We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in beautiful area”
Review of Hotel Loch Altan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Loch Altan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in beautiful area”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had booked (by phone and email) without problems, but it doesn't seem to be on hotel booking sites. The first room we were offered was very cramped, but when we said so we were given choice of other rooms and settled on a slightly more spacious one. We were on a deal with one restaurant dinner included, but I would agree with those who said the service was slow: the bar meals seem to be better value and there is more buzz in the bar. Breakfast was very nice with friendly service and good quality food. The area is fantastically beautiful with amazing scenery - it was sunny when we visited so driving around gave us wonderful views of Mt Errigal and other mountains. If you have time and it's reasonable weather, do the day trip to Tory Island - a step back in time.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one at the back away from road, though it isn't a terribly busy one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your food, we always do our best to make sure that our guests feel welcome and are given the best service possible. We are very lucky to be surrounded by such amazing scenery and we are so glad that the weather was suitable for you to enjoy it to it's full potential.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    81
    33
    16
    13
See reviews for
56
123
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Be warned when making a reservation at this 'hotel', apparently only confirmed in 'writing' or by telephone .they do NOT accept reservations by email ......
We had booked to join a family reunion and were informed by email that a family,y family room was available for the dates requested.
I confirmed reservation by email.
Heard no more until received an email a few days later to say the family room was now unavailable and a double and twin rooms were available . again confirmed acceptance by email. A day later another email sent to say these rooms were no longer unavailable , only a double and single remained...
No explanation or apology given for this shambolic system . a very disappointing and unprofessional experience

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niamh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We respond to all our email enquiries as you have stated in your review, unfortunately each time that we received an email confirmation from you we had already filled the rooms. At peak times we cannot hold rooms provisionally until we receive definite confirmation as happened on this occasion. The time from receiving the first email enquiry until the final response was 7 days and we were not able to hold the requested rooms for this length of time. We apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently attended a friend's wedding at this hotel, staff friendly & welcoming. Hotel nice, has a sense of character about it which we liked. Great food, nice accommodation. Obviously the wedding was booked at least a year in advance so they knew it was coming up so I don't know why they couldn't of hired more bar staff. Always seems to be a problem. Great service at the reception but as for the bar, not so great. The staff that were on done their best, but their legs can only run so fast. What really, really annoyed me, and many other guests was if you ordered your alcoholic beverage from the front bar it was a certain price, but if you carried on into the function room where the wedding took place, the alcoholic beverage was more expensive.
I have never, ever in all my years of attending weddings noticed this. It is disgusting to think that the management of any hotel would do this, after all the bride and groom gave them business for this day, and to think they could go behind their back and do this, it's awful. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but how could you justify charging at least 40c to 50c more AT LEAST for a beverage in two different bars, in the same hotel, just a few feet apart.
I'm glad we noticed, so did some other guests, but to save ourselves money we took the beautiful walk through your corridor to get cheaper drink. Thank you as the walk done us the world of good after the beautiful meal and saved us from indulging too much!
I will be waiting for a response in relation to this, so feel free to explain.
A wedding is an opportunity for the hotel to show off it's venue and facilities for a future wedding, let me tell you, this has put a few people straight off.
Rip of Republic in the heart of Donegal!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irish l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We welcome your positive comments about our staff being friendly and welcoming and we are delighted that you enjoyed our food.
With regards to your comments about the difference in price of drinks between the lounge and the function room, it is common practice for hotels to charge extra for drinks in their function rooms to cover the extra costs involved in providing a bar extension and the extra security required for private functions. These costs are not covered in the wedding package. We hope that this answers your concerns about the prices.

We thank you for your custom and we hope to see you again soon. Wishing you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A strange hotel to say the least very well situated on main street, quiet location next to most gaelteachts if you are visiting children. Lovely reception recently done up bar and lounge also done up. Some rooms are modern as is the dining room. Breakfast room and older rooms positively 1970's style. no wifi odd patch in the reception area but it will remind you of old dial up version. service reception staff are lovely and vey helpful but they are also bar staff waitresses probably cooks and maybe even cleaners. Our lunch took 30 minutes to order as receptionist had to take the order only one other table eating . we ordered desert they must have gone to letterkenny for it 1hr to arrive. very frustrating. dinner that night was unbelievable place was packed bar staff untrained did all they could but incredible wait everyone was complaining. the hotel was fully booked so they cant say they didn't know it would be busy. 2 bar staff for bar and food service.
overall management are cutting too many corners. train your lovely staff and give them more help get better internet stop cutting corners and you will be on a winner.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms or towards the back of the hotel seem best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandFailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value the opinions of all our customers and we apologise that you were left feeling frustrated on this occasion.

We are currently renovating the hotel and as this is an ongoing process some of our rooms are still a little outdated.
Our staff are passionate about providing the best possible hospitality and service to all our customers, obviously on this occasion this did not happen as we were short staffed on the weekend in question. So far our season has been very quiet and we were not prepared for how busy it turned out to be. We have taken all your criticisms on board and will strive to make sure that we have adequate staff at hand to handle any situation in the future.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

We recently returned to this hotel to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary (the wedding reception was here five years prior) and I had high expectations from my previous stay. We were greeted by a lovely very friendly receptionist. Actually every member of staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful! Check in was quick and easy. We were given a ground floor room, we asked for a double but got a family room. However the third bed just took up too much space! Would have preferred to have got a double. Room was clean, bed comfy. But I don't think the heating was on the whole time we were there! Room was always cold. As was the water. We complained to reception and after a short wait we had hot water. Apparently it's on a timer system. However, they did allow us to eat in the restaurant when it was closed, and decorated the table for the birthday. But forgot to bring out the birthday cake. We actually forgot about the cake too so although disappointing, can't really complain too much. Thought dinner was a little expensive for the quality of the food, my boyfriend hated his steak and my brushetta was just bread layered with a cpl slices of tomato and way too much cheese. Was also disappointed with the breakfast, except for the homemade wheaten bread which was delicious, the rest was just ok. This hotel is in a nice remote. location with a few beaches near by and nice views. Food was much better five years ago, the breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bf329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We would like to apologise for the problems you encountered with your room, we have recently installed a new heating system so there should not have been an issue with the heating in your room, the hot water is on a timer as you stated as an energy saving measure as most of our guests are out and about during the day taking in all the local attractions and usually do not require hot water until the evening.
We do our best to provide the highest standard of food to all our guests and we are disappointed that you did not enjoy your evening meal or your breakfast. We have taken all your comments on board and we will do our best to make sure that they do not occur again.

We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future and we wish you the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falcarragh, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Had dinner here on Saturday evening, 2adults, 3 young teens. Waited 40 mins for food to arrive, food was basic and fairly boring but we ate it!!! The burger, fish, roast of the ya, stir fry all just ok! The chips were nice.

Staff very friendly, service was good, apart from having to wait so long for food.

The cost of dinner was good, nothing over priced,.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel. We are disappointed that you were not happy with your service and that you did not find the quality of our food to your liking. It is our aim to provide all our customers with the best food in a friendly and efficient manner; we will take your comments on board and do our best to make sure that this does not occur again.

We hope to see you again in the future and we wish you the very best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We recently stayed at the hotel for two nights and it truly was one of the highlights of our trip. The hotel was in a great location for us with beautiful scenery surrounding the hotel. The staff at the hotel are second to none!! Some of the friendliest, nicest and most helpful people we have ever met! Their hospitiality was OUTSTANDING. Nice rooms, restaurant/bar, lovely lobby/lounge area, car park, delicious breakfast...everything we needed was right there. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Ireland.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarinandMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ostanlochaltan, Manager at Hotel Loch Altan, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response to our hotel. We are delighted that you found your stay with us so pleasant, our staff do their best to make our guests feel welcome and cared for. We hope that you will return and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gortahork
21.2 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
18.3 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
222 reviews
14.9 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
8.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Loch Altan

Property: Hotel Loch Altan
Address: Gortahork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Altan Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing