We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough for a couple of days”
Review of Hotel L'Ondine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'Ondine
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Algajola
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed there for three nights, the room was quite small, rather dated interior, no air conditioning (fan was included). Staff was nice and helpfull, restaurant was very good, the hotel is very close to the beach. I would have liked breakfast to be included. Although available at the reception area, it would have been nice to have wifi in/at the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

A lot to like about this place. The photos don't do it justice as it is well situated and is an attractive complex. The views from the restaurant are stunning. Hotel, rooms and grounds very clean. Reception, staff and restaurant staff delightful. 2 rooms (4 people) at 7 nights with breakfast very reasonable at @1800 Euros. Ate in restaurant twice. Great setting and perfectly reasonable if unexceptional food (needs seasoning checked before leaving kitchen). Breakfast was excellent for what is a 2 star hotel.
Wi-Fi was intermittent and whilst no big deal it would be helpful to have wi-fi coverage other than just at reception. Most guests seemed to use it from business folk on laptops to folk on their smart phones.
Parking a bit tight but again no big deal. Always got parked although unpleasantness from "management" about re-parking car after I had confirmed it was ok to park where it was parked. A French car then parked there for 3 days.
We were in rooms 3 and 5. We knew before we booked that neither room had aircon but rooms were airless without it and matresses v hard/uncomfortable. Aircon thing may be, to be fair, a "British thing" in that if you are from Europe you are more accustomed to sleeping in a hot room without aircon. Suggested to hotel that aircon units could be made available for hire at extra cost?

Room Tip: If going at hotter times of year get a room with good ventilation (upper ones?) or be sure you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights,and luckily we've been out all day long apart from sleeping!!!the rooms are small,dated,not well ventilated and with no air conditioning,with not so confortable bed!and they cost too much!!!positive thing is that they are dog friendly,and at least have wifi at the reception!its a short walk from city center but there is not much to do in Algajola so i'd suggest Calvi as the best city by my oppinion for younger people who visit the north coast!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjabg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Certainly this is not a luxury hotel, but if you don't have high expectations it's the right place to spend a week in Balagne. Our room was quite clean and, despite the lack of air conditioning, we slept comfortably. Bathroom was clean too, the position of the hotel is good, just a couple of minutes on feet from the big beach of Algajola where you can also windsurf. We had half-board service and we particularly appreciated the food at dinner. Many times good fish was served and desserts were especially nice! Dinner room is just next to sea with a wonderful view at sunsets. We suggest this place to young couples or families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dogui83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

In spite of an excellent position this hotel was awful. Grubby, run down and noisy with shabby rooms with old, ill matched furniture. Grubby bed, rusty window frames, small poky and smelly bathroom with little ventilation. From the outside the rooms looked like old garages. Only air conditioning was in the bar which remained firmly shut until 6pm. Pool was virtually in the middle of a car park. Very expensive too for such poor accommodation. We will not return.

Room Tip: Some rooms had views but others looked out on noisy pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lavender20186342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Great location on sea front and nice restaurants in village. Awful hotel - rooms were dirty, smelt of damp and poo. Staff were unhelpful. We asked to be moved rooms, and were moved to another bad room. Noisy hotel, with large group of holiday makers. Hot and stuffy with no air conditioning. No terrace or balcony despite being advertised for all rooms. Rooms to avoid 54 & neighbouring. Small pool which was always full. Hotel restaurant - good breakfast but awful dinners - like being at school!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finaghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We did not stay at the hotel, but booked a table at the restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary with 6 people. We booked a table indoors to enjoy the best views over the sea. We were the only table for the whole evening, while other restaurants were overbooked. Slightly more expensive than the rest, it is justified for the quality of the food and the generous portions.

However, the service spoiled it.
1. The restaurant seems to be run by Austrian people, who did not seem to bother having an heated argument in the middle of the empty room.
2. Then we opened slightly the window to get a draft, and the waiter promptly came to tell us off because of the air conditioning. However the air conditioning unit 2 tables away was switched off. We were left sweating like roast pigs, in the heat of mid-August.
3. We met that Autrian waiter the next day swearing at people down the village for not driving along, but that seems to be OK for him when he stopped 2 blocks further down to have a chat with his friend !
Rude and taking the customer for granted. Unfortunately for the chef who did a great job, DO NOT GO THERE !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivaScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Algajola
0.1 mi away
Hotel Serenada
Hotel Serenada
#3 of 10 in Algajola
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau Rivage
Hotel Beau Rivage
#1 of 10 in Algajola
270 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pascal Paoli
Hotel Pascal Paoli
#9 of 10 in Algajola
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Escale Plage
L'Escale Plage
#8 of 10 in Algajola
111 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
468 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de La Plage Les Arcades
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Ondine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Ondine

Address: 7 A rue a Marina, 20220 Algajola, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Algajola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Algajola
#5 Romantic Hotel in Algajola
Price Range: £69 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Ondine 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel L'Ondine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Ondine Corsica/Algajola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing