We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beatiful and relaxing”
Review of Hotel Il Nido

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Il Nido
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Certificate of Excellence
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beatiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Loved our stay at Il Nido. Fantastic area, great views and nice serviceminded staff.
This is a place for true relaxation. The rooms are simple (NIDO2) but fully functional (you dont go here to spend time on the room). Breakfast and snackbar works fine and there is a short walk into Tellaro where you find some nice restaurants.
Tellaro is not a high end vacation resort but a lovely, relaxed and truely Italien village where you get the chance to experience really good italian seafood and some nice views.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattias E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    76
    23
    13
    6
See reviews for
73
107
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Can't recommend this hotel high enough. We are a family of five that stayed here for 2 nights on our summer vacation. Wish we could have stayed longer. The views are outstanding. The beach is perfect. The staff literally jumped any time we asked for anything (thank you Fabrizio!). We enjoyed walking into Tellaro and eating authentic italian food on the square. I'm so glad we found this hotel. My family was thanking me (slam dunk!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mreese_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I have mixed feelings about Il Nido. We booked a double room with panoramic view and terrace and we got both...sort of. The panoramic view was only available from the terrace which was adjacent to a ladies toilet. I thought €160 a night B&B a bit strong and the room only just about met the description on the booking confirmation. The room was clean but basic, no frills. The hotel is in two parts either side of the road. The older part is on the cliff accessed down a lot of steep steps. On checking in, when I asked if someone could help us with our cases from our car parked up the slope in the hotel car park across and along the road after our long drive from Pisa, I was told in no uncertain terms that this is a 3 star hotel signor hence we don't provide that service. Sorry I asked and thanks for the warm welcome. With Italy's unemployment rate so high, carrying guests' cases along the road and down the many steep stone steps to the hotel's reception could provide a great opportunity for an out of work weightlifter to be gainfully employed. This is a hotel not a backpacker's lodge.

The breakfast is OK but nothing to get excited about. Get ready to take your place in the queue for the coffee machine. Wi fi is charged for and only available in the small lounge next to reception.

My conclusion on Il Nido is that with some more thought, care and amore it could be wonderful, as is it's a case of unfulfilled potential. And if you have a bad back and heavy cases...

Lerici and San Terenzo are charming former fishing villages sadly now completely overrun with cars. In the words of Joni Mitchell 'They paved paradise and put up a parking lot' on the hillside just outside the villages and you have to take the free bus from the massive hilltop car park down into the villages.

BUT...the village of Tellaro is lovely and when in this area don't miss the boat trip from Lerici to the Cinque Terre villages and back. That is truly amazing.

Room Tip: Make sure on booking you make sure exactly what sort of room you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PriusExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at Hotel Il Nido from May 8 to May 11, 2013, in a sea-view triple room on the top floor of the building across the street from the reception. The room itself was rather small for a triple room, but it had a giant terrace overlooking the bay (there were even sun-beds and tables on the terrace). The bathroom was not large, but it had a window and was brand-new and well-equipped. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has its own little private beach, and the steps leading down to it are very picturesque. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty; there was even a self-service machine to make fresh orange juice (which we made quite a use of - imagine those Italian sweet blood oranges!). The only issues with this property for us were its location (from Lerici, it was a 30-minute hike, on a narrow and busy highway, with no sidewalks, or a 10-minute bus or cab ride (note that the bus and cab service was irregular and unreliable)) and unavailability of the internet in the room (the internet was only available at the reception area, for an additional cost).

Room Tip: For such a beautiful location, a sea-view is must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurosailornewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013

There is a problem with the hot water: it changes from cold to hot water many times during the shower. The walls are thin so you can hear every thing happening in the rooms that are near you. The staff are very kind, they speak good English and they offer their help. The view is amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I loved this hotel, but you must be in good shape to enjoy it - there are 130 steps from the main floor of the hotel to the beach. The steps are well built and safe, with railings all the way. There are terraces with sun beds and a snack bar built onto the cliffside. It is very attractively done.
I got an amazing room in Nido 1 with a seaview terrace. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The building is not new, but the interiors have been nicely remodeled. The bathroom was modern and clean. Good bath products are provided.
The beach is tiny, but there were always sun chairs availble. Beautiful small bay perfect for swims. There is a lifeguard on duty. The snackbar offers sandwiches and salads until 7pm.
Nido 2 is on the other side of the street, up the hill. I would definitly prefer Nido 1.
Breakfast was the usual buffet, quite good.
The personnel was kind and helpful at all times.
Free parking is a huge advantage. Narrow roads with lots of turns to get to get to Tellaro, and no parking available anywhere. There is a shuttle bus from Lerici.
Tellaro is a small medieval town. The central piazza is 750 meters from the hotel. There are shops, restaurants, and bars there.
Wifi costs 4 euros an hour. Cell phone coverage is not very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swimviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

An amazing view of the gulf, and a nice good breakfast in international style.

The rooms were a bit in a too "standard/plain" style for the price requested. The staff is speaking good english, however when talking to request services you really feel far away from the warm italian courtesy. A true smile is costless though!

The final feeling is that staff can never go behind the formal request, and that the owner is always right.
An attempt to flexibility when providing services to customers, would be worth to try to improve.
It is all right for a short stay, I would not reccomend it for a proper holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasiniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nidotellaro, Responsabile reception at Hotel Il Nido, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear guest, thanks for dedicating your time to our hotel. Honestly we did not understand what is the problem. Our staff is always available to all guests to provide information to improve your stay. The staff, however, must also enforce the rules, even the most disagreeable, how to apply the cancellation policy where there is no serious reason. In these cases it is not easy to smile!! We accommodate families and couples for stays up to two weeks, not only for short stays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tellaro
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fiascherino
Hotel Fiascherino
#2 of 3 in Fiascherino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda Miranda
Locanda Miranda
#2 of 3 in Tellaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
Hotel Ristorante Cristallo
#1 of 3 in Fiascherino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Doria Park Hotel
Doria Park Hotel
#2 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Florida Lerici
Hotel Florida Lerici
#1 of 18 in Lerici
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Europa
Grand Hotel Europa
#3 of 18 in Lerici
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Nido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Nido

Property: Hotel Il Nido
Address: Via Fiascherino 75/122 | Tellaro di Lerici, 19032 Tellaro, Italy
Region: Italy > Liguria > Province of La Spezia > Tellaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tellaro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Nido 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Il Nido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing