We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Hotel”
Review of Ostan an Bear Mor

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ostan an Bear Mor
Ranked #1 of 1 Gortahork B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Unique Hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2005

Stayed in the lovely An Bear Mor just last month on a recent trip along the coast of Ireland. It has to be one of the most unique hotels that we came across, a warm and wonderful atmosphere. The staff and owner Aidan were friendly and welcoming, the food was great and we loved its location right by the bay. We watched the evening sun set and the sky turn a dark blue all from the hotel window. It won't be forgotten in a hurry and we will return.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    0
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, County Down, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2005

Group of four from Northern Ireland had a great time in a unique and beautiful small family-friendly hotel.
We had visited last September and decided to make a return journey this easter. Better than the first time, traditional music on the friday night, warm welcome, warm rooms great value.
Thanks for a relaxing and entertaining weekend.

Helpful?
5 Thank PaulKernan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 March 2005

Stayed at Ostan an Bear Mor Hotel for a week, and found the staff to be warm and friendly, and the food excellent. The rooms were brilliant. Wonderful tubs and showers, teak wood, and designs that were old fashioned, but original. Really warm and lovely. Great things to do locally near the coast, and the pint of Guiness was great. Fun pub and the proprietor, Aidan Egan and his staff made us feel at home. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2005

Have eaten three times in this restautant. Always hopeful the next time would be better. Twice in the bar and once in the so called dining room. the place was so cold the first time and the food was cold, when we complained, the food was roasting you couldn't eat it. The same the second time. The third time was a birthday celebration I was completely embarresed about, never again. I have given this place a chance because I always think people can have a bad day.

Helpful?
9 Thank Mgt.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 September 2004

Took a group of Lyre Players up there for a weekend and all 7 of us had a ball. Friendly staff, great food and drink all in family hotel of great individuality and character. Rooms were good with great beds huge baths...
One of the best short breaks ever, well done.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2004

Anyone visiting Ireland this summer needs to check out Ostan an Bear Mor Hotel. It has a fabulous pub and the food is outstanding. It is an intimate and reasonable setting near the water and it makes for a good location to see the cliffs and countryside. They offer seisuns (traditional Irish music) on Wednesday nights. Once you are there, you will not want to leave! When we go back we are staying the week! So nice to have a Guinness and then travel ten steps to your bed!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ostan an Bear Mor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostan an Bear Mor

Property: Ostan an Bear Mor
Address: Gortahork 074-35962, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gortahork
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ostan An Bear Mor Donegal
Ostan An Bear Mor Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing