We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven ! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Fermes de Florence
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came to France from Los Angeles for or honeymoon. We can't believe how gorgeous this property was. The landscape is just unreal! So calm, peaceful, and really just heavenly! The cottage itself was extremely well thought out , comfortable, and beautiful inside. I also can not stress enough that the hosts Jean and Florence were beyond welcoming! They gave us everything we needed, welcomed us for coffee in the morning, gave fantastic recommendations in the area, (even finding me, a vegetarian, one of the best restaurants nearby, which is hard to do in some parts of France ;) ) and they assisted us with planning the rest of our trip even after we had checked out! Very kind! It you want to get away from it all and enjoy he beautiful natural setting of Normandy, this is your place!! We will be back someday!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chelsea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our second holiday at the beautiful Les Fermes de Florence (having stayed in October 2009 also). We stayed in the gite Demoiselle again, which is high quality and very nicely decorated. The gite is set in 20+ acres of gorgeous countryside, located in its own tranquil and secluded valley and surrounded by ancient woodland.

From the moment you arrive you are hit by the peace and tranquility, with the only thing you can hear being sounds of nature. Immediately you feel at ease, as you instantly start to unwind listening to the bird song.

The beautiful, well kept grounds provide a spacious oasis for children to explore and play in, knowing they are safe. As well as bringing you closer to nature - with the kids loving to see the family of wild deer walking through the grounds most mornings and evenings, and hawks circling above.

The owners Florence and Jean are delightful, friendly and welcoming, and keen to ensure your stay is perfect. Their english is superb, which puts our very limited french to shame.

The gite is well equipped and comfortable - even having it's own sauna, which we used on our last visit. There is a beautiful 'floating' open fire in the lounge, which again we used on our last visit.

The town of Vimoutiers, approx. 10mins drive, has all the amenities you could need - including banks, a supermarket and at least 5 boulangeries! Regular morning croissant and baguette runs being an easy pleasure. The gite is also well located for exploring Normandy, with plenty to see and do. We took our youngest (6) on a pony ride from the local pony club, Le Petit Cob, and took a pleasant stroll on our own through the 'tree tunnel' lanes leading 'Promise' the pony ourself. The zoo at Cerza was also well worth a visit.

The gite is also well located for exploring all the D Day history, although this is a little drive away. But the beautiful countryside location makes the drive worthwhile. Pegasus Bridge around 45mins, the beaches 1-1 1/2 hours.

The gite is approx. 4 1/2 hours drive from the Eurotunnel or 1 hr from the ferry at Caen.

Over the years we have stayed in a number of gites, in various locations, and would highly recommend Les Fermes de Florence. It provides a great relaxing family holiday, in a quality environment, with wonderful hosts and you can either relax in the grounds or get out and explore.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at les Fermes de Florence this weekend whilst visiting the area for a wedding and were delighted with our stay. Florence and Jean's property is situated in the most beautiful setting in the middle of the rolling Normandy countryside. Our room (Doucette on the ground floor) was truly gorgeous, spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and modern bathroom with walk-in shower. There are 2 separate gites for rental and the the 3 chambres d'hôte are in another cottage; All the cottages are spaced out in huge orchards and rolling pastures. The delicious breakfast was served in the owners' house where, in between attentively serving her guests, Florence kindly suggested places to visit in the area. Charming hosts and a a wonderful property for those seeking peace and quiet with modern conveniences. Such a shame we didn't have time to sit in the deckchairs just outside our room and read in the sun. Maybe next time ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny_Days_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The weather was not pleasant but the owners Florence and Jean did their best to make us happy from the first minute until the last one before leaving. The room was perfect on all the parameters but the heart of these couple is open the senses are ready and the mind is open to help and make happy customers. The breakfast was formidable ! The planning trip help was clever!
We shall come again !

Room Tip: All the room types are available and designed for self preferance and budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SylvioModiinIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

my sister and I stayed for 4 nights as we were attending a wedding held locally. The breakfasts were delicious, fresh, and varied every morning. We were provided with tourist information and places were recommended for us to visit as this was our first visit to Normandy. When our car failed to start Florence sorted out a garage to come and take it away, she rushed us to the church in time for the wedding when our taxi didn't turn up, and she took us to meet our friends who were staying at the wedding venue when we were still car-less on our final day. Florence did all the interpreting for us with the garage and even followed up when we got home to make sure we had arrived safely. The service we got was excellent and demonstrated hosts who cared and who were prepared to go the extra mile to help.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopins, Propriétaire at Les Fermes de Florence, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2012

Thank you Dorothy for your review, it was a pleasure to help you to sort out your trouble with your car. Thank you once again for the beautiful bouquet of flowers you sent to me, I am very touched by this attention. I renew my sincere thanks
Hope to see you another time
Best regards
Florence,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This cottage was a great get away for us this summer. We had the change to stay in the cottage for 5 nights, and it was more than pleasant. If we had a problem, it would be solved straight away, and help with the definate booking of another B&B was also not a problem. The bed rooms where more than comfortable, with own showers for them both. Advice was given, and it was great that Jean and Florence knew English, as our French is not that good. Only thing is that you do need transportation, and alot of time to go to the places you realy would like to visit, but that will not hold me back, from booking it again in the future. It is 100% worthwile.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Definitely somewhere to enjoy if you are with a partner and definitely need a hire car!

I stayed here alone as one of the recommended "inn's" on a friends wedding itinerary and although it was a lovely base...it was literally in the middle of nowhere and quite a distance from the rest of the wedding crowd.

Lovely welcome from the hosts.

Could have been cleaner.

Isolated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Fermes de Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Fermes de Florence

Address: Orne Normandie | Les Fonciers, 61120 Les Champeaux, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Les Champeaux
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Les Champeaux
Price Range: £82 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in Normandy, "The Pays d'Auge" is a beautiful countryside inNormandy, a lush and unspoilt, traditionally farmed area and pasture land. We are at the crossroad of Calvados & Orne, an ideal situation to discover Normandy between Land & Sea. The property "Les Fermes de Florence" is set in a peaceful area of 20 acres and composed with 3 half-thumbered Norman houses. If you are looking for comfortable and authentic Norman houses, you will be in the right place ! Our cottages are rated 4* - 3 cottages : 1 for 5 persons, 1 for 6 persons, 1 for 2 persons ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Fermes de Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing