We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
270
33
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
33
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thakur baljeet singh his son other guests leopard sightings old world charm evening safari home stay great hospitality home away from home lovely experience royal families heritage property each guest their natural habitat before dinner an excellent host beautiful place
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017

A wonderful trip to an enchanted heritage property, surrounded by stunning countryside and of course the thrill of sighting leopards in their natural habitat. One is looked after like royalty right from the moment you enter Castle Bera till you leave. The ambiance is of a royal era highlighted with ancestral memorabilia and photographs. Th. Baljeet Singh is the epitome of genteel hospitality and its an absolute delight learning from him of the remarkable history of the family and their times. The rooms, facilities and hospitality are top rate and the castle staff are extremely good. The wildlife guides are among the best I've been with and really expert at spotting leopards in their lairs with precision on all the safaris we went on and the vehicles and accouterments like binoculars all well kitted out. We saw leopards, crocs, some migratory water birds, plenty of peacocks and other small creatures and birds. The village tour was fascinating with the ladies picking up local silver jewelry and assorted brocades. It was a wonderful experience which I am coaxing my friends to take. Expect the very best in an ancestral home-stay with all creature comforts, plenty of once in a lifetime outdoor experiences all topped up with the hosts wonderful hospitality and generosity.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We visited Castle Bera in November 2017, having heard about the heritage homestay from a friend. Thakur Baljeet Singh, the friendly owner, and his son, Yaduveer, personally welcomed us on arrival. We were checked into a spacious, comfortable room (Room No.3). The room and adjoining drawing room had a timeless old worldly feel, and were decorated with interesting photographs and portraits of erstwhile royalty.

The meals were served in the castle’s dining room, with the cuisine ranging from local delicacies to the regular fare. All in all, a memorable gastronomic experience. The staff was extremely helpful, courteous and able, and made every effort to ensure that we were looked after.

We went on 6 safaris and sighted leopards on numerous occasions - a total of 11 leopards were spotted. Hyenas, crocodiles (at the Jawai Dam), nilgai and wild boar sightings made for a well rounded safari experience. The drivers, spotters and guides are very competent and enthusiastic, making the safaris enjoyable. Thakur Baljeet Singh and Yaduveer would also accompany the guests to ensure the best possible sightings, and took a personal interest in planning the routes and locations for the same.

Post the evening safari, Thakur Baljeet Singh and Yaduveer would host the guests for drinks adjacent to the dining room. Thakur Singh’s generosity, great sense of humour and interesting tales were a brilliant way to round off a hectic day of wildlife safaris.

Our stay at Castle Bera was extremely comfortable, smooth and fulfilling. What sets it apart from the run-of-the-mill resort experience is the personal touch of the owner. We will definitely visit again, and recommend Castle Bera as the perfect getaway for wildlife, specifically leopards, and unmatched Rajasthani hospitality.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jmssidhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

Spent 2 nights at the Castle Bera, lovely experience, sighted several panthers, place was neat clean comfortable. Staff was fantastic, typical Rajasthani hospitality. Such a pleasant change from the run of the resorts.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Hemanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

We felt highly honoured to stay at the Castle Bera Heritage Hotel as guests of Balgeet and Yadaveer Singh!

We were recommended by a friend and boy did she recommend a fabulous place!

This is a very old and beautiful Heritage home stay with a myriad of old photographs everywhere, documenting the history of the Singh family and and their family connections with royalty both in India and abroad.

We ate dinner with Balgeet and Yadaveer (the owner and his son) and found them absolutely charming and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with them and learning about the history of their family which they were only too happy to share with us.

When we arrived, we checked in and then enjoyed a delicious lunch in their beautifully and tastefully furnished dining room with pictures and photos adorning every wall. We then set off on our first leopard safari which lasted around 4 hours. As darkness fell we were treated to several sightings of these majestic beasts and in very close quarters. The transport is in a four wheel drive jeep which travels off road into the ‘Jungle.’
Binoculars are provided too for you to clearly see the leopards.

After a lovely dinner with the Singhs’, we retired to our rooms to sleep, before our early start at 5.30am.
The following morning we climbed aboard the jeep and enjoyed the second 4 hour safari. This time we didn’t see leopards but we did see hyenas, and crocodiles in the lake, as well as other wildlife.

We came back to the hotel afterwards to shower, change, to have breakfast (with Balgeet once again) and the opportunity to discuss the morning safari with him!

Afterwards we settled our bill and left for our onward journey to Udaipur, after thoroughly enjoying a unique and much treasured experience, the like of which we have never had before!

This is a unique experience in a gorgeous ancestral homestay filled to the brim with memorabilia and family history. Don’t expect 5 star luxury, but DO expect to be ‘wowed’ by its historical magnificence and the generosity of its owners... we certainly were!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Our initial impressions were rather disappointing - the reception was rather chaotic and dark and dingy and one of the rooms we were shown was damp and mouldy.
We were offered another set of rooms which was fine. For people over 6 foot, some of the single beds are a bit short as my son found out! The lunch was served from dishes on the sideboard for us and one other guest, but there was only a set meal and no indication of what the main ingredients were. It might be a good idea to inform the staff in advance if you have dietary requirements, but we were unaware of this. The leopard safari in the evening was fantastic and we saw one of these magnificent big cats close up. Pre- dinner drinks with the owner and safari guide and other guests in the garden was a lovely experience and very relaxing. The dinner was similar to the lunch in as much as it was a set meal, but the staff tried hard to accommodate us. Breakfast was very good and comprised local dishes. The hotel is rather like a home stay and has the advantage of being able to chat with the owner and his son - very interesting people. We enjoyed our time there and appreciated the insight into wild life in the local area.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are better than ground floor single.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RACLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews