We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for a two night B&B break (using discount vouchers) and found it wonderful. Although we arrived at a very very busy time on Sunday afternoon (there was a wedding fair in progress) the reception staff were very welcoming and took the time to show us to our room and explain the run of the hotel. After arrival we went walking about the grounds, through the beautiful Walled Gardens, along by the lake and through the arboretum. Then after an idle curiosity visit to the wedding fair (it all looked very impressive and we sampled some delicious food) we sat for a while in one of the beautiful sitting rooms. We had dinner in the dining room (€44 for the set menu), service and ambiance was excellent, but we found the menu a bit limited and the food wasn't exceptional. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and again the service was excellent. On Monday evening we opted for the bar menu which we found excellent, very nicely served and good value.
Our room was very comfortable and although it looked out over the car park at the front of the hotel the view was predominantly of garden and woodland and was pleasant. Some of the public areas of the hotel offer views over the lawn to the lake beyond which is quite stunning, even in damp February weather.
The overall atmosphere in the hotel is restful, cosy and welcoming. We certainly enjoyed our visit and would be delighted to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    613
    156
    72
    28
    10
See reviews for
166
520
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I came across this fabulous hotel by chance,and I am so glad I did. It just is full of character and we just fell in love with it. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was so luxurious . We managed to do a lot of the walks around the castle despite poor weather.
The staff are all so friendly and helpful.
Food was amazing and I would recommend afternoon tea
An amazing place to get away from it all

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
250 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Everything about Lough Rynn is amazing......... the setting by the lake, fabulous views and walks, cosy drawing rooms with nooks and crannies to relax and read or enjoy a well made cocktail, the food, the quirky room with luxurious bathroom, and the fantastic staff.

It really is a place to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday, and for once I did not moan about the lack of wifi in bedroom! Definitely pay the little extra for a castle room, and if you are blessed you may be allocated a lake view room.

A stay here should be on everyone's bucket list. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Room in the castle is a must - quirky and atmospheric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ostan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have been staying in Lough Rynn for our anniversary since it reopened, so as this was our 30th wedding anniversary why change. Have stayed in lots of the rooms in hotel and court yard all lovely. This year was disappointed the room this visit no wow factor even though it was in the hotel very small and cramped. As room at front of hotel very noisy guest shouting getting taxis and what seemed like furniture been moved around in the early hours of the morning. Fire alarm went off three times early hours and not one staff member came to say it was false alarm. Room not serviced on Sunday even though sigh on door. The staff lovely wished us Happy Anniversary and little gestures in the room and restaraunt.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gem1965_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a wonderful day in this beautiful castle at Paul and Fiona's wedding on St Valentines day.Weather was dreadful but once we entered the hotel that was quickly forgotten. Big open fires and a lovely reception set the tone for a great day.The food was excellent and served by friendly and attentive staff.Unfortunately we didn't get to stay in the castle as it was full but we did stay in one of the houses on the estate.Very comfortable with everything you could possibly need.Will certainly return to his beautiful location and stay in the hotel next time!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We visited Lough Rynn Castle for the first time last weekend. What a beautiful place. The setting is terrific. The accommodation and food were excellent. I had the Lobster Bisque for starter and the wild Turbot for main ,both were really tasty and beautifully cooked. The breakfast buffet ( for starters was extensive), while the cooked breakfast was cooked to order, even asking whether we wanted our bacon smoked or unsmoked. I would suggest you leave time to walk the nature trail and make sure you visit the walled garden, with the lake as a backdrop.. We will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely break, room was clean & stunning. Loved heated bathroom & real coffee, lovely touches. Great selection of food for breakfast & attentive friendly staff.
Staff where very welcoming & helpful.
Beautiful grounds for walks.
It would've been nice to have entertainment at wkend & possibly a games room for children.
Spa facilities would also be nice.
All in all a beautiful hotel, especially for relaxation & beautiful walks.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire3211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohill
19.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
12.3 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
18.4 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
13.6 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
10.6 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#1 of 9 in Carrick-on-Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Property: Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Address: Lough Rynn, Mohill, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Mohill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mohill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rynn Castle is a 4 star deluxe hotel set on an estate of 350 acres. The Hotel comprises of 42 bedrooms, an AA Rosette Award Winning Restaurant and caters for functions up to 320 persons. A Victorian Walled Gardens takes you to the shores of Lough Rynn, natural woodland, meandering walk ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelsClick, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Hotel Mohill
Lough Rynn Castle Estate And Gardens
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Mohill, Ireland - County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing