We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to recommend further”
Review of Hotel Stella Mare

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Algajola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Stella Mare
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Algajola
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just got back from a week at this lovely hotel. It's a small place, 16 rooms, in a great location - close to a lovely beach and a pretty village. There are lots of restaurants and shops a few minutes walk away. What I really liked was the style of the place - very Corsican! You could tell that the owner had gone to a great effort to make the place look really welcoming, cosy and charming. All the staff were really helpful, giving us tips on where to go and helping us with reservations for taxis, car hire and boat trips. The room was really clean, with a wonderful view. The breakfast was also really good. So if you want to relax, swim, sunbathe, eat well in a lovely setting - this is the place for you.

Room Tip: get a sea view and if possible room 10 - this has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Located in Algajola, between Calvi and Il Rousse, we spent 4 nights at the start of our Corsican tour at Stella Mare and it was the perfect base for visiting the Balagne region. The two lovely young ladies were very welcoming on our arrival, showing us to our room which was recently renovated and giving us spot on recommendations for restaurants and tour ideas. The balcony offered a spectacular view of the village and the sea beyond. It is an easy couple minute walk to the little train station, however, it was not yet running when we arrived in early May. I would definitely stay here again and can easily recommend the Stella Mare if you are planning to visit this beautiful region of Corsica. Very clean, comfortable, quiet, and above average service from our hosts.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lucie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Hotel Stella Mare is a beautifully decorated, light and airy hotel. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and cool, the breakfast buffet was much more impressive than a standard buffet and the car park was very convenient. Located 5 minutes from the beach, it made a perfect base for 2 very relaxing days. What really stood out for me were the staff: they were among the most helpful I have ever encountered, advising us on activities and booking a lovely restaurant for us.
A perfect choice if you want a quiet, easy stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank km22_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I spent five nights in late June together with my wife at Hotel Stella Mare in the tranquille village of Algajola in Corsica. We loved it and would not hesitate to stay there again. Recommended!

This hotel has a perfect location, just five min walk from the hotel into the heart of Algajola and its beach. This means you are right in the middle of everything without being bothered by noise or other discomforts that other hotels more centrally located have.

In addition to its location this hotel has good common areas for guests to sit and talk or read in the shade. This is important for a good hotel and we spent several hours there, see pictures.

The staff is warm and friendly, everyone from receptionist to chef and the staff who cleans your room will greets you with a smile and a friendly bonjour. All of the three receptionists are very friendly and shares villingly their knowledge about Corsica and where to buy the best Corsican wine, cheese, ham, marmelade or Music. They also does not mind a little chat about life in general on Corsica and all of them speak fluent English, one of them even speak German.

The rooms are clean and has a safe to be used free of charge. Also WiFi exist but we did not bring our own computer so could not give you feed back on that. If anything negative should be said about this hotel is perhaps that the spaces could have been a bit larger. I would not characterize the rooms, shower or toilets as small, but they could have been bigger.

We stayed in room No 14 with view to the mountains which is 20 Euro cheaper per night compared to Sea view. We can recommend this, because the noise at night must be higher if you sleep with the window open facing the sea and downtown Algajola. This problem should perhaps not be over emphasised, but also if you stay for a longer period those 20 Euro per night adds up. Most important though is that living at Stella Mare you get to see plenty of the sea anyway; while eating breakfast you have view to the sea, while reading in the comfortable chairs in the common areas of the hotel you overlook the sea and so forth.

Breakfast is very tasty and is served with view of the garden leading down to Algajola and the sea. If there is strong wind glass doors are shut to completely glass-inn the entire breakfast area, if the weather is nice they are opened up.

We spent a total of 14 nights in Nice and Corsica on four different hotels and Stella Mare was taken all together our finest experience. We recommend it for people who wish to relax and enjoy in the small and wonderful village of Algajola.

Room Tip: Room with Mountain view is good for people who sleep with the window open, to wake up by the sounbd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manzana1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We have stayed at the Stella Mare a couple of times now and it does not disappoint.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with a good sized bathroom, a safe, minibar and air conditioning. The buffet breakfast is generous and the food is good. The views from the terrace over the town and sea are wonderful - a great place to sit on a sunny evening with an aperitif.
The owner and all the staff are friendly and very helpful providing us with a full breakfast even though we had to leave early to catch our flight.

Room Tip: Sea views at the front of the hotel though the views of the mountains from the rooms at the rear are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halladay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This must be the best hotel in Algajola. The hotel is set back from the road that runs through the village and has pretty gardens. Inside it is beautifully furnished and the owner and staff are extremely helpful. Breakfasts are delicious. Rooms are not large but well designed so as to make the best use of space. Beds are comfortable too. Just a few minutes walk away are several shops, cafes and restaurants and also the railway but there is no noise.

Room Tip: If a room is available with a sea view then go for it. However, the rooms at the back have a view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel was a great find. Really friendly staff. So convenient for the town, the beach and the train. Lovely light rooms, sea view definitely worth the supplement. Air conditioned, spotlessly clean with comfortable bed. Room has safe. Hotel does generous breakfast, bar service in the afternoon, though no other meals. Algajola has a wide variety of restaurants literally 2 minutes away (our favourite was U Castellu in the square). Beach is 5 minute walk. Single track Train Station just by entrance - easy to catch train to either Clavi or Ile Rousse (market day is Friday). Train is not a nuisance, more of a pleasant distraction, only goes by 8 times a day in summer.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelling_slow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Algajola hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Serenada
Hotel Serenada
#5 of 10 in Algajola
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de La Plage Les Arcades
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pascal Paoli
Hotel Pascal Paoli
#9 of 10 in Algajola
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#1 of 10 in Algajola
270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Saint-Joseph
Hotel Saint-Joseph
#2 of 10 in Algajola
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel L'Ondine
Hotel L'Ondine
#3 of 10 in Algajola
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella Mare

Address: Chemin Santa Lucia, 20220 Algajola, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Algajola
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Algajola
Price Range: £63 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Stella Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Mare Corsica/Algajola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing