We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lord Gascoigne

Lord Gascoigne
Ranked #15 of 16 Restaurants in Garforth
Price range: US$2 - US$17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Hungry Horse LS251PX
leeds
1 review
“Not for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Staff were fantastic but the food...habanero sauce on burger was like and tasted of tomato ketchup, steak ordered med well came well well done. Ordered some baby food which came hotter than boiling water! Not coming back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 04061976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    36
    40
    16
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“definate yes to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

After eating at this restaurant, I must write to praise the company and staff for providing us(my wife and four children and myself) a wonderful experience, when we called in for a meal, it was a thursday so after looking at the menu we chose to have the ribs as they are part of the Daily Deal, the children had a great time choosing their meals and between them had sliders ribs nd hot dogs, all were eagerly awaited. In no time our food arrived all hot and freshly cooked, served by a lovely young girl who came back and checked if everything was ok, and asked if we needed anything else, I don't know what has changed but its cleaner fresher and the staffs attitude is a credit to all, we will definately return. Next time we'll leave room for dessert!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johan789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Up your game.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Shocking, never have I been to somewhere as drab. Not Bad if you're using it as a venue before Leeds, but for a meal. No thankyou.
Don't accommodate atall to allergies due to 'stock levels' and when confronted the bar staffs response was 'we're a pub not a rester aunt'
Tables never get wiped, bar in inches full of dried up beer. Needs a good clean and some caring staff!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This could/should be way better :-(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We come here most weeks as it's close and is the easy option. However as the Miner's, next door, has recently upped its game, our New Years resolution is to go there from now on. Yes the gascoigne will still be good in the summer with its fab garden, but the increasing 'Don't give a monkeys' attitude of the bar staff and kitchen is enough to put us off at least until the sun comes out.

Helpful?
2 Thank Originaltigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quick tea with the kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We come here fairly often with the kids for tea and if you're just after a burger or something with chips it's fine and does the job. Came last night and enjoyed what we had, chicken skewers, gammon and eggs and hot dogs, clean plates all round. The only gripe I have with this pub is the men's toilets which are often so disgusting my little boy insists I take him to the ladies instead!! Not good in any pub but especially not one that serves food!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Storrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lord Gascoigne also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Lord Gascoigne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing