We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only place open on Monday evening?”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
L'Auberge Alsacienne
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Le Lude
Price range: US$10 - US$38
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The only place open on Monday evening?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We were looking for dinner on a Monday evening in late May and nearly everything in Le Lude was closed.

This restaurant offered a "unique" = "no choice" 20Euro menu. With essentially no option we gave it a try and it wasn't bad at all.

Salad Paysanne, followed by Salmon over rice and Ice Cream dessert. It was tasty and nicely presented. Dinner for 3 adults with wine and mineral water came to $106.

Really quite good overall.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ikes_Reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Genneteil, France
Level Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“You need to like Pork!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

It is some years since I ate here but the timescale doesn't change the experience. Virtually the whole menu involved pork - pigs trotters, ham, Alsacien/German style pizzas. We had Pizza because we were not sure what to expect but we saw other dishes coming to other clients. You most certainly would not go hungry! Good value unless you have a poor appetite. Would be difficult if you dont eat pork.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kangalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were fortunate to find a table here because of its popularity with locals but we were welcomed in despite us wearing motorbike gear by the host. There was a varied menu of local dishes as well as Alsace specialities. By now my French holiday was a terrine tour - if there was terrine or pate on the menu I was duty bound to have it - and here it was excellent. I had steak and the most delicious chips I have had all holiday. The servings were generous and the diners who had ordered the Alsace food looked well pleased with their choices. I should have been more adventurous but I was very happy with my meal - sometimes you just need steak. The decor is homely and the staff, although busy, were attentive and helpful. A great Sunday lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patricia1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bustling at lunchtime mid-week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Attractive restaurant within a small hotel, it was almost full on a Friday lunchtime. The one waiter (proprietor?) was kept extremely busy.
The lunchtime formule at €9.50, €12 or €15 depending on the number of courses is very good value. The cabillaud, fish of the day, translates as "cod" but was a far tastier version than the cod which we normally find in England. It was also beautifully presented.
The choucroute is a speciality, being a regional dish of Alsace. €16 bought a lunch which would feed someone for a full day with two different Alsacian sausages, a pork knuckle, boiled potatoes and a mountain of sauerkraut.
The house red at €2.20 was perfectly drinkable although they do also have a reasonably extensive wine list.
Despite how busy it was, service was quick and with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjk43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for out of the way place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I took some French friends to lunch here and was pleasantly surprised. The menu looks like a Howard Johnson's but everything we ordered was quite good. Great place to take children (we had a 2 year old with us) and excellent local wines. Not worth a detour but you can do far worse.

Helpful?
Thank ellie1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge Alsacienne also viewed

 

Been to L'Auberge Alsacienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing