We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The hotel is like a highlight reel, everything was perfect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pahalgam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pahalgam Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pahalgam
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The hotel is like a highlight reel, everything was perfect....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

The entrance to the hotel can be a bit misleading, but trust me, once you've moved away from the really small reception, and the adjoining dining area, you'll be a lot more at ease. First things first, this is not what you would call a 'Modern Hotel', and I dont think they strive to behave like one either. This is a quaint hotel, with an old world charm. You wont find anything fancy here, the rooms are simple, but comfortable. The bathroom is small, and functional. We had 2 rooms, 1 suite-B, and the room below it. The suite had a small sitting area, with a television and a great view of the Lidder river from the first floor. The room on the ground floor, also had a small enclosure outside the room with a sofa and large windows that offer a great view of the river.

The hotel had a lush green lawn, dotted with tables and chairs, where you could spend the entire day just sitting in the sun. If peace and quiet is what you want, this is the place. We loved everything about the hotel. The food was superb, we had all our meals at the hotel. Its an idyllic location, wish we had spent more time at this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yshringi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    156
    25
    10
    6
See reviews for
249
129
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamshedpur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

I, Jasmine Adesara, stayed at your hotel in Suite A, where checked in on 1st march 2013 and checked out on 3rd march.Our booking is under the name of Manish Adesara. I did call the reception boy to tell them about the pathetic and terrible room conditions that you are providing. I had specially called him to show him the muddy water that was coming in the Bath tub. I got absolutely irritated when he told me that the water was absolutely fine to take a bath. Later I showed him the Suite Room and complained of all that was wrong in the room:-

1) falling paint on top of the bed in the bedroom of the Suite.

2) electrical wires which are not concealed

3) broken commode in the toilet

4) stinking smell in the Toilet which will not go even after spraying room fresheners.

5) broken chain kept in the bedroom

6) unfixed window furniture from which my daughter fell thinking it to be fixed and safe.

7) the dressing mirror where the screw heads are visible and looks untidy

8) very old and dirty carpet in the bedroom portion of the Suite

9) broken side table in the living area of the Suite.

10) I also told that I wanted to use the Games room which was locked to play with my children the day before but no one took care of that.

11) pathetic condition of the ceiling of both the bedroom and living area of the Suite.

The travellers who are reading this must know the fact all this problems and bad conditions of Hotel Pahelgam are of one single stay in one single Suite room.
I forgot to mention the greedy staff that always wanted tips for any services provided.

After showing all these drawbacks to the reception boy, he told me that the authorities do not let them maintain the rooms and they are helpless about it.
This reply encouraged me to check out an similar property and so after checkout on 3rd March, we went for lunch to another Hotel named Senator Pine and Peak, and I requested the boy at the reception to show me the rooms. I was amazed to see the difference between the two. This property had polished ceilings, no broken chairs, no broken comode, no cracks on the walls, no wires visible in the room walls and ceilings, clean and no stinking bathrooms. There was polished and fixed furniture ,walls well painted and everything was well maintained and clean.

So the conclusion is that there is no justification in the reply of the management of Hotel Pahelgam about the terrible state in which we had to stay.

I suggest all Travellers to check their rooms before checking in and take a note of all the bad experiences we faced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank jasmineCooL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night.we had booked rooms through Distantholidays and innova car through Oscar tours and travels.both of them are very good.

SERVICE - very good
FOOD - is simply outstanding.be it breakfast, lunch or dinner.The chef here is from mumbai and exactly knows the taste of mumbaikars.expert in punjabi and gujrati cuisine. buffet dinner/lunch is 600 INR. so I suggest.one should opt for all meals.The food here was the best in our entire kashmir trip.

VALUE,SLEEP QUALITY,CLEANLINESS - GOOD.The rooms are small. Suite rooms are twice the size of double bed rooms.The rooms are centrally heated,but heater is not that effective.so they provided us with additional heater and hot water coronation bags.Bathrooms are big enough and clean,centrally heated but the heating here was negligible. They provide a proper folding bed for the additional person in the room.

LOCATION -Centrally located and is easily accessible.the view from most of the rooms is good.A1,corner suite has the best view.

.special thanks to Mr.Sayyed and Mr. Mudassir.


Thank you all for making it a memorable stay for our family.

Distantholidays- Samir Manzoor-09796999943

Oscar-Irshad Bashir-09906707573

pls note, i am in no way affiliated to distantholidays or oscar.Due to curfew,no driver was willing to come.so Irshadbhai,CEO,came to pick us at the airport and took us for sightseeing.

We did not have booking vouchers of any hotels due to curfew.We had only paid booking amount,We paid the whole amount after our tour completed.but still no hotel asked for payment nor there was any compromise in service. Distantholidays have earned their reputation.

Room Tip: opt for A1, for suite B1 for double bed room. both are exactly opposite each other on the 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enthudoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucknow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Pahalgam hotel has every thing going for it with a grand panoramic view of the mountains with the Lidder river silver-streaking across.We stayed for five nights and found the food buffets interesting and the hospitality and staff very courteous.The rooms were not so well lit (they hv power problems) but more than make up with their attached sit out with its enormous windows so you can sit and soak in the sun and the view without being blown away by the wind( it did get very windy everyday after 4 pm in October).However going to the dining room at night was bit of a task as most of the cottages are not connected to the main area where the restaurant is....getting into coats and caps in order to eat was like working for your dinner!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anshoobajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

The stay was very pleasant and we could relax very comfortably in this hotel... The rooms are quite average and the bathrooms are dim and gloomy... but clean.
The sit out faces the valley and that is a site where you would like to sit and relax for hours over a cup of tea...The soft sound of the river flowing throughout really relaxes you and connects you to the nature.
The only annoying thing about Pahalgam Hotel ( For that matter most of kashmir) is people stay on your head for tips and they want very generous ones but at the same time service is great.
The food was fantastic.. even the continental food...
One should stay at Hotel Pahalgam in Pahalgam for a chilling holiday.
Aru valley is pretty but missable (if time constraints are there)... In 2-3 days the whole valley starts looking the same...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

want the best it should be pahalgam hotel, the best one only for the best , hospitality, food, rooms, atmosphere, rivers water sound, the curtsey of staff, guest is god, means it, stay at least for 3 nights, spend time near river with your romantic thoughts and romantic one

Room Tip: room to be taken at river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jksugars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

I had gone to Kashmir after so many years and it looked the same.I had gone there when i was a kid with my family and i really wanted to go again, so decided to visit with my better half.I had booked my self on the internet and decided to go to the same hotel i visited with my parents."Wow" wat en experiene, we booked a suite and it had that old time charm with an amazing view of the river Lidder.The food was exotic, lot of variety and let me not forget the service was just outstanding.The staff makes you feel soo comfortabl.Pahalgam Hotel is a property not to be missed if ever you visit kashmir.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adil9911224255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pahalgam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
Hotel Heevan Pahalgam
#4 of 18 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Senator Pine-n-Peak Pahalgam
1.5 mi away
Hotel Himalaya House
Hotel Himalaya House
#6 of 18 in Pahalgam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#5 of 18 in Pahalgam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Mumtaz Resorts Pahalgam
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradise Inn
Hotel Paradise Inn
#16 of 18 in Pahalgam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pahalgam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pahalgam Hotel

Property: Pahalgam Hotel
Address: Pahalgam, Pahalgam 192126, India
Region: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Pahalgam
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Pahalgam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pahalgam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pahalgam - the valley of shepherds is situated at a height of 7200 ft and about 100 kms from Srinagar (nearest access to the airport) sprawling amidst the confluence of River Lidder, Pahalgam is Kashmir's most popular & picturesque resort. Pahalgam hotel and Pahalgam are synonymous, established in 1931 and spread in about 2 acres, the hotel has acquired a name for its rejuvenating ambiance, hospitality and a wholesome tasty cuisine. There are 20 suites and 25 double bedrooms located in different blocks, with a splendid view of the River Lidder and snow-clad mountains. Filmgoers recognize the hotel instantly as it has been very popular with the industry - a number of movies have been shot in the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Pahalgam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pahalgam Hotel Kashmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing