We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value - pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value - pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

I booked a 2 night 'stay and dine on us' deal online for myself, my husband and 12 year old son, for a little break and so we could visit family. We had previously stayed at a 'Village hotel' but as they have time restrictions for children in their pool, and they were more expensive for a similar deal, we booked for here!!! After reading some of the reviews on this site I did have a few concerns but I always like to make my own judgements as we all have differing expectations. We arrived @2 pm - check in was advertised as 3 pm - and our room was already ready. Very speedy check-in as I had signed up as a'priority member' whilst booking. Room was a fair trek from reception but no real hassle for us. It was fairly spacious and yes, maybe in need of some cosmetic updating, and yes it did have a CRT tv ( shock horror!!!!!), but basically was well-equipped and comfortable with plenty of storage and plug sockets. My son thought his extra bed was mega comfortable!! Ours was a bit hard but did manage to source comfy pillows like advertised!!! The pool was small but clean and if you visited at certain times was fine and not too busy. Used the sauna and steam room too. Hubby used the gym - which he found quite adequate. All staff we came across were most helpful and knowledgable throughout our stay. Breakfast was fantastic - good choice and range of foods. A good set-up for the day. We dined on our second evening, which was curry night, and pleased that it was included in our 'stay and dine' offer. Very nice and plentiful.
We opted for 'breakfast check out ' which after a minor hiccup was done very efficiently whilst we ate our breakfast.
All in all a very pleasant stay for us all. Good location too.
It may not be the 'Ritz' , but neither does it claim to be. A good functional hotel from our point of view. Thank you

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for the great review following your stay with us. We were pleased that you received great service throughout your stay and that you were happy with the facilities that the hotel has to offer. It was good to hear that you made use of the complementary leisure club facilities and that you also enjoyed all your meals throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    238
    209
    82
    69
See reviews for
139
204
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Selston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great hotel near to the motorway which is easy to find. Reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms were roomy; spacious and clean. Bar area is nice and a patio to sit out if warm. There's a bus stop 2 mins away to catch the 163 or 169 to Leeds centre, which we did to watch a show. The swiming pool is great too - a nice steam room and gym too. I slept really well with no noise, despite being two wedding parties in the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic, the usual fruits, cereals, pastries or full breakfast. Check out was quick and no problem. Overall a great stay. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selstonion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments following your recent stay with us we are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities we have here at the hotel. As you commented we are in an ideal location just minutes away from the motorway network and are within easy reach of Leeds city centre too. We have full leisure facilities as well as restaurant and bar and we are glad you made use of the facilities whilst staying with us. Thanks again for your great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed here on business in July 12, the room was terible and the carpet had not been cleaned for weeks, there was hair and wedding debris all over. The overall decor and finish is so dated I'm surprised Intercontinental Hotels allow the franchise. When I complained about the cleaniness and location of the room (on the stairs) they said thank you for letting us know, not anything else. I am a loyalty member of this group of hotels and this has to be one of the worst I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Don't bother staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 925Russell925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your stay and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. It is always a great shame to hear that our guests have not had an enjoyable stay. The cleanliness of our rooms is of upmost importance to us and we can only apologise at this late stage for the problems you encountered, please be assured that this is very untypical of the usual high standards we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Well what can I say... This hotel is truly awful... I booked this room quite late and arrived around 7pm and was greeted by a Rude receptionist on check-in. When I mentioned I was a platinum member and could I possibly be upgraded to a executive room, her words" you be lucky mate" which I found extremely rude! She said as I was a platinum member she would provide me with arenovated room.. Hardly... This was room 37 which I believe hadn't been cleaned as the bed sheets appeared creased and dirty with hairs on the pillows and there was old tissue and an empty tampon plug in the bin! Even the free wifi which you get complimentary was slow and kept losing connection.. Please do not listen to the management comments on other reviews.. This hotel is ghastly.. The only positive to come from this stay was the restaurant buffet curry night was good. One word sums it up... AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piers T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
We have read your review which was of great disappointment to us and are extremely surprised that the issues you have raised with Reception and your room were not flagged up to our Duty Manager either whilst you stayed with us or when checking out of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We only stayed here one night fortunately and got quite a cheap deal. The hotel doesn't look too bad from the outside and the reception and bar area looked quite nice but as we went down the corridors towards our room if got shabbier and shabbier. When we got to our room, there was a police officer and a forensic team in the room a few doors down which didn't fill us with confidence!!

The room was ok but the bathroom was dirty with lots of mould in the bath and the shower was literally a trickle.We were going to eat in the restaurant but the prices were absolutely extortionate, £15 to £16 for a basic main course. So we went to Pizza Express and had a lovely meal.

Sleeping was impossible in the room as the bed was rock hard and all you could hear all night was people coughing in the next room, a baby crying, people coming back to their rooms shouting and banging around. We hardly slept all night, I was actually glad when it started to get light! I wouldn't recommend this hotel even if you can get a cheap deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Our aim is for all our guests to have an enjoyable stay with us and so we are concerned to hear of your experience and will certainly take your feedback on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Where to start, i got offered this for 2 nights at £100...what a bargain i thought i mean it had a Jacuzzi, sauna, pool, and free parking, what more could i want for a nice stay when i'm down to watch the football?. We found it well, the location was quite good however the front of the building has clearly never had a facelift since it has been made. We was greeted by kids running throughout the hotel due to a wedding function also that night. As we approached the check in we was "greeted" by the Duty manager....whom did not speak a word of English, asked us to go to anther computer, where he tapped it to look like he was doing work however just left us standing there until another staff member came out.

The first problem came when the receptionist asked for payment. This had already been paid however she was adamant that the room had not been paid for (even though my bank statement proved it had been taken). In sted of accepting she was wrong she told us that she would "get to the bottom of it before we left".

We was given room 123....a room that was on the first floor (no lifts), upon walking to the room we passed the Pool, there was no Jacuzzi unlike in the hotel guide, also it was clear the photo had been photo-shopped, this pool was tiny, 1.2 meters deep maximum and if you had 7 people in it you would be cramped.

As we approached the room we entered the "sleep zone" which was littered with empty or half empty beer glasses, food that had been left on trays (we checked in at 8pm so this was well past breakfast time), designed to be quiet however the constant kids running down the hallway was clearly not part of this "sleep" zone.

The room's smell instantly hit us, wet...mold...horrid, so much that the air con just gave it more of a warm smell. The pillows were labeled "soft" and "firm" however you couldnt tell them apart as they are both so flat it just hurts to lay on them. With constant noise from outside, leaky taps, a plug that never worked and housekeeping trying to clean your room every 10 minutes even if your not checking out, the place was a nightmare. The room also was tiny, so small that you tripped over the bed in the room!

to top it off, 5am on checkout day we had a bill under our door, once again asking for payment....


Goodbye Holiday Inn Garforth, you almost ruined my weekend, thank god leeds won 4-0.

Room Tip: dont pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay and we are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Please accept our apologies for the confusion regarding your payment, we will be carrying out some retraining with our team to ensure that this situation does not arise again.
Unfortunately as the trip advisor reviews are anonymous we are unable to see how your booking was made, but if you check our hotel website there is no mention of a Jacuzzi. We do however have a swimming pool, steam room, sauna and full equipped gym facilities that are available at no charge to all our guests.
We did have several wedding parties in over the last few days and whilst that does not excuse the noisy children, we do try to minimise to disruption to other guests wherever possible.
Once again we apologise that you were disappointed with your room and overall stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed there Saturday night for a function. The welcome at reception was very good and the hotel public areas were very clean & tidy. They do need more than one receptionist when busy. Had to wait while receptionist dealt with telephone queries.
We had booked room over 2 months earlier once we had been invited to the function. I rang the hotel 3 weeks earlier to pay for the room so we could receive the early discount. Unfortunately they had been a problem with authorisation but nobody from the hotel had contacted us. We then had to pay for room on the night but we had only brought a limited amount of cash with us. I wish we had been informed of the non payment so we could have paid early and not have everything to pay that weekend.
We had booked an Executive Room for 2 adults & 2 children. On entering the room was very disappointed with size. The sofa bed had been made up but this meant that there was no space. Not great when 4 of you trying to get ready for a night out. The bathroom was tiny and not very clean. Hairs on the tap in the bathroom and thick dust on tissue dispenser.
Bathroom scales in bathroom with no battery and to use the kettle you had to move it to a different table so you could reach the plug!
The room bar had 3 items missing but only came with 1 bottle of beer or one white wine. If both adults liked same drink - tough!
I had to ask reception for another pillow as they had only supplied one pillow for the 2 children sharing the double sofa bed.
The information supplied is poor. No information about pool or gym hours and no information on how to log into hotel wifi. Probably available at reception but receptionist always busy. This kind of information should be in the room.
TV needs updating can not believe in this day & age no Freeview!
I do hae to say the food and the service at the function was very good. We really enjoyed the evening. On arrival to hotel we did have a sandwich in the bar which again was beautiful.
However, after the evening do we went to relax in the hotel bar. the barman Chris seemed fed up! I ordered 3 drinks but he would serve the first drink then ask what 2nd one was then what the 3rd one was. Never smiled. When I made a comment about being cooler in the bar he ignored me. Then when he gave me my change 2 coins fell on floor. When he walked round from behind the bar I thought it was to pick up the money he had dropped (I had a short dress on so did not want to bend down) but no, he just walked off passed reception!!!
I can not see this hotel getting 4 stars if it was assessed at the current state. I hate to think what a standard room would be like compared to our "Executive".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazzyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manag, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here, we welcome all feedback as it is a great way of improving our hotels service and facilities. We are sorry to hear of your experience which is very unusual as you can see from the positive comments from our guests about the hotel and the great service. We most certainly will be emphasizing the issues your raised with our team to prevent any re-occurance. On a positive note, we are pleased that both the food and service were of a high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garforth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
1.1 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth

Property: Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Address: Wakefield Road, Garforth, Leeds LS25 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Garforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth Hotel Garforth
Holiday Inn Garforth
Garforth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing