We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday in Algajola”
Review of Hotel Beau Rivage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Beau Rivage
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Algajola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

2-week holiday in August 2013 with my partner. Ideal location only a few steps from the beach in Algajola. We planned to stay 12 days and booked a room on 1st floor facing the sea (without balcony) and ended up adding 3 nights.
This decision gave us the chance to "test" the mountain view room and also one within what they call "the dependence", as the hotel was fully booked and we had to change our room twice.
All rooms we stayed in had very good air conditioning, usefull if too hot (rarely) or humid outside (expecially at night, as the sea is this close)
The room facing the sea was perfect, as you can see from the pictures on the hotel website (actual). We only had to close the window at night because of the "noise" coming from the waves (while some might find it relaxing as well)
The room on the back is pretty much the same but much warmer and the lack of view make it a comfortable place where to rest but not that impressive. I would not personally save a little $$$$ to stay many days here.
The room within the dependance (a different building 100 mt apart) was a bigger room, almost like a little studio with the bedroom and a small living room with a table and a single sofa bed to be used if you're 3 people (not very comfortable as it has to be opened all times).
The depandance is a good solution to have a little more room although you have to a minute or so to reach the Hotel.
The only weird and a little uncomfortable aspect is the area for the WC (all rooms we stayed), as it is within a separate zone where tall people might find hard to close the door
Also this solution gives you a little claustrophobic feeling of being in a public restroom.
It seems that this layout is quite common in France (although I hardly consider Corse as... France!)
The restaurant is very, very good despite portions are not so generous but you always get a starter, a main course and dessert (or local cheese).
The cook is French, so expect quite refined courses (both for their aspect and taste).
Half boarding is surely a good choice, as eating out is rather expensive otherwise.
Breakfast was quite good, not very large choice for warm food (only DYI boiled eggs) but plenty of croissants, cakes, breads and "continental" add ons
The terrace is awesome and you can have breakfast there looking at the sea and meeting other guests if you wish to.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
Calvi and Ile Rouse are only a few miles away, if you wish to spend the evening in a more lively location. Beware of traffic jams during high season when reaching city limits (it took us almost an hour to pass through Ile Rousse the first day we arrived)
Hotel Beau Rivage is an awesome find we will surely consider when we'll have the chance to come back in Corsica.
A 3 star treatment for a 2 star price.
Don't look elsewhere if Algajola is your destination.
PS: We were the two of us plus a little dog that become quite famous among little kids.
Corse is very friendly where your hairy friends are generally being accepted everywhere (please collect their "gifts" and leave the beaches clean!)

Room Tip: Sea view! With or without balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarloCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Beau Rivage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

An excellent position right on the beach the Hotel Beau Rivage is aimed squarely at the beach loving tourist. Linoleum and tiles are the order of the day for floor covering as I suppose it makes it easier to sweep up the sand.

Great view out into the Mediterranean and over to the tiny citadel of Algajola from the room's balcony where you can sit, have a quiet beer and watch the awesome summer sunsets. Alternatively you could sit on the hotel's balcony where you could also gaze down the rather large beach of Algajola.

The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. A good, basic hotel that fulfilled our needs.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank His2ryCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We walked into our room and saw the Mediterranean at the foot of the window, fantastic! Unusually, the sea was rough, and we enjoyed watching it calm down during our stay. The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient. The breakfasts are good. There's a small terrace where you can take your breakfast in the morning sun. The rooms are simple, comfortable, clean, and everything was done to make our stay relaxing. For more accurate information look at the review from artyd 1, 2011 - it says everything. We will definitely be coming again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. Rooms with balconies are on the second floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Although the hotel was fully booked when I arrived, there was a nice apartment available, about 100m away, which is operated by the hotel. It was cheaper than their hotel rooms, and though it lacked air conditioning and WiFi, I really didn't miss it. Even in July, there was a cool evening breeze. There was an adequate kitchen, and a comfortable (twin) bed.

The town of Algajola has a number of great restaurants, a wonderful bakery and a small grocery store that sells fresh produce and good wine, yum.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeggieChefT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Algajola Village is a very nice place, but the Hotel Beau Rivage is fantastic, both for the location and for the vicinity to the sea side.
The rooms are clean, and those with balcony have an awesome view of the sea and the sunset.
Service is friendly and professional.

Room Tip: It is surely worth to pay the extra cost for the room sea side with balcony.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerardoLaSpezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel is run by the Martinelli family who are very friendly and welcoming with a relaxed but professional outlook.
On arrival we were met and our bags taken up to our room for us, on the first of two floors. The rooms have all been completely re-furbished this year,2011, and are very comfortable and of a high standard. The twin beds are really comfortable, with bedding changed three times a week and made up every day. The rooms have a decent dresser and partner drawer set, and a room safe with combination. The rooms are en-suite bathroom /shower with a seperate toilet next to it, but still in the room. The bathrooms are lovely, very clean and very modern with hairdryer on a stand, and plenty of clean towels daily, both hand and bath varieties, and soaps,etc.
There is a satelite TV, phone and air conditioning in every room. I was on a painting holiday with 15 other people and all of us agreed how nice it was.
We stayed half board, and the breakfast is a very nice continental affair with plenty of it.
The evening meal was always three courses with wine and finished with coffee, and was always very good, complete with a musical waiter! There is a small lounge area and a nice patio where guests can take breakfast overlooking the sea, which is quite literally about 5 metres away!
Incidentally, I was on the seaward/ sea view side and the sea comes up under the window, but I believe the other side has no problems with noise.
You walk straight onto the beach of silver white sand from the hotel and there are great views and nice shallowish water to enjoy.
Downside? MOSQUITOES. I was plagued by them and couldn't keep my balcony doors open at night, which I found quite bizzare as it was right over sea water and a stiffish evening breeze. They were on the curtains were they rested in the day and then I inadvertently locked them in at night and they ruined most nights sleep, moeover, no repellent including DEET worked.
It is however, a good base for exploration and Calvi and L'Ille Rousse are only about an hour away, and there are some good resteraunts locally, one right on the beach next to the hotel.
PLEASE NOTE: I have put very good for sleep quality, and it would be if the mozzies were not there.
I think that pets are allowed as a French man had a small dog unless he was one of the hoteliers, check this one,

Room Tip: Book a sea view as you will get stunning views of the sweeping bay where there is always something i...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We thought this would be a nice place, but it smelled bad inside especially the bathroom. The room did not come with towels, soap, or even toilet paper. The beds in the bedroom were twins and squeeked a lot when moved on. The futon in the living room was uncomfortable and mosquitos bit the heck out of us if we left the window open at night. The sand on the beach hurts your feet to walk on and too many smokers stunk up the outdoor areas. The food was so so, nothing to write home about. The waiter was nice. The front desk staff were nice until there was a problem, then they were pushy and rude especially when I asked for a roll of tp. They need to disclose the needs of an apartment to American traveleres before we arrive. We've rented apartments in Paris and Prague and they even came with soap and tp. The store down the street was good as was Restaurant U Castellu, but if you hate smoke, sit inside. The smokers are disgusting. They act like it is part of their stinkin meal and it sucked big time. I would not recommend the annex at all. Stay in the hotel and eat somewhere else if you have higher standards of eating. The wine they charged 25 Euros for, I found it in the store for 7 euros. The views were really pretty of the waterfront by the Citadel, just don't stay in the annex. Also, the old lady at the front desk told us the wrong time for breakfast and so we never got it, they didn't charge us though. And, their sign at the front says they speak English, but nobody at all speaks one word of English, so be prepared to know a lot of French.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jnbantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AND-PR, Gérant at Hotel Beau Rivage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Mrs,

I assure you that your complaint is being taken seriously, however this does not concern the hotel Beau Rivage but the apartment accommodation we offer clients who specially request them. the renting of these apartments does not include the hotel service. we informed you of this when you made your reservation.
The apartment accommodation does not cost as much as staying in a hotel room but I might add that we have, all the same, afford certain facilities wich are not included in the price.
You were also informed that if you wished to have breakfast at the hotel it was served between 8H and 10H. You cam at 10H45, at with time we set the tables for lunch. You could have gone to pour bar terrace and had a leisurely breakfast right by the seaside.
As far as the furniture of the apartments is concerned, this is renewed on a regular basis when esteemed necessary.
I am sorry that your stay did not meet up to you standards but it seems that you were excepting a 4 star hotel service, included in the price of your apartment accommodation and with would have been much more expensive. Moreover, our family run hotel is only a 2 star hotel.

Best regard.
The director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algajola
0.0 mi away
Hotel Serenada
Hotel Serenada
#4 of 10 in Algajola
133 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
465 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint-Joseph
Hotel Saint-Joseph
#2 of 10 in Algajola
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ondine
Hotel L'Ondine
#5 of 10 in Algajola
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel de La Plage Les Arcades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beau Rivage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beau Rivage

Address: sur la plage d'Algajola, 20220 Algajola, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Algajola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Algajola
#1 Best Value Hotel in Algajola
#2 Romantic Hotel in Algajola
Price Range: £52 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Beau Rivage 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Beau Rivage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Beau Rivage Corsica/Algajola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing