We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here last weekend and from start to finish we had a wonderful time. From the get go the staff were so pleasant and friendly (compliments in particular to Sean). The castle is simply stunning with beautiful views over the Lough. We got what we requested when we book and , while we realise that sometimes hotels can't deliver on every request, Lough Rynn did. Our room and bathroom were very comfortable and matched the view of the lake for beauty and a touch of class. The free wi fi in the room was well appreciated too.

Dinner was devine and the breakfast menu was comprehensive and very tasty. I particularly like hotels that offer an omelette as, Lough Rynn Castle does. The grounds and walks around the Castle and by the lake are stunning and the walled garden, I'm sure must be a lovely sight and place to sit in summer (we must come back and have a look). The communal seating areas are magnificent and very comfortable though on a busy night it might be hard to find a seat. We loved the place and will most definitely be back. We have stayed in many four and five star castle hotels in Ireland and Lough Rynn Castle compares very favourably and is up there with the best.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    620
    160
    73
    28
    10
See reviews for
167
529
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed at the hotel the very first weekend in February for 3 nights as it was my sisters wedding. The staff are super friendly and homely, its like living in a home from home for the weekend. There is no fuss with them and they are happy to help wherever needed and completely easy going.
They took special note of who was from either side of the immediate family the whole weekend and always made sure we had everything we needed whether it was bringing bags to the room or keeping a car park space near the door, the little things.
We stayed in the castle itself, the rooms are really well kept and the beds super comfy. They are also really big. Well worth staying in one of them if can ring ahead and reserve one.

Good value also. The food in the restaurant is second to none so well worth sampling and there is lots of rooms to relax in and more often than not a big fire lighting.

All in all a very enjoyable weekend and would definitely return. Top marks to the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the castle itself, some of the rooms are huge and have great views. Try book early and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterodonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just back from a two day stay in Lough Rynn Castle and cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Everything from the staff to the food to the grounds was fantastic. Cannot wait to return in the summer when the walled gardens will be in full bloom. If I had one criticism it's that the bed was a standard double size and smaller than we're used to but it was very comfy.
Definitely try the a afternoon tea. At 12.50 per person it's fantastic value

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

They put themselves on a pedestal to be the best and they fell short. The afternoon tea while waiting for the room to be cleaned was just OK - the sandwiches really let it down. An insignificant piece of ham doesn't constitute a quality offering - sorry, the rest was very good though. My having to lug our cases up cramped stairs (no lift in the hotel) to the room was not pleasant (perhaps the concierge was away making the sandwiches). There was no drinking water or biscuits in the room. The curtains in our room didn't meet in the middle by some 12 inches and we were awake at cockcrow. We were the only people in the dining room at 7.20 and were going to leave to have the bar menu but were implored to dine here by the very good restaurant staff. My blue steak was excellent apart from a cool plate but my wife's Turbot was really bland and under-seasoned served on a bed of very watery mashed turnip. It was OK but really not what you would expect from a restaurant of this so called quality. The staff were so good and pleasant that you really couldn't complain. The constant repetitive classical music in the background is nice but becomes boring over and over again - even at breakfast. This is a really lovely place but very quiet like a convalescent home. the staff are generally very good indeed. Having to lug the cases down the stairs again is a non starter though. I e-mailed my comments to them and have not got any response from management which is very disappointing. We have stayed in better hotels at this price level and for afternoon tea and an all round much better experience try Galgorm Manor in Balymena - it is superb in comparison

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms must be better if only to miss the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were very excited to be going to this beautiful castle and booked well in advance as we knew st Patricks weekend would be busy but we wanted to stay in the castle itself as opposed to the houses which were attatched to the Hotel . We checked in and were shown to our room by a very friendly gentleman who pointed out various points of interest around the estate and as we opened the door I think he must have realised our disappointment when we saw we had an attic room with one velux window right above the bed which meant we had no view whatsoever and we're unable to open window as it meant rain could come in onto bed he pointed out it was a heritage building and as a result window were restricted we could understand that but felt we were short changed with the room we asked to change our room at reception but were told that would not be possible. Very disappointing. The food and service were excellent but stay clear of room 215 not so much queen of the castle more like attic Annie!

Room Tip: Stay clear of attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aisling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for a two night B&B break (using discount vouchers) and found it wonderful. Although we arrived at a very very busy time on Sunday afternoon (there was a wedding fair in progress) the reception staff were very welcoming and took the time to show us to our room and explain the run of the hotel. After arrival we went walking about the grounds, through the beautiful Walled Gardens, along by the lake and through the arboretum. Then after an idle curiosity visit to the wedding fair (it all looked very impressive and we sampled some delicious food) we sat for a while in one of the beautiful sitting rooms. We had dinner in the dining room (€44 for the set menu), service and ambiance was excellent, but we found the menu a bit limited and the food wasn't exceptional. Breakfast on both mornings was very good and again the service was excellent. On Monday evening we opted for the bar menu which we found excellent, very nicely served and good value.
Our room was very comfortable and although it looked out over the car park at the front of the hotel the view was predominantly of garden and woodland and was pleasant. Some of the public areas of the hotel offer views over the lawn to the lake beyond which is quite stunning, even in damp February weather.
The overall atmosphere in the hotel is restful, cosy and welcoming. We certainly enjoyed our visit and would be delighted to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LandPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I came across this fabulous hotel by chance,and I am so glad I did. It just is full of character and we just fell in love with it. We stayed in one of the deluxe rooms which was so luxurious . We managed to do a lot of the walks around the castle despite poor weather.
The staff are all so friendly and helpful.
Food was amazing and I would recommend afternoon tea
An amazing place to get away from it all

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are worth that little extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenmc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mohill
19.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
17.1 mi away
Viewmount House
Viewmount House
#1 of 2 in Longford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
23.4 mi away
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#1 of 3 in Roscommon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Leitrim Marina Hotel
Leitrim Marina Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leitrim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
Lough Allen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Drumshanbo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
18.4 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens

Property: Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens
Address: Lough Rynn, Mohill, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Leitrim > Mohill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mohill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rynn Castle is a 4 star deluxe hotel set on an estate of 350 acres. The Hotel comprises of 42 bedrooms, an AA Rosette Award Winning Restaurant and caters for functions up to 320 persons. A Victorian Walled Gardens takes you to the shores of Lough Rynn, natural woodland, meandering walk ways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Hotel Mohill
Lough Rynn Castle Estate And Gardens
Lough Rynn Castle Estate & Gardens Mohill, Ireland - County Leitrim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing