus stop. Get the service '46 Airport' which arrives every 25 minutes.

We did loads in Barcelona including the football, so any questions give me a shout.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Urabanrodeo147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Location is 10min wants to shopping mall. Train station is near too. It was very safe to walk even late at night. The road was quiet but very safe even if you walk alone.

Walking distance to McDonald which is open 24 hours.

Breakfast spread was awesome. F&B manager and staff are friendly. Lift was a little confusing. Staffs are friendly. didn't move because we pressed a wrong button without realizing that it was for fire.

Room aid condition is off during winter. Not used to it as it can be stuffy. It was difficult to sleep. I suppose all Aircon across Europe are switch off during winter.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonrocky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,564 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
#3 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#120 of 513 in Barcelona
2,518 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
3,787 reviews
0.4 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Porta Fira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porta Fira

Property: Hotel Porta Fira
Address: Placa Europa 45, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Porta Fira 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Santos Porta Fira**** is a work of the famous Japanese architect Toyo Ito, well-known for creating other designs including the extension of Barcelona’s Fira Gran Via. In 2010 the hotel won the prestigious architectural “EMPORIS AWARD” for being the best skyscraper in the world. The modern and cutting edge building which simulates a lotus flower, has 24 floors and a height of 110 meters thanks to which it is recognized as one of the architectural icons of the city and part of the Barcelona skyline.Our clients can expect 311 modern designed and spacious rooms, the restaurant “Spiral” offering finest cuisine and a wellness area.Our meeting rooms with a highly multifunctional plenary room offering a well-lit space of 800 m², which can be divided by panels and a height of 5 meters, are making the Hotel Porta Fira ideal for hosting any type of event. Thanks to its features but also the proximity to the airport El Prat and the fairgrounds the new property of the Santos Hotels range has a major attraction for the world of business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Porta Fira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Porta Fira Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing