We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with bad restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean hotel with bad restaurant”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed four days at Hotel SB Plaza Europa during our short family trip to Barcelona. Hotel is new and clean and staff on the reception is very friendly. Our room was quite small with king size bed. As always, you have to learn the tricks how to get air conditioner right. One weird detail was that the sink wasn't in the toilette but in the room. There was no big mirror or iron in the room.

Breakfast is ok, nothing fancy but it gets you up and running. You really don't want to eat lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurant. It has no taste and remains me something you do quickly with microwave oven.

Location is bit away if you are planning to visit hotel between activities in the town and a dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank syvakma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    514
    124
    33
    28
See reviews for
343
451
41
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This was quite a nice place to stay. I have decided that when I need to be in Barcelona for short work trips, it is much easier to be in Hospitalet, a closeby suburb of Barc.. Its less expensive in general, the metro connections are convenient and fast and its just more peaceful if you don't want to do dawn to dusk tourist sites. Actually, even if you are a tourist, I would recommend it. The hotel was all I needed and more. It is located near the Fira conference center so there are many business hotels clustered around the area. The infrastructure allows quick and easy links into the center of Barcelona. The hotel is very well designed. The rooms are small but feel larger, as mine was narrow but wide with lots of space on each side of the bed with less in front of it, but enough to move about comfortably. It never felt cramped like some of smaller rooms feel. Lots of fake wood around but comfy. There is a nice outdoor patio space as well which is great when weather permits. The internet connection was excellent, with lots of outlets for charging phones, laptops, etc. The room was spotlessly clean and felt new. The shower was great, with lots of pressure. There is a lovely small roof top pool with a bar and lounge chairs. The restaurant food was quite good but the service tended to be slow. Now... what i really loved best about this hotel was the books, books for all over the world in many languages, just there for hotel clients.. The lobby and lounge area is like a wonderful library reading room. Its unique and exciting if you love books as I do. The only negative comment I would make is that the hallways to the rooms tend to be a bit dark, even during the day, but can feel spooky at night. There was also one receptionist who wasn't particularly friendly or nice. I got lost and called her for directions. She kept me on hold forever while I was driving and then gave me bad directions. Upon meeting her in person, she again didn't seem very nice or helpful, but this happens often in Spain.. You get used to it somehow..
Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, convenience, and books..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with lots of light and not at the end of a dark hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneilkSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

i was taken as a surprise to see barcelona play, made welcome on arrival, hotel was spotless, staff were very polite, great value for money, will be taking my wife there in the future, it is a little out of town, but i personally think it's worth a little bit of traveling.

Room Tip: we stayed on 2nd floor no problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were here for a business convention and for that it was a great location - less than a 5 minute walk to the convention center and right next to a mall with grocery store and some restaurants. During the week the clientele was all business persons and the price for the room was around 200 euros per night. Once the convention ended the clientele changed to tour bus groups (mix of loud high school kids and adults) and the price dropped to around 60 eurors per night. Quite the difference! In our opinion the room/hotel is not worth 200 euros per night, especially on the nights the high school group was running around, yelling, and knocking on each other's doors at 3 a.m. Suggestion for the hotel...upgrade the bed covering to a light duvet. The "blanket/comforter" consists of the cheapest felt- like blanket available sandwiched between two standard sheets. For 200 euros per night a better blanket on the bed would make a world of difference. We had one of the smallest rooms in the hotel (we confirmed this by looking at the evacuation map/floor plan in the hallway), located in its own separate hallway with an extra odd door in the hallway that was hard to navigate with luggage and on several occassions I had to climb over and around housekeeping supply carts, and had we not been there on business and knew the hotel was full we would have requested a room change. We stayed in this hotel for a few days after the convention ended to check out Barcelona - this hotel is not convenient for sightseeing as it is located about a 30 minute metro trip (including walking to the station, transfers, waiting for trains) from the heart of Barcelona. Business trip with a conference at the convention center, great. Looking to vacation in Barcelona? Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steph526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

The room was comfortable, especially the bed. Excellent shower with plenty of hot water. Service was friendly and welcoming, and housekeeping first rate. Nice view from the rooftop terrace, sadly it was not warm enough to use the pool. Fitness facilities seemed good, with very nice steam and sauna rooms. Breakfast was fine, wonder why salt and pepper not easily available but that is not a big deal.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank virtualsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I am going on regular base to Barcelona, my company has offices in the area of Fira. I was always struggling to find a nice relaxing hotel then I discover SB Plaza brand new so I try it. Since then I am always booking this hotel. Welcome at reception is always with a smile and efficient even during meeting hosted in the hotel.
Rooms new with a modern style that I like, silent and beds very comfortables.
I try also the restaurant and again remarkable the kindness of the staff.
Breakfast rich and tasty.
I am looking forward to try the terrace in summer time and possibly the fitness and the swimming pool.
I have recommended it to all my colleagues traveling to Barcelona.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here for three nights, reception and rooms were excellent but in the morning breakfast was chaotic and not at all acceptable. There aren't enough tables for a hotel of this size, too closely packed, frequently running out of food with ridiculously long queues fir juice and coffee machines. Kids running about and knocking residents as tables are so close together.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fpb127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,103 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#121 of 513 in Barcelona
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
639 reviews
0.8 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Plaza Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Plaza Europa

Property: Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Address: Carrer de les Ciencies 11-13, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Plaza Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SB Plaza Europa Hotel (4 stars) is located next to the Fira- Granvia Exhibition Centre designed to meet every need, for both leisure and business guests. Its 243 rooms are fully-equipped with free Wi-fi, LED TV 32 ", USB and MP3 connection and work area.The hotel also offers a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, a rooftop swimming-pool with a panoramic terrace and pool -bar (both opened from 12:00 am to 9:00 pm only in summer), and a fully equipped gym, steam room and sauna.Located on the strategic Plaza Europa, near one of the entrances to the city, just 10 minutes from the city center and from both the El Prat International Airport and the Port of Barcelona. It is also a dynamic new district where there are facilities such as the Exhibition Gran Via 2 or the City of Justice, large office buildings, business area Zona Franca and the ZAL (Logistics Activities Area).Next to the Gran Via, fast track access to El Prat airport and the harbur, the hotel connects in minutes to the center of the city, either by private vehicle or through various options offered by the public transport and diverse metropolitan rail or bus lines. The MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia), the Olympic or FCB Stadium are located just minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SB Plaza Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel SB Plaza Europa Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing