We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for sightseeing the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agriturismo Case di Latomie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed in August 2011, in general the place made an ideal base to stay for sightseeing the local area. The room was clean, tidy and basic. The restaurant served great food but offered mainly meat dishes and fish just once a week, the quality and quanity from the restaurant were very very good value, Breakfast was poor considering the choice availabile from the resaurant! Rated as a four star but I would say more of a 3 star place. The pool was a bonus to have to relax and catch some sunrays after sightseeing. They could do with offering a small bar selling drinks, ice creams and snacks by the pool as we noticed many families with children stayed most of the days by the pool and they were having to go and buy drinks and snacks locally which isn't easy and you have to travel a while by car as you can not walk anywhere as the place is quite remote, secluded and very quiet which we enjoyed. Staff were all friendly. Our air con made a lot of noise and was restricted to number one, as soon as we tried to increase it, it switched off, thankfully the weather cooled a little so it wasn't needed as much as we thought.

Room Tip: If you wish to be near the pool, ask as they are not many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

The farm is so beautiful, but the room was kind of disappointing. It was like just put the bed and some chairs to say that it was furnished. By the way the bed was really hard.
In the other hand the restaurant was great. Excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoloresAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Our family stayed for three nights at Case Latomie, using it as a base for excursions to Selinunte, Segesta and Trapani/Erice before moving on to the East. The small complex of rooms and pool have charm, with flowers and an attractive pool area. Case Latomie's restaurant offers one set menu and frankly it's decent value for three delicious, copious courses plus dessert. Breakfast was also good. Unfortunately we were given rooms on the edge of the property by a small building site for their next swimming pool and facing the road, otherwise Latomie would earn a higher rating. Although we complained we decided to stay in those rooms as they were quiet (we had asked for quiet rooms) and everything within the room functioned perfectly well. We never saw anyone working on this small building site so noise certainly wasn't an issue. The staff don't speak much English, which may affect some people's stay. However, for us Case Latomie worked well for our needs.

Room Tip: Try and get a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alivsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Although the enviroment is nice (with trees and a nice pool) we found the hotel not nice at all for a 4* agriturismo... very disappointing in general. We had been around the island and that was our last night (the price was certaingly high) so we expected a good stay there and a nice dinner. The room was a 3* standard (old and small TV, Air coinditioning out of order, shoddy furniture, etc). At the restaurant, the food is not interesting at all, apart from sharply and unfriendly staff.
Next day at the breakfast we found the same lack of taste for what they call "agroturismo" as it was again a 3* service (not even a toaster nor the olive oil they are so proud to sell).
Staff again not very friendly and smiling...
Sth funny: when we asked for a satisfaction form at the desk they told us to write it in Trypadvisor!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElisaMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2009

The only good thing about this place is the restaurant.
We were given 3 different rooms.The first was so tiny, we had no room for our luggage.The second smelled of sewage, we settled for the third only because we were tired of moving around.
The rooms we were shown don't look one iota like the rooms in the brochure.
We booked 2 nights but left after 1.
The restaurant is very good.We had lunch and dinner.
So if you are visiting Selinunte, by all means eat at the restaurant but find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We found this hotel thought on Internet and it looked good. When we arrived it was better than we expected. It is not only very good rooms in a very beautiful and peaceful place but also excellent service.
The restaurant has great sicilian food (the best antipasti we ate in Sicily) and again with impeccable service (everybody is really nice).
Don't forget to buy their marmalade and olive oil. There are marvelous.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We had booked a hotel in Agrigento but were so diappointed with the town we decided not to stay. We drove on up to Selinunte and by chance came across this lovely , peaceful, Agriturismo. By chance 2 rooms were available, no frills but cavernous and with all the facities needed for a 3 night stay. There were lovely places to sit with an aperitif and dinner was excellent with a good choice of well priced wines. The pool area was very nice, particularly for an impromptu picnic. Breakfasts were more than adequate and the farm's own delicious olive oil was availble for purchase as were homemade preserves. The fantastic sights of Selinunte were 5 minutes away!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelvetrano
20.9 mi away
Agriturismo Tarantola
Agriturismo Tarantola
#2 of 16 in Alcamo
291 reviews
32.3 mi away
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
Agriturismo Masseria La Chiusa
#1 of 2 in San Giuseppe Jato
302 reviews
23.8 mi away
Agriturismo Vultaggio
Agriturismo Vultaggio
#1 of 1 in Guarrato
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
137.3 mi away
Agriturismo Terra dei Limoni
28.1 mi away
Duca di Castelmonte
Duca di Castelmonte
#7 of 121 in Trapani
286 reviews
93.9 mi away
Wine Relais Feudi del Pisciotto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Case di Latomie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Case di Latomie

Address: S.s. 115, 91022, Castelvetrano, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Castelvetrano
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Castelvetrano
Price Range: £52 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo Case di Latomie 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Farm “Case di Latomie” immersed in centuries-old olive trees and citrus groves, bears the name of the ancient quarry which supplied the stone, to build the Greek colony of Selinunte.The 27 rooms, from double rooms for single use to quadruples, all have bath- room, air conditioning, frigo bar, colour television, and heating.All rooms have direct access to the outside, either to the terrace or the garden.The building is suitable for handicapped visitors.Reception, swimming pool, bar, restaurant, banqueting and congress hall, reading room, children’s playground, mini zoo, hire of mountain bikes, parking, beauty -centre (from 2010), fishing, cookery courses and organized excursions.The restaurant, surrounded by our citrus trees offers a variety of traditional Sicilian dishes enhanced with our own home produced organic olive oil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Agriturismo Case di Latomie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Case Di Latomie Sicily/Castelvetrano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing