We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAX :-)”
Review of Aureus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aureus Hotel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Castelvetrano
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in October, during the first night we were the only guests. Even so, they started up the kitchen for us, and the next morning served as a great breakfast at the terrace (friendliest waiter).
Village is no tourism centre though, and the hotel is a bit hard to find without car-navigation.

Location is great though, balcony facing the sea, having sun from sunrise to sunset. No idea how it is midsummer (airco in the room though), but in october you couldn't find better.

Communication with the owner and evening waiter was a bit hard though, as neither spoke english and we didn't and don;t speak italian.

Bathroom is a bit small, and the room is rather sparsely furrnished. Clean though, and for us that is more important than a big tv. A small fridge would be nice though.

All in all, good place to stay for a couple of nights (to visit Selinunte and Agrigento (Valle de Templi), and great value for money.

Room Tip: Spend the extra € 5 for a room on the seaside, the view is spectacular
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captcor_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

We have found this small hotel right by the sea shore and just loved it. Quiet place with no other pretention than make you relax by the sea: nice simple italian meals on the terrace with authentic and flavoured organic food. Delicious. The hotel is owned since a few years by a family leaving nearby and cultivating its own olive oil. All family members work there and want an authentic relationship with the visitors, taking time to talk and chat. The hotel is at 10 minutes by car from the greek site of Selinunte, worth while visiting for half a day. Nice and clean rooms with ac and an open door on a private balcony looking on the sea. Not commercial. Simply great!

Room Tip: some rooms have a direct view on the sea with private balcony; some on the side, also worthed, and s...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The location, the food and especially the staff of the hotel were excellent.
It is not necessary to look for another restaurant in Triscine and surroudings, the food in hotel Aureus is the best one.
During the first days of july the sea near the hotel was not very eligible to bath, but there were nice beaches not far away, also in walking distance and then e.g. in Porto Palo.
We spent some days also in other hotels in Sicily with more stars, but the kindness and helpfulness of the owner and all the staff made hotel Aureus one of the best places we visited.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamamina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

the fantastic place, which is the closet to sea ever,we just have stayed one night , but it was one of the nicest place we have been at Sicily.
if you want to recharge your battery- go there!

food in the restaurant - difficult to discribed,everything was so good, so amazing flavours, nothing to compare with sometimes awfull tourist traps, bread- amazing, the olive - real, genuine, the dishes- amazing, every plate was better than other, pasta, starters, main dishes,truly great
breakfast - simple but really good
staff members makes you feel really welcome during whole staying ...
We were there before the start of the season, so obviously before some maintenace work have been done, but still this didin't bother us at all.room was clean and spacious, the eco shower - the solution you wish to apply in your life...

this is bit in the midlle of nowhere, but this is what we were looking for

quality vs price - 5stars

we are definetly going to visit this place once back to sicily

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kamila z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Because of poor local signage we found the hotel quite difficult to find but we were glad we persevered. The hotel looks less than preposessing from the road, but is in fact right on the beach with direct access. Perfect for an early morning swim or walk on the sand towards the archaeological site of Selinunte.
The staff were really helpful and charming. They opened up the kitchens just to prepare supper for the four of us. The food was excellent, locally sourced and mainly organic. The owner and management obviously take great pride in their ' green' credentials.
Breakfast was basic, as are the bedrooms but everywhere was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff and position of the hotel made this one of the best places we stayed wilst in Sicily. It was excellent value for money. We can recommend it most enthusiastically.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony facing the sea for a wonderful wake-up call.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonieOstuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 day, the location is perfect right on the seafront balcony overlooking the ocean, breakfast and dinner on the terrace perfect.
Antonio and Filippe perfect hosts, they make you feel very welcome.
The hotel is not flash it perfect for a stay in this area, close to the archaeology park, and Castlelventrano.
We had a wonderful stay at the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Of all hotels this is our favorite. The location is superb, the food is amazing and the staff is the most friendly we ever met. Rooms are big and clean and the breakfast is nice. You cannot ask for a better atmosphere or a better sea view. This hotel is a perfect base for explore the south and the west of Sicily. With 3 kids - travelling all the way from Norway, this is a perfect spot for a stop.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annesimba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvetrano
1.3 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#7 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Admeto
Hotel Admeto
#6 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
512 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#9 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Eracle
Hotel Eracle
#10 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Miramare
Hotel Miramare
#11 of 13 in Marinella di Selinunte
188 reviews
3.3 mi away
Zahira Resort & Village
Zahira Resort & Village
#1 of 1 in Tre Fontane
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aureus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aureus Hotel

Address: Via XVII n. 40 | c/da Triscina di Selinunte, 91022, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Castelvetrano
Price Range: £44 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aureus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AUREUS the inn on the sea, is situated in the western/south coast of the Sicily. The inn has 20 rooms a large restaurant and a beach (approximately 150 mt far from the hotel).The Aureus Hotel rises on the beach of Triscina di Selinunte to approximately 200 meters from the charming ones templi. It's the ideal place for one relaxing holiday. The kitchen is regional and local and it is distinguished for the traditional preparation of the plates ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aureus Hotel Sicily/Castelvetrano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing