We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pahalgams best kept secret! Breathtaking location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Travellers Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pahalgam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Travellers Inn
Ranked #8 of 93 Pahalgam B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Pahalgams best kept secret! Breathtaking location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is amongst my best experiences ever. The location takes the cake - single cottage on about 3 acres of green, river flowing about 200 meters in front which you can walk to, view of sprawling hills including snow clad mountains... what else can you ask when you holiday. the only sounds around are the gushing of the river and sounds of animals grazing etc. the services is impeccable. the caretaker provides you with home cooked food after checking your preferences. There are 2 rooms on the GF, with a living area, dining area. a small sit-out provides the perfect space to take in the views and sounds.
a special mention of the caretakers group headed by Irfan - when my son was unwell, they organised a tax at 9 pm, carried my son to the car, and made all arrangements to see a doc and get the medicines, very warm and genuine indeed. wonderful indeed.
Its located about 2-3 km away from the town center, just past the amusement park / hikers park. Vehicles will not get you till the cottage : you need to get off the road, walk across a bridge, a short flight of steps and then a short 200m walk to the cottage.
We had frequent power cuts during our stay; and the invertor catered only to limited lights in the cottage and not for heating (the electric bed blankets / geyser for hot water), which could be an issue.
All in all - a wonderful place, a piece of paradise! I was told by the locals that new construction is banned along this green zone, and am I glad for that.

Room Tip: its ideal to have the whole cottage to yourself, as sharing the common areas like living / dining wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unni_menon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

If you ever desired to stay on the banks of a gurgling river , pine laden slopes on one end and a pretty meadow to just stroll endlessly, then it must be Traveller's Inn Pahalgam. These were the very images I carried in my mind, and as luck would have it, the last week of April turned out to be the best time to be in Pahalgam. The last snow was just melting away, and the sun was sharp enough. Once at the cottage, there is absolutely very little reason to venture out. But as a regular tourist, we were lead into visiting Betaab Valley, Chandanwaari etc. The only thing one should do is probably experience a pony ride into the upper slopes of Pahalgam maybe.

For us, what we realized later was, that just doing a short trek into the jungle that laced the cottage was all that was needed. Living at this cottage is actually experiencing the raw beauty of Pahalgam. But Alas, I wasted the short time I had here, trying to negotiate myself into doing everything.

Irfan is the perfect host and prepares the most delectable dishes. The cottage is maintained very well too.Yasmin doles out crisp instructions for a inexperienced first timer to Kashmir.

One Earnest request is to have a RO Filter for drinking water.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

If you have ever travelled within Europe and marvelled at those solitary cottages on the vast expanse of land, Traveller's Inn is the place for you. The view from the cottage is so beautiful that words fail to describe it.
The property is located on the banks of Lidder river, 2-3 kms from the town. It is accessible from the main road via a foot bridge and a further walk of 5 min. On our arrival, we were greeted by the caretaker Irrfan who promptly carried our luggage to the cottage. While we were staying at the cottage, we preferred staying indoors as it rained heavily and the weather was extremely cold. We enjoyed playing cards and ventured occasionally for a stroll when the rains stopped. We were kept warm by a constant supply of tea and kehwa (thanks to Irrfan for that). The breakfast and dinner were simple and good. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the bathrooms had 24 hours hot running water.
Highly recommended for young travellers as the path from road to the cottage is difficult for the elderly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor of the main cottage are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonalijindal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had been to Kashmir and stayed at Travellers Inn Srinagar for first 3 days and went to Pahalgam and stayed at Travellers Inn for two nights.

It is a nice property on the banks of Liddar river, about 2 kms. away from the city centre. Car goes to the other side of the river and one has to cross a small wooden bridge on the river about 200 meter away from the place. Location is breathtakingly beautiful. The river flows with a roar here due to water flowing speedily with force. The big open land spread far away full of green grass with patches of snow skirted by the snow capped mountains completed the picture of my dream place.

We reached there in the evening, We were aware that the wooden bridge had damaged due to river flooding and excessive snowfall. The Govt. dept. had carried out repair work and the rickety bridge was put in use. The climb was bit difficult for a overweight person like me and walk was treacherous due to rainfall which normally should have stopped by second week of April. We could see and trudge through the huge chunks of snow which normally disappear by this time of the year. The land was turning green slowly and it was quite marshy with rains and slowly melting snow. Temperature was low. Rain God was not happy with us. We were greeted by chilling wind. Despite these natural odds, we were elated to see the location which we normally see in the bollywood films.

The house was warm with fire place burning. Irfaan, the caretaker of the property, a boy around 20 years of age, always smiling and prompt to help us, came to pick us up with his two friends at the other side of the bridge where we alighted from the car. He took our luggage plus held our hand while we climbed the steps of the bridge and walked on the snow and marshy patches on the way to the house. Once the ordeal of reaching the property was over, rest was just a sheer pleasure. The further work of the bridge is going on and rain would stop, so those who come after us will have a multiplied pleasure.

Since we knew that Aru and Betab Valley would be equally rainy and marshy, we preferred to be in the place chatting and singing around the fire place. However,we did not miss any sight seeing as Travellers Inn offered the spectacular view which we would get in the sight seeing.

The dinner and breakfast prepared by Irfaan was tasty. The rooms are large and they provided us with electric blankets and fire place to keep us warm. Our friends did the horse riding on the open land. In short, it was a memorable stay at Travellers' Inn.
We would love to come again.

Room Tip: Both the room of the ground floor main cottage are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjivmulye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed for only 2 nights in April and wished I had stayed longer!
I absolutely loved the peace and tranquillity of this place and cannot imagine staying anywhere else!
The views are stunning, the cottage is surrounded by mountains and the river.
The interior of the cottage is so cosy, comfortable and beautifully decorated.
In fact, I was so comfortable with the place that I just didn't want to go out for dinner. Luckily, I have hired a driver so they could go out to buy grocery and the caretaker can cook dinner for us.
I love sitting out on the porch, just breathing in the fresh air, taking in the scenery and listening to the flow of the river...
It's just amazing and I would really love to return someday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you are looking for peace, quiet and beauty, THIS is the place to be.
The cottage ison the bank of the Lidder river, 2-3 kilometers after Pahalgam town. One needs to walk for about 5-8 mins from the road head to reach the cottage. The cottage has a lovely living room and 2 bedrooms - the views from each room are stunning. Lying in bed, looking at the snow clad peaks was a delight. The vast open space (a few acres) that's part of the property was full of wild flowers when we stayed there in June. It was like a carpet of endless flowers.The gushing sounds of the river (barely half a minute walk from the door steps of the cottage) are a treat.
This isn't a 5 star property - so there's no buffet meals, no swimming pool, no gym, no discotheque and no bar. And this property beats any 5 star property for its location and exclusivity. The staff cooks whatever you request for - you need to tell them in advance what you'd like to eat. We had to tell them to go easy on the oil ! You can swim in the river - we managed to just about dip in our feet in the icy waters. Walking around the property was a treat.

Imran, one of the staff members organised a day trail for us. It was amazing to walk amongst the tall pines and visit the homes of the Gujjars. Beauty at its best. The drive to Aru valley gave us some scenic views. We so enjoyed the property that we decided to stay put there enjoying the vastness, greenery and quiet rather than taking off to the touristy attractions.
Though be warned that this location is a big hit with the locals over the weekends. The other bank of the river is alongside the road that goes to Aru. The locals flock there with their picnic baskets over weekends.
The place is more of a home than a hotel. Yasmin- the vivacious owner, has taken great pains to maintain the house despite the stringent local rules that do not permit any repairs/renovation.
This is a place where I could spend all day doing nothing. My family and I have decided to go back here soon, this time for a much longer stay with just a stack of books and no agenda.
Highly recommended!

As I write this, I realise that words don't do justice to the beauty that this property eludes.

Tip - Stock up on whatever grocery you need while you are passing through Pahalgam town as there's nothing (except peace and natural beauty) available near the cottage.

Room Tip: Every room has stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Outdoorbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Traveler’s Inn is an experience of a lifetime. Its location is probably the best in Pahalgam with river Lidder all for you. You can spend the entire day at Traveler’s Inn doing nothing, just relaxing and reading books if you wish.
The cottage we stayed in is fully furnished with two bedrooms and a common room. Our bedroom was spacious and the bathroom was clean with 24 hours hot running water.
The caretaker of the cottage, Irfan is a simple and hard working shepherd boy who takes very good care of the guests.
It’s a bed and breakfast, so you don’t get Lunch and Dinner. Irfan can get something from the market, but we preferred cup noodles for Dinner. It’s easier and much more practical.
I would recommend this property to all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rishib80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pahalgam
1.2 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#6 of 18 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 18 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#5 of 18 in Pahalgam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volga Hotel
Volga Hotel
#18 of 93 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
17.8 mi away
Hotel The Villa Himalaya
Hotel The Villa Himalaya
#1 of 15 in Sonamarg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers Inn

Property: Travellers Inn
Address: Pahalgam Aru Road, Pahalgam 192126, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers Inn is a 4 bedroom cottage located on the lush green meadows between the river Lidder and the pristine pine forests. Around 2 km from the main Pahalgam market on the Aru road, the cottage is set away from the main road and accessible by a wooden foot bridge. Ideally located away from the entire hustle bustle, it's the perfect getaway where you find yourself amidst nature and can truly enjoy all the beautiful sights Pahalgam is famous for. The cottage itself is warm and welcoming equipped with all the essentials to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Besides this the outdoor activities like long walks, Sitting by the river, going for pony rides, a trek through the forest to the famous Shikargah, bon fire at night and even a game of cricket are some of things you can experience and enjoy during your stay at the cottage. Those interested in fishing, the cottage is located on the lower Aru beat. Travellers inn is the ideal destination for both nature and adventure lovers. The staff is at your service to look after you and make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is included in the tariff and simple veg and non veg meals for dinner can be ordered. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Travellers Inn Pahalgam, Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing