We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Himalaya House
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pahalgam Hotel(Pahalgam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Woodstock(Pahalgam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Hilltop(Pahalgam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
127
103
33
18
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
103
33
18
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhot waterbeautiful gardenview from the balconysmall streamunforgettable stayexcellent locationstream flowingclean roomscomfortable staykashmiri hospitalitybeautiful placemain marketnice propertyrooms are bighotel is situatedthe snow capped mountains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked the hotel directly thru email and the owner confirmed that the stay is including breakfast. We checked in the hotel on April 08th and the manager on arrival kept asking about some voucher. When we told him that we have booked directly he seemed very perplexed and didn't bother to recheck his records. He kept on arguing that we should have brought the voucher printout. The room provided to us was quite decent. The view from the room was awesome with river flowing across it. The next morning we had breakfast the quality of food and the menu was best suited. The manager presented a bill we asked him to recheck his records that we have a room including breakfast. The manager didn't bother to check again and forced us to pay the bill. Later on we asked the owner Mr Husam to check into this, he replied saying he will check and revert back .Despite several mails he did not bother to even revert back. If the management/owner themselves are not concerned about customer experiences lest should be expected from the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AMIT10081983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan H, Owner at Hotel Himalaya House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Amit
Thank you for your feedback and we wish to clarify a two things. Firstly, as stated clearly in our email confirmation to you when you booked on behalf of your parents, all guests need to produce a print-out of the confirmation email or the voucher when checking-in. This applies whether you book directly or through a travel agency. This is a common policy of many hotels, anywhere in the world. Unfortunately, when your parents checked-in, they didn’t have that. Hence, this miscommunication.

Your booking for your parents was for one Standard room, for one night. As April was low season, I had included breakfast without any charge. On top of that, in the spirit of caring for our seniors, your parents were upgraded to a Deluxe Room as one was available. Based on your email to me after their stay, they enjoyed the facilities.

Secondly, I wish to clarify that the bill of Rs 620 (US$ 10.50) was not for breakfast, but for additional items ordered and consumed outside the breakfast menu and the outside breakfast hours. The Manager had explained to them when they checked-in that items outside breakfast menu was chargeable. They acknowledged this.

I apologize if my delay in replying to you via email marred your experience with us. I was traveling and had limited internet access. While we appreciate feedback and do our best to ensure a positive experience for our guests, we also seek guests’ cooperation and understanding of hotel policies. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had good time at Himalya House in Pahalgam. Good food, good mgmnt.
has a beautiful garden and streams of river in front.
Quality of food was more than average and service was quick.
If you hv more time in pahalgam, plan a trek of day or two and hotel arranges for u at some extra cost.
Nothing to complain as such but Rooms were not upto the mark compared to price.

Room Tip: take on the higher floors.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yuvraj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan H, Owner at Hotel Himalaya House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad that you had a good time. It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guests. Your feedback is important to us and I will discuss with the team to make improvements. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We visited this place last summer thru MakeMyTrip. The Hotel is located midst of a Valley and a river flowing by the side of the Hotel, makes it a unique destination to spend in nature. The property is very nice and the food served is very hygiene and tasty. They've a lawn/park in between the hotel and river and sitting there in the evening and enjoying Hot Tea and Pakoda's are everlasting memories. People are courteous and helpful....The three days we spent there are a great moments of our vacation....Worth visiting again....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjaligama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan H, Owner at Hotel Himalaya House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

It truly warms our heart to know that you and your family had a wonderful vacation. At the Himalaya House, we do our best to make sure our guests have happy memories. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I have visited Himalaya house two times, in summer (august) and in winter (february/march). The staff do all his best to welcome you in a very familial, nice and restfull place. Actually, it is not so far from the central market (1,5 kilometer) and you can enjoy, the garden with beautiful flowers, the proximity of Tulyan Mountains, the Betab Valley which give a first deep appreciation of the beauty of kashmir. The Kashmiri Khawa and throut fish are real delight. People working there speak both urdu and good english and are very sympathic and helpfull. I would like to recommand this hotel because I think that for the one who want to enjoy Kashmir through the place and its people : give a good and simply true overview.

Room Tip: There is heater during winter and wifi around the clock in the rooms but also the garden :) Plus affordable prices !
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikki_france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan H, Owner at Hotel Himalaya House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for being so appreciative of our Kashmirs culture and natural beauty around Pahalgam. And thank you and for choosing to stay with us again. We are indeed blessed and hope that guests feel like they are part of the Himalaya House’s family. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I hav visted the hotel in last week of nov13 with advance confirmed booking .When I reached at hotel nobody at reception after 10minutes person came & told me our hotel is not operational if you want to stay u can but ''we haven't water in toilels & no dinner arrangements''. I have booked a super deluxe room but every thing is like hell very poorly managed hotel. Sugesstion to friends & future vistors avoid from any cheating..

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Rakeshanjana77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassan H, Owner at Hotel Himalaya House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Sir
We wish to clarify the following. When you booked your one-night stay via phone, BEFORE your arrival, the Manager had clearly stated that services would be limited. as we were closing down for winter. Water was still available. The Manager also shared our restaurant would be closed as the kitchen staff have gone away for the season. Your answer was – It was not a problem and that you “can accept that.” Despite the Manager being upfront with the situation before accepting your booking, alas, we didn’t meet your expectation.


We hope that guests, especially first time visitors to Kashmir, please take into account that our winter conditions. Most hotels here will start closing by November and will reopen in early March.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews