We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite pleases”
Review of Kellerwirt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kellerwirt
Ranked #4 of 16 Oberau B&B and Inns
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite pleases”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

A really nice place. The hotel is completed in an old cozy Austrian style. There is a relaxed atmosphere, waiters as most are young girls, is one of the sweetest and nicest I've experienced in a hotel / restaurant. The rooms are medium. The food is super delicious in the appropriate potions. We have been guests there for a few years in a row and there will be like again. Remember to greet their cat Gorgina, it loves to greet the guests :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dracula_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    11
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have just returned from this hotel. What can I say ?? It is housed in a former monastery and is an amazing place. The rooms are spacious (a little strange that the showers have no curtains and are just over the bath), but apart from that it cannot be faulted. The host, Hans Keller, is a wonderful man who is there to help you. The breakfasts (cold, not cooked) are fresh, the a la carte lunches are amazing, but it is the dinners that have to be seen to be believed. Wiener Schnitzel to cover your plate (crisp and tasty), stroganoff that just melts in the mouth, freshly made pasta, the list is endless, all with a first course of delicious home made soups, and topped off with desserts that please the eye and the palate. Our flight home was an early one, but Hans Keller got up himself to make us breakfast and ensure we had all we needed. We were blessed with amazing weather too. A perfect week.

Room Tip: Choose a room if possible in the Kellerwirt Gasthaus. There are no lifts which is a shame, but the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

After a 19 hour cattle transfer of a journey re-routed via GERMANY which took a total of 16.5 hours from Gatwick, including 8.5 hours and 4 changes of coaches - (A GHASTLY EXPERIENCE WITH INGHAMS TRAVEL) - we arrived completely exhausted at 10.30pm. Owner didn't even bother to help us to our annexe room (trying to find our way through an unfamiliar labyrinth of corridors, rooms, stairs and across-car park forays with ski boot bags, ski bags, luggage etc) until I returned to the bar and asked him for the 3rd time to show us where we were sleeping! Only then did he come to show us! We NEVER ONCE got the "choice of main meal and salad buffet" promised in brochure, NOR the "torchlit walk, carol singers and live music" - the very appealing touches promised and on which basis we chose this for our Christmas holiday. Food was certainly not typically Tyrolean and portions were child sized. Palm size helping of Spaghetti Carbonara (Italian last time I checked) and ONCE, a bowl of limp lettuce with vinaigrette. Something inedibly tough in gravy (shoe, perhaps?). A far cry from the food Mr Keller writes about on his website and we only became aware that warm boiled eggs were on offer at all (if you were quick enough) at breakfast on Day 4 ... that only because we saw shells on a neighbouring table (and we were in the breakfast area by 7.30-8 most mornings). Breakfast rolls were old (resorted to eating fresh ones in the coffee shop in the village so know how they SHOULD taste now), and "family" Keller never sighted - only the Owner who was too busy schmoozing non package holiday guests to bother much with the Package Holiday Cattle. We were left in gloomy dining area whilst A la Carte money spinners were catered for in pretty cellar bar with lovely decorations - we got shrivelled plant on table, no water with meals, no bread with small bowl of soup and food was virtually inedible on two evenings. Didn't realise there WAS a desert until 3rd night - waited 45 mins after main course with no service then went to the bar to pass the time. It was only when another package holiday guest told us they too had passed 2 nights not realising there was desert on offer that we were aware of it. Often had to go to bar to ask for wine top ups during our meals.. Waitresses literally only entered the dining room to plonk food in front of us and returned to the other two (a la carte) dining areas to be charming. Mr Keller himself deigned to drift in on only two occasions during dinner and walked off mid-sentence on both occasions. Bedroom heating was blood temp. Rep was informed - nothing was done. So when we asked owner to turn it on were told it was on timer and would come on in the evening! IN THE ALPS? SERIOUSLY?? I had to wear my ski thermal underwear in which to sleep! Got given a fan heater which was so full of fluff it shorted out. We returned it to Mr Keller who simply commented that he had been using it earlier - we had to plug it in to demonstrate the smell of burning electrics to make our point! Room was cold, curtains stained, bed like a youth hostel bunk house with holes in the sheets and grotty, thin duvets and what smelled like dog blankets on them. Our room was not cleaned nor sheets changed from Christmas Eve until Boxing Day - despite asking the maid to do so. No tea/coffee making facilities in room and in annexe you are locked out of the main part of the hotel all night. On seeking a staff member to ask about a medical issue at 7.30am on our 2nd morning, we found hotel inaccessible and unmanned until 8am when one member of staff arrived. Breakfast is supposed to be from 7.30am but there was no-one visible through any of the windows we looked through. A gloomy place with the pall of death hanging over it - pictures of long dead and buried relatives glaring down from the walls in a seating area (not cozy!) where there is a tiny tv and a cupboard containing only videos for a DVD player! Stuck in hotel sitting room all day on one occasion, unable to walk far (poorly) had to go to seek our owner, who was aware of my situation, at gone lunchtime to ASK for a scrap of his self-proclaimed "famous Tyrolean hospitality" - or even a little Christmas goodwill would have been nice - in the form of sustenance (perhaps a tea/coffee/soup as unable to get out and no lunch provided) and was rather brusquely given another old roll with a slice of ham in it. Whilst I am aware "lunch is not included" would you not offer someone whose ski holiday had been ruined and was bound to the hotel a cup of tea, a bite to eat, a glass of water? And this especially on Christmas Eve. This was the most miserable Christmas and the worst holiday I have had in my life. Average age of fellow residents was 70! Hardly (see website) ZANY. And as for the "jokes, the teasing, the laughter" - certainly not within the walls of this miserable little venue!! Perhaps the lack of reviews since August last year should have been an indication of the decline of this miserable little guesthouse. Mr Keller - shame on you. As for INGHAMS - worst travel agent experience in 53 years of extensive world travel! NEVER EVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel and don't use Inghams as a travel agent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Ghawdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Austria, no fresh snow. No cross country ski tracks available. Downhill snow slushy. But walking thru the forests into tiny hamlets with family restaurants serving tasty goulash soup at lunchtime and then back to Oberau village for a hot gluvein on the nursery slopes before a night in the Kellerwirt bar! The church bells calling for our attention at 6am every morning !
Friendly host , good companions at table , and an Austrian village , that we recommend .

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the other side of the church ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthDevonmaryH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This was our first trip to Austria and we couldnt have chosen a better resort and hotel. The hotel was small and friendly a bit quirky as the main part of the hotel used to be a monestry. We stayed in the new part and our room was basic but clean and had a lovely balcony lookig out over the garden and hills beyond. It was a quiet room away from the sound of the church bells. The food was lovely and most of the staff were pleasant and friendly especially Barbara who looked after us at breakfast always with a smile and a good morning and the giggling Anna who was there to give us our afternoon coffee and cake and serve us our evening meal. I also have to mention Sonjia the walking guide who helped out in the evenings on the staffs days off who was also lovely. We are hoping to return again and would recomend the resort of Oberau if you want some good and lovely walking.

Room Tip: We were in room 109 of the guest house away from the church bells which start ringing at 6 o clock i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthprecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

A little slice of Heaven in The Wildshonau, the Kellertwirt is in our opinion a very welcoming, warm and friendly place to base your Skiing or Walking Holiday. Both types of room in the Old Building and Annex are not 5 star luxury but very clean, spacious and most have lovely Tyroleon views with balconies. The Owners and staff all take great pride in what they are doing and organised replacement medication that had been left in the UK within 2 hours for us on a Sunday! They also served us a breakfast at 04:30 on our final day and nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
Oberau and the Kellerwirt will not suit everybody but we had our best skiing holiday in 20 years and will treasure the happy memories of the fantastic week in the Wildshonau thanks to Hans and his team.

Room Tip: Annex rooms are larger and modern, Main building are rooms are smaller and more traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Edwardsintrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

This was our second stay here. We stayed for a week at Christmas 2009 and returned this time for New Year for the week.
The food, service and special touches make all the difference. The whole team are attentive and friendly.
We will no doubt be back soon!
:-)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Garbanz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oberau
0.8 mi away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tirolerhof
Hotel Tirolerhof
#5 of 25 in Wildschonau
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gasthof Pension Starchenthof
1.1 mi away
Fertinghof
Fertinghof
#4 of 5 in Oberau
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Marchfeld
Hotel Landhaus Marchfeld
#2 of 16 in Oberau
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kellerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kellerwirt

Property: Kellerwirt
Address: Oberau 72, Oberau, Wildschonau 6311, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Oberau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Oberau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kellerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Kellerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellerwirt Hotel Oberau
Kellerwirt Oberau, Tirol, Austria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing