We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired, Shabby and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tired, Shabby and Dirty”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile


Reception was welcoming - and I was upgraded to an executive room.

Lounge and bar areas have been recently refurbished , and are by far the nicest part of the hotel.

The corridors to the rooms are dark and shabby - with lots of stairs -down 3 sets then up 2? There are several wheelchair hoists - but it would take an age to navigate through them all.

The room itself was OK - much nicer than the standard room I stayed in last time, but didn't compare with executive rooms in other Holiday Inns.

The pool was closed to guests when I tried to go for a swim - there was a ladies aqua size class in progress....

Food was good - but room service was expensive (£24 for Burger, Chips, Garlic Bread and a Pint).


My early morning call at 630 was the sound of a vacuum cleaner in the room above me... A bit early to start the cleaning my opinion.

Breakfast was excellent - hot and a good selection.

Check out was poor - I think the receptionist was new (and had no support). I originally received the wrong bill (4 times the cost of mine).
I had to wait 10 mins whilst it was sorted - and another 10 mins when I returned to get the car park code..

All in all, not a fantastic experience

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank No1WelshFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear No1WelshFamily,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    238
    209
    82
    69
See reviews for
139
204
33
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton , East Sussex
Level Contributor
107 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Room was disappointing , not very clean, bathroom needs to be decorated and updated. The TV must be the oldest I have seen for a long time with poor picture quality. When I arrived at 5.30pm there were numerous room service plates outside rooms along the corridor . Bar staff were good but only one person on , so long line on people waiting to get served. Bed was uncomfortable and not a good night sleep, did mention this when checking out but just got a blank stare.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear rhodesiabill,

Thank you for your review. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the room accommodations and service received at the hotel bar. I have taken note of these issues and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We would hope that you would give us another chance to meet your expectations next time and to provide you with a wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile



It is with sincerest regret that I write this complaint, but I have to state that from start to finish my recent stay at holiday inn in Garforth was extremely unenjoyable to say the least.
Upon booking the room the person taking my details was an embarrassment to the business to say the least, she was incapable of taking my correct details which result in my booking being under Beverley Craven even I I had repeatedly stated my name , I had to repeat myself frequently throughout the entire booking to the point it became exasperating. This does not give any hotel a good impression.I was also talked into some Rewards scheme however I am still unclear as to how I benefited from it as it was not explained, nor did I see any example of any "rewards" throughout my stay.
Upon arrival I told the receptionist that my name was not Beverley, to which I received a snort!
I was then given a key for my room which did not work and after several tries I gave up and trailed my heavy bags to the nearest phone to get help. The young lady who helped me stated that in fact the key I had been given "did not work!". This did not get my stay off to a relaxing start!
I found the room disappointing especially at £49(even thought the website stated it was £44-yet another frustrating area during my conversation upon booking) and unfortunately was not as clean as one would naturally expect, countless hairs in the bathroom, and a bath that was filled had some kind of tape or packaging floating around in the bath that I had to empty and refill.
I ordered room service where upon I was served cold chips, my husband later ordered room service and commented that's chips were also cold. Needless to say we didn't eat them. The next point indeed maybe deemed as trivial but I must say that the hair dryer provided in the rooms is useless and gave my thumb cramp! Most in-affective and irritating to say the least, surely at your prices a more advanced and user friendly hair dryer could be provided. Trivial I know, but added on to the other issues it was yet another factor.
As soon as I woke up I left to go home, extremely disappointed and irritated instead of refreshed and relaxed. I did not wish to speak to any staff member about my experience, I simply wanted to leave as I was so upset.
I find complaining such a waste of time and energy however I was presented the "dear guest" letter at reception which clearly implies you care about your clients experience.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Emily C,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Leeds.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level Contributor
145 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. Getting into the hotel car park is the first difficult bit as there is no lighting to guide you to the entrance of the car park. If approaching from the M62 side you will see the Holiday Inn sign ahead and to your right, keep going past the hotel and go to the roundabout to do a 360 and head back to the hotel which will then have the entrance to your left.

Checking in was ok and I was assigned room 180. This proved to be a long long way away (not quite in a different time zone but it may have a different postcode) from reception. If you have heavy luggage and or mobility issues you will struggle to get to the higher number rooms. To get to the room there are numerous flights of stairs and no lifts (except for wheelchair lifts for small stairs).

The room itself was an absolute joke. 1. This was supposed to be a double room but actually had a single bed with another half a single bed tacked onto it. Totally unsuitable for a couple to sleep on. 2. The heating such as it was consisted of a hot water pipe running through the room and air blow heating which was incredibly noisy and didn't work even when I turned it up to 27 degrees. 3. Dated CRT TV with poor channel selection. 4. No laptop safe. 5. Absolutely dismal lighting which was certainly not good enough to read by and the light by the door randomly turned itself off and on.

The bar was ok and not overpriced. I ordered pizza on the first night which frankly was not very good and came with an unexpected extra topping of tomatoes which I didn't want and hadn't asked for. The toppings I had asked for were smothered with so much cheese that I couldn't actually tell what was what. It really shouldn't be too hard to make a pizza correctly.

On the second night I tried the beef chilli which was actually really nice (must have been a different chef). However, the bar ran out of most draught beers and the staff were either unwilling or unable to change barrels which shouldn't exactly be too hard for bar staff to perform.

Breakfast was ok with a reasonable selection of items although the croissants were too small and overcooked. On my second morning I was asked to sign for my breakfast -why? I guess it was just to make the waiter happy.

Checkout presented another issue when I needed to have the address changed on the invoice. The receptionist told me that it couldn't be done. Presumably this was because she didn't want to be bothered with the hassle. It turned out that it was very easily possible to change the address as it is easily possible to do so at evey other Holiday Inn I've ever stayed at.

Overall put this hotel down as an avoid unless you like poor service and poor cold rooms which take an age to get to.

Room Tip: Ask for lower number rooms as they are easier to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Des_Gruntled,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst working in local area.

It is in a great location for motorway and very easy to find with or without a sat nav.

Room: The room itself was ok but slightly dated. Daft things like old fashioned box tv instead of flatscreen but that is nothing major.

Bathroom: I created seperate heading for this as it was very poor. It is requiring money spent on it urgently. Mouldy silicon all round bath, not hot water in morning but I had good temperature at 6pm both nights. Please fix this as it puts me off coming back.

Bar: Bar manager was very helpful and the selection of beer was excellent. (Becks, Stella, Strongbow, Guiness and Boddingtons all on draught)

Wifi: Not the greatest but better than a lot of hotels as I could get a reasonable connection in room.

Restaurant: Bit slow for service as it took 50 mins for main meal to come but food was ok.

Reception: Very helpful and done good job.

Overall it was not bad stay, just a shame about bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rangersgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear rangersgary,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. I certainly appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Thank you again for your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We got a really good price on this hotel as a last minute deal.

The hotel is quite standard but has all of the basics expected. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The fitness and swimming facilities were good.

We have since unfortunately fallen out with Holiday Inn due to extremely poor customer service prior to another hotel we stayed in. If you do experience any issues, don't expect them to resolve it or even apologise.

This hotel however was good and we didn't need to complain about anything. We really enjoyed the breakfast and our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JW099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelios, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed hear for the new years eve gala night last year and a wonderful time food and everything, but unfortunately this time new year 2013 we were looking forward to the evening but the food was terrible, and very small the 3 roast potatoes were warmed up and the veg was so hard it was uneatable, if it wasn't for the people on the next table it would have been a total wash out plus children running around at breakfast in there night clothes. The breakfast was very good as we were very hungry not even any biscuits in the room only tea and coffee, I hope this will change as I think they will be loosing a lot of custom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear christinelaine,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I apologize for the areas that we may have fallen short particularly with the quality of food items that was served during dinner. Your review is very important to us which will help us improve our service and products for each guest. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garforth
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
1.1 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Leeds East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds East Hotel
5.7 mi away
Leeds Marriott Hotel
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
1,946 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth

Property: Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Address: Wakefield Road, Garforth, Leeds LS25 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Garforth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Garforth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth Hotel Garforth
Holiday Inn Garforth
Garforth Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing