We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure Enchantment”
other travellers have booked this property
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Additional seating on the decking to enjoy garden views
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mohill, County Leitrim, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Suzanne H
Sharpsburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pure Enchantment”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We started our first trip to Ireland in Dublin, then to the Cliffs of Moher, before driving to Leitrim County for our 6 days of romance in an enchanted cottage in the back of the beyond. Everywhere we went we heard 'Leitrim? Why the fook are you going to bliddy Leitrim? There's naught in Leitrim!'
By the time we got there I was biting my nails, wondering if I'd made a mistake.
But this cottage was everything I'd dreamed of and more. The cottage itself is charming, cozy and comfy, with a fireplace (which we used every night, a summer get-away Ireland is not!) and fully stocked kitchen.
But it was the gardens that stole our hearts. Enchanted gardens. Fairy gardens. Gardens straight out of a book of Celtic fairy tales. Magickal, moonlit, dark and mysterious, charming and bright. I swear the paths shift about when you're not looking. There are about 2 acres of gardens, but it felt as if we never found every path and hidden nook and quiet pool and bench and bower, although we walked them every day.
And night. I was there for the full moon, which was an experience I'll never forget.
Afternoon tea on the deck by the waterfall.
Oh my. Now I'm desperately homesick for it again. For a place I'd never seen before in a faraway country. How silly is that?
But for the rest of our lives we will remember our 30th anniversary, spent with the fae folk of Gramarye. And we left a bit of our hearts there too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dorothym1...
Pomona, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent.- hows the serenity?”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

what a beautiful out of the way quiet place.
The cottage was tidy all facilities and emenities we good.
comfy bed .
it was a really enjoyable place to come home to in the afternoon after tripping around very central to all of Ireland .
my suggestion everyone should get off the main road and discover this little cottage on a lovely country lane.
There was no TV, wi f,i or computer but that did not matter. You are just a twenty min drive from Carrick on Shannon for coffee,fee wi fi , Tesco and Clothes drying facilities.
So enjoy the journey.

Dot and Lee Mangan

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth Y
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Far from the crowd”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is a very typical traditional half-door cottage next to an ancient stone bridge on a winding country lane in a very rural part of the Mohill, Cloone, Garvagh area. We've been to Ireland numerous times, and have stayed in several similar cottages, although none have been as secluded. Get provisions before going to the cottage, as it's a long drive to any sort of retail establishment for food, firewood or turf. There is no local for a drink or a bit of music in the immediate area, so be prepared for a quiet night if you don't have a flute or a penny whistle in your luggage. The grounds and stream were outstanding and are a nice respite from the hustle and bustle of life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting by the stream and walking in the woods.
Liked least: Condition of pots and pans. Oven needed cleaning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brierfiel...
Nelson, United Kingdom
1 review
“A delightful place to stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The cottage and gardens far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is homely and the grounds are magical. It is a way "off the beaten track" but we felt it was well worth the effort, (you need a car). The weather was cold so we couldn't make full use of the garden, but, hopefully, it will be better next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love being off the beaten track too. If only we could guarantee good weather! I hope you found the stove kept it cosy at night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“secluded - out of it all - catch up time”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

had a wonderful time at this amazing cottage, came over from England to meet my daughter and son-in-law for a fishing weekend, the cottage is everything it says, we had beautiful weather for March and spent some lovely time in the gardens (would be amazing for a wedding) it is very secluded and did worry about no tv but had the best time, the fire was amazing and the kitchen was a dream, thank you for the welcome pack. The only downside was the ladder to the bedroom - it is quite steep with no support and I got stuck, but just didn't go up there again, which was a shame cos the bedroom was beautiful, thank you for a wonderful catch-up weekend

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: just the beautiful cottage
Liked least: the stairway to the upstairs bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to relax in the garden. South Leitrim is a great fishing location.
We are so sorry to hear you had difficulty with the stairs, and have taken that onboard. We will fit an additional hand rail to help with access to the attic bedroom.
Thank you so much for your kind comments. Best wishes.
Kerry-Lynn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liannec88
2 reviews
“Really enjoyable and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a lovely stay in the cottage, which is beautiful in itself , we went down for fishing and a catch up weekend lovely and remote with beautiful gardens which was enjoyed in the sun, close to great fishing spots...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. The gardens are indeed tranquil, but they are even more inviting in the summer. Its great that the weather was in your favour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing