We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting surrounded buy countryside all around. Stayed here for just 1 night for a wedding party but would love to go back. The staff make the place. Lovely lovely people. Yes the rooms are basic and could do with an update but it seemed to be just right for the setting. The food was fantastic. Nice pool and facilities. Wow what a beautiful place to visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel was easy to find and well located for our requirements. It is in lovely setting surrounded by open countryside, with parking right outside. We were given a very warm welcome by the English speaking host.

Our room was rather dated with thin curtains and fairly basic linen. However, it was very clean. Breakfast was continental and good. As it was almost 50% more expensive than the excellent hotel we had stayed in the previous night we were a bit disappointed with our room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussychica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Very good place for visit Saint-Jean Pied du Port. 10 minutes by car to city centre. Very good hotel for the price you pay. Big rooms, clean, swimming pool enough for have relax, gym and spa.
Breakfast good, continental, and service outstanding. If will be back to this area i´ll repeat. Sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guxabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were met by a delightful young women who speaks excellent English. She welcomed us to her hotel, and then explained we were in the 'annex' and would show us the way if we followed her car. I started to wonder what we were gong to find. However, my fears were totally groundless. The 'annex' is an old farm house ( her great grandmothers) that over looks this rather pretty village, the building was delightfully cool and spotlessly clean, as was our room, we were at the back of the building so the view was of the surrounding hills. If you have a room at the front you get a view over the village. Breakfast and dinner were served in the main hotel, a 2/3 minute walk down the hill. Breakfasts was sufficient, bread etc. dinner was very good, well prepared quickly served. And a good wine list. All the staff were really helpful and friendly. Brilliant place to stay, to explore this lovely part of France. There is a pool, gym sauna and jacuzzi. We only tried the pool which was very good. I have one regret, I didn't get the recipe for the cherry jam that was served with the cheese at dinner. A really brilliant place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: If in the annex try for a front room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is probably a 3.5 rather than a 3....although I can't quite understand the references to luxury made by some reviewers. My room was fine, but it was just an ordinary hotel room, looking out on a yard. I'd booked a deal online, so maybe I was in one of the cheaper, older rooms? The food was also average - which was a bit of a surprise - but the service was very friendly (including a charming young woman who speaks excellent English - and was very patient with my poor French). I got the impression that the other diners on the night I was there were regulars, and that the hotel functions as a bit of a village hub - I was there out of season, so maybe it changes a bit in the summer? Overall, dinner, bed and breakfast were good value!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliane L, Propriétaire at Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013
Google Translation

Madame, Monsieur,
j'ai bien lu votre message. Je tiens juste à vous signaler que nous ne sommes qu'un 2 étoiles. Je ne sais pas ce que vous attendez d'un établissemnt comme le notre, mais sachez qu'il n'est pas possible d'amener une chambre de luxe ni un service exceptionnel aux prix que nous pratiquons ( 70€ ch/pd et 102€ pour la demi pension, prix donné pour un couple et non par personne ). Je penses également que vous oubliez de dire que pour le prix que vous avez payé, il y a une piscine chauffée et couverte, un sauna, un jaccuzzi et une salle de sport.
Si le menu de la pension ne vous convenez pas, pourquoi n'avoir pas pris la carte?
De plus, vous n'aviez pas de vue sur une cour mais plutot sur notre terrasse ainsi que la vallée et montagnes de notre si belle région.
J'espère sincèrement Madame, Monsieur que cela n'est juste qu'un mal entendu. Et si, certaines personnes très habituées comme vous même l'avez signalé reviennent c'est que notre établissement vaut mieux qu'un 2 ETOILES. Enfin, j'espère vous revoir afin que vous puissiez passer un agréable séjour dans notre région. Maider ( la fille qui parle Anglais )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is on the route from the coast to the Pyrenees. It is in a very quiet rural spot just five minutes from a main road to Spain. Rooms are large with spacious and clean bathrooms. Very comfortable bed. There is a small swimming pool and sauna available. Very good restaurant and a wide range of foods. There is an overflow block with equally good rooms which a five walk away from the main hotel. Only a problem if it is raining or you have not got a car. Overall it is a excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzee-Iron-Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

It was our luck to find Hotel Eskualduna simply because it was within sight of the train station in St. Martin. We had the warmest welcome of any hotel on our 3-week ramble in Spain and France! Our hostess, Maider, is on her way to becoming a hotelier extraordinaire! Her family has owned this property for four generations, and they are delightful in their local knowledge and genuine hospitality. Our room was large and impeccable (although the mattresses are not the best), but the gorgeous view over town and the surrounding mountains made up for any tiny discomfort. Their dining room is elegant with excellent cuisine to match. Go there to breathe that wonderful mountain air and to meet this wonderful hostess.

Room Tip: Don't shy away from the annex; it has big rooms and excellent mountain views. If you need to be...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanandHugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Martin-d'Arrossa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Mendi Alde
8.3 mi away
Hotel Erreguina
Hotel Erreguina
#1 of 1 in Banca
159 reviews
10.9 mi away
ARGI-EDER
ARGI-EDER
#1 of 4 in Ainhoa
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Hotel Andreinia
Hotel Andreinia
#1 of 1 in Esterencuby
200 reviews
4.8 mi away
Ostape
Ostape
#1 of 2 in Bidarray
167 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Clementenia
Hotel Clementenia
#1 of 1 in Arneguy
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna

Address: Route de la Gare, 64780 Saint-Martin-d'Arrossa, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Basque Country > Saint-Martin-d'Arrossa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Martin-d'Arrossa
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Eskualduna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing