We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alround Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Alround Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2weeks in July on business. Very nice rooms helpful staff. Good breakfasts. Bar a bit pricey for an out of town hotel. Barcelona centre about 10Euros in a taxi. Or 1 hour walk if you prefer. Lots of little bars and restaurants nearby so plenty to do. Will definitely stay here again next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gazpotts72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Gazpotts72,
thank you for reviewing our establishment in Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to see you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    493
    118
    26
    26
See reviews for
327
435
40
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southport
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport. The rooms are clean and modern and the mini fridges have space for a few drinks. The staff at reception were very helpful in providing advice on places to visit and a detailed map showing how to get there. We purchased a t10 card for 10 euros which we could share between three of us and allowed us ten trips on the metro or bus. Each trip could last up to an hour and fifteen minutes. You could also use several buses or trains on each single trip. To get to la ramblas was very easy on the metro. You got the metro to espanya which was two stops away and then transferred to another line and went to catalunya. The nearest metro station was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel. We hadn't paid for breakfast in the hotel and discovered a very reasonable cafe about four doors down from the hotel. The coffee was very good and they offered a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options. We also discovered a great pizza and kebab take away across the square from the hotel. The staff were very friendly and spoke very good english. The roof top pool is very impressive with great views but it is very cold in the water. We really enjoyed our stay and would definately come back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynleeSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear lynleeSou,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about hotel.
We really look forward to see you with us again son.
Best regards,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was excellent, in my opinion. It is very stylish and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. It has a gym (woohoo, finally!). The highlight for me, however, was the "library" on the ground floor. There were hundreds of books stacked on cool looking wooden shelves; the offerings are in many languages. There is a bus stop located about two blocks away that takes you close to La Rambla (buses 94/95). The staff was very courteous and helpful. Highly recommend!

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mariya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear M T,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very nice pool area with bar at the roof top, very nice room with Jacuzzi in the room, good breakfast, good free wifi, modern and clean hotel with good services. Everything worked well. Room was extremely quiet and comfortable. Shower and Jacuzzi were fantastic!
Only the location wasn't too good but bus and metro was just few hundred meters away. It was fast and easy to get to airport by direct bus.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarskih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dera Jarskih,

Thank you very much for leaving your comments about our hotel.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Jacuzzi Suite and hope to see you back again real soon.
Yours sincerely,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here in August and absolutely loved it. For the price we paid you get an amazing hotel, which was only about 8 months old when we stayed there (built November 2013).

The room was amazing, really lovely facilities (only Sky News was in English on the TV though) and the free WiFi, whilst slow, was enough to check emails, Facebook, update friends from home etc. Wonderful shower aswell. All in all, the room was great. The only other negative is that the cleaners didn't replace the teabags, milk or sugar. However, when I phoned reception they were there within 5 minutes, so not the end of the world.

The pool is lovely, the views from the roof terrace are incredible. The food in the restaurant was nice, not fantastic, but the bar staff were great and made fantastic cocktails. The cooked breakfast was average but there are all sorts of other options you can have so something to suit everyone. There is a rooftop bar but all four times we went to the roof during our 3 day stay it was closed, even though it was meant to be open, but you can always get a drink from downstairs and take it up and watch the sunset over the city.

Getting there from the airport took exactly 11 minutes by taxi. The local taxis are about €25 but we used the Uber app and paid €12.

In terms of transport around the city, the nearest station (Ildefons Cerda) is a 2 minute walk, and from there its about 5-10 minutes into the city via Espanya station, so everything is super accessible.

To conclude, fantastic hotel, great location, great price. I would 100% stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the better the views over the city. We were on the 2nd floor sadly, but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Nic S,

thank you for leaving your nice comments in Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay and love the room, the pool and the service.
Anyway I take note also of the negatives details that be sure help us to improve every day.
We look forward to seing you again very soon in Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Best regards,

Gemma Fradara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel is new, fresh clean, modern and luxurious. We were amazed with the standard of the hotel for the price we paid. The staff are really helpful and friendly and made us very welcome. You have to wait a bit for food and drinks buy hey this is Spain and the pace is slower than home, isn't that one of the things we love about it? Besides the food is really good and very reasonably priced for the quality. Rooms are serviced daily and generally at a time to suit you. The rooftop pool and terrace is lovely, the pool is small but big enough to cool off on a hot day. It is less than 10 minutes in a taxi to Las Ramblas and cost between 8 and 10 Euros, there was 4 of us so great value. The shopping Mall across the road is amazing, very ornate and a lovely atmosphere but watch out your credit card could melt, there are so many lovely things to buy! We will definitely be back. I just hope rave reviews like this dont push the prices up.

Room Tip: We chose rooms on a higher floor which are quieter and nearer the pool if you fancy an early morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Alison659,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our services.

I look forward too see you back soon at Hotel SB Plaza Europa.

Kind regards,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip to barcelona and as we were there before our main aim was to find a nice relaxing hotel with a pool where we could just chill out and relax for a couple of days, from reading all the positive reviews we selected this hotel.
We arrived at 11am and were checked in but advised our room would not be ready until 3pm, we arrived back at 3pm and were given our room key only to find when we got to our room it was two single beds, our reservation was a standard room and it says in small print you are not guaranteed a double bed but they are allocated at check in. We checked in at 11am so we should have being early enough to be allocated a double room. We rang downstairs and they said there were no double rooms available. We were then offered a room with a double bed if we paid a 30 euro upgrade, this room was supposedly a business room but was in fact a family room that was vacant for the night, any four star hotel would normally offer you this room with compliments not this hotel. It was only when I spoke to a manager and said I wasn't paying for their mistake that I got the room for the night with no additional fee on the agreement that we move rooms the next day. However on check out we were asked to pay the 30 euro and again ended up having to speak to a manager and argue our point again.We had the inconvenience the next day of moving room with no apology from staff or offer of help with our bags. The worst bit about this was the awful customer service, we dealt with 2 different receptionists at 2 different times and neither time was it mentioned that it was a room with two single beds. We had to discover this for ourselves.
On the plus side the hotel is modern and it takes about 20minutes on the 46 bus from the airport and about 25minutes to get into the centre of Barcelona. Get the t10 ticket at the airport if you can as you can use it on the bus and on the trains. The wifi connection in the hotel is good.
The negatives aside from the issue with the room-
-the pool area- there is not enough sun beds at all, people are lying on the ground on towels, or sitting with legs up on 2 chairs, never seen this before in a four star hotel, or any hotel for that matter.
The bar staff at the pool bar are very slow and the food is very poor. Our dirty plates weren't even picked up.
To be honest what was meant to be a relaxing break to barcelona ended up being stressful and we definitely didn't receive the four star treatment that we have gotten from other hotels.
Although it's a lovely hotel until the staff can learn to make the little things right for the customer , eg give us a map on check in, tell us where the train station is without asking, provide towels at the pool without the need for deposits, and in general just be supportive of the customer, smiles and apologies go along way.I couldn't recommend this hotel.overall very disappointing.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank roundtheworld53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel SB Plaza Europa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Roundthew,

thank you for sharing your experience in Tripadvisor, your opinion is very important for us.
I regret all the inconviniences you had on moving rooms but be sure we always try to do our best in satisfying our clients needs even if it is sometimes very difficult About our pool, there is an area for sunbathing with sun beds and a pool-bar area with tables and chairs, This information, with photos, is publish on our web and to all our sales partners
We take your complaints very seriously and will keep them in mind for future improvements. Once again let me apologise if our staff did not hadle it in the correct way.
Kind regards,

Gemma Fradera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
0.5 mi away
Hotel Porta Fira
Hotel Porta Fira
#2 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
Renaissance Barcelona Fira Hotel
#1 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
1,408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 521 in Barcelona
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hesperia Tower
Hesperia Tower
#117 of 521 in Barcelona
2,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
Euro Hotel Gran Via Fira
#8 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
243 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fira Congress
Hotel Fira Congress
#5 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Plaza Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Plaza Europa

Property: Hotel SB Plaza Europa
Address: Carrer de les Ciencies 11-13, 08908 L'Hospitalet de Llobregat, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Plaza Europa 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SB Plaza Europa Hotel (4 stars) is located next to the Fira- Granvia Exhibition Centre designed to meet every need, for both leisure and business guests. Its 243 rooms are fully-equipped with free Wi-fi, LED TV 32 ", USB and MP3 connection and work area.The hotel also offers a restaurant, bar, meeting rooms, a rooftop swimming-pool with a panoramic terrace and pool -bar (both opened from 12:00 am to 9:00 pm only in summer), and a fully equipped gym, steam room and sauna.Located on the strategic Plaza Europa, near one of the entrances to the city, just 10 minutes from the city center and from both the El Prat International Airport and the Port of Barcelona. It is also a dynamic new district where there are facilities such as the Exhibition Gran Via 2 or the City of Justice, large office buildings, business area Zona Franca and the ZAL (Logistics Activities Area).Next to the Gran Via, fast track access to El Prat airport and the harbur, the hotel connects in minutes to the center of the city, either by private vehicle or through various options offered by the public transport and diverse metropolitan rail or bus lines. The MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalonia), the Olympic or FCB Stadium are located just minutes from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Plaza Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel SB Plaza Europa Province Of Barcelona, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing