We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic ...”
Review of Pahalgam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pahalgam Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Pahalgam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The Hotel is conveniently located in the city, well maintained gardens and good view, but what irritates the hell out of you is the staff Nd the attitude , specially the front desk staff.....I was there for a night and a smart front desk kid tried to sell a standard room in the old wing, possibly 250 sq ft room as a deluxe suite , upon cross questioning him he admitted that it was a standard room and finally offered me a standard room rate..... But this seemed to be something which happens on a regular basis as this guy , even after being caught red handed was not apologetic about the entire incident....

Ensure you book rooms in the new wings which are larger and refurbished.

The resort only offers a all meal inclusive rates, which is good since not too many good restaurants in the city , but be make sure you don't have any specific preferences and eat everything, anything apart from standard buffet, even It meals a that you would want to have the dish on the buffet with less spices is turned down POINT BLANK ....

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Prania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troutbeat, Manager at Pahalgam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Sir we are a heritage hotel & spread out in various blocks with 02 Double rooms in the centre & 02 Suites on the corners on all floors in every block hence the question of someone selling you a Double instead of a Suite seems rather impossible as it is obvious to anyone who has stayed in our hotel ( Suite has a separate living room & is almost twice the size of a Double room ) If you could reconfirm your dates of check in, the name under which you got your registration done with your email id we would verify the facts with the room no allotted to your good self. As for food we cater to large no of children everyday & we have kids menu without chilly available on request at the counter which could not have been refused however extra items besides the regular/ kids menu are not available as we make everything fresh & do not keep any gravy etc as is the normal practise in hotels/ restaurants .We do however agree that your complaints could have been handled on spot if you had got them to our notice then & there only. We would still request your good self to visit us again & give us a chance so that you carry cherished memories of Pahalgam & the hotel!
Manager Operations
Muzaffar Nazir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

We reached Hotel Pahalgam in the evening 6th May 2012 as a part of family Kashmir tour. Temperature was 4 to 5 degree and we were feeling very cold. We were pleased by warm welcome, it was real WARM as they gave hot water for getting freshen and enjoyment started from here. The room was also nice and surprisingly, it was bigger than expected. Further shocked by noticing that our room was having balcony.We could see around. The surrounding was very good, back side, there was mountain covered with ice, it was raining in between. There was stream of water coming from mountain, i could not stop myself, the same was the case with my wife and kids and got down and thrilled to touch water,it was colder than ice. We had dinner with hot pokada etc and food was simply great. We got up early in morning and astonished by atmosphere. We had bought cricket bat during the journey. We decided to play cricket and enjoyed a lot. It was great fun to play cricket there. Stay was memorable and we will not forget in whole life.

Room Tip: Get room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadhuriPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hi

We had a wonderful / superb / fabulous / bestest 3-nights stay at Hotel Pahalgam during our recent Kashmir trip & I am delighted to say that it is not just the finest property in Pahalgam but also one of the finest world-wide.

We had booked a suite room for ourselves (couple+infant) and the adjacent room for our parents. The room had beautiful view of the Lidder river, the mountains & the landscape was just too amazing.

The package included all meals & we just did not regret it one bit. The restaurant served delicious meals and there was hardly any repetition. The menu was creative & food yummy. The restaurant staff was very pleasing & attentive. This was the best service & hospitality we have experienced ever. (Pls note that they also have high-chair for babies).

Next and top of the chart comes their room service. Our room attendant Shabbir was truly impressive. He would bring us the morning & evening tea (on the house) as well as took care of all our room service needs. He also got us timely meals, specially cooked, for my infant daughter. He was exceptional & I think his attitude & ever-smiling service made this our best stay ever. (Delighted to share that the hotel did not charge us a penny for my 22-months daughter's food throughout the 3 days stay!).

The hotel also assisted us with cab arrangements from the nearby taxi-stand for local sight-seeing. The location of the hotel is fabulous too. Close to the main shopping street on the front side and still so serene, beautiful & tranquil on the inside. They also have nice lawns for relaxing & kids' playing.

There was absolutely nothing we had to complain about. We have traveled world over & this has been one of our best stay ever. Everyone in the family were overjoyed & just did not want to leave hotel Pahalgam!

Room Tip: River facing rooms with quick access to the lawns. The first floor rooms have a better view than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank willseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The finest thing about the hotel is Food, be it Indian or continental.

Location : Hotel is centrally located with Main Market on the east and Lidder river on the west.

Rooms : Rooms are basic, with a verandah sitout on the front, LCD, centrally heated, electric blankets, wardrobe and adequate comfort to protect yourself from cold. They offer interconnecting rooms if you are travelling as a group.Rooms on the corner are individual and not interconnected. All the rooms have a decent view, however rooms on the first floor would be marginally better. Suite rooms are more spacious but does not differ in terms of amenities. Toiletries are of local make, and suggest you carry your own. Washrooms are equipped with bathtubs and has good supply of hot water. The rooms are made of wood, hence are poorly lit despite of lights.

Amenities : The hotel offers a gym (chargeable), table tennis, Pool (seasonal). They have a private lounge if you are in a group and want to party separately. Although liquor is prohibited in this area, could see hotel arranging it for some guests in the private lounge.

Service : Each unit has its own dedicated set of butlers (about 3 of them) which makes the service impeccable. Same level of service is maintained at restaurant. Although front desk executives are barbaric and need some training.

Hotel Mountview vs Hotel Pahalgam : Having stayed at Hotel Mount view in previous year, it was a difficult choice to try Pahalgam hotel, however this hotel beats Hotel Mountview by a margin. Mountview suite has the best view in Pahalgam but lacks in amenities food and services, This hotel has a good view, very good food and prompt service.

Room Tip: All rooms have are front facing towards lidder river, rooms on first floor right most corner have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dhaval_FFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Cosy, comfortable, clean, very scenic and above all good food. The staff is extremely polite and helpful, whether they be room attendants or in the dining room. If they can do anything to please you, they will go out of their way. You get a sense of generosity emanating from somewhere and I feel it can only be from the owners of the property because at the end of the day somebody has to pay for it. The staff can do only that much or more depending on what the owners believe in. My first visit to the hotel was in 1974 and the last in 2011, interspersed with a dozen visits in between those years.

Room Tip: Any room facing the Lidder river is good. Corner suites are large, though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed in this hotel in October 2012 and I must say this was the best experience so far for me.
Awesome location, Awesome view from the room we got, Awesome room (clean and cosy).
The best part of this hotel is the food, great quality food and awesome for your taste buds. I would like to thank Mr. Khan for that.
Must visit, Even I would visit as many times as I can.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AashiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

we stayed in this hotel for three days in April. the views are amazing, food is great but the best is the trout fish that is served on special order or you can have it by going out. try the almond trout and tandoori trout if you want the fish dry or masala trout if gravy is what u want. the satff is very helpful but the management is very heady. remember to get the credit card swiped the moment u check in otherwise if it is not working then they will make u read the notice board. good rooms, central heating. Again the views are just amazing. the restaurant staff is very helpful though the food and water is expensive.

Room Tip: take rooms facing the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 22 in Pahalgam
626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
2.9 mi away
Kolahoi Green Resorts Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pine Spring
Hotel Pine Spring
#8 of 22 in Pahalgam
289 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#5 of 22 in Pahalgam
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Resorts Pahalgam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahalgam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahalgam Hotel

Address: Pahalgam 192126, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Anantnag District > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range: £237 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahalgam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pahalgam - the valley of shepherds is situated at a height of 7200 ft and about 100 kms from Srinagar (nearest access to the airport) sprawling amidst the confluence of River Lidder, Pahalgam is Kashmir's most popular & picturesque resort. Pahalgam hotel and Pahalgam are synonymous, established in 1931 and spread in about 2 acres, the hotel has acquired a name for its rejuvenating ambiance, hospitality and a wholesome tasty cuisine. There are 20 suites and 25 double bedrooms located in different blocks, with a splendid view of the River Lidder and snow-clad mountains. Filmgoers recognize the hotel instantly as it has been very popular with the industry - a number of movies have been shot in the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pahalgam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahalgam Hotel Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing