We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming, excellent food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Gransholm Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gemla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night for dinner, enjoying the great park, where coffee was served, the beautiful salons as well as the impressive dinner room. The food was very good, accompanied by a variety of wines and spirits. The service attentive and well informed. The house was old and charming, many original details still in place. The hotel is situated in a small village, in the middle of rural Småland. It is more cozy than luxurious, but that was just perfect with us. We felt quite at home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heiko D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2013

Staying at this hotel feels like being in someone's home. We were 5 girlfriends who hadn't seen each other for 4 years and had such a good time. Joakim who looked after us was absolutely fantastic. The food was delicious and the wine good. The rooms are romantic but perhaps a little basic. This is a beautiful house in a beautiful setting where you go if you want peace and quiet and delicious food.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellovisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Beautiful house in rural Småland. Feels like being a guest in someones stately home. Good food and beautiful surroundings. Old house with not very luxurios but very romantic . Fantastic house with a beatiful park. Dinner with good quality and familial feeling

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This place needs to decide if it is a hotel or a B&B. It is slightly out of the way and as it offers dinner we had requested this for both nights. On arrival there was nobody around. Handwritten notes on the reception desk indicated which room we (and the other six guests) had been allocated. We seemed to be the only people here. Eventually the mother of the owner appeared. She apparently lives upstairs. She offered us afternoon tea and indicated dinner would be at 7.00pm. In due course the other guests arrived and we had an excellent evening. Dinner was very good, prepared by chef Rickard who was a friendly and entertaining host. Later, the fire was lit in the sitting-room, where we enjoyed coffee and brandy with the other guests.
The following day we returned mid-afternoon. There was nobody around. A cup of tea would have been nice but it wasn’t forthcoming, although we could hear ‘Grandma’ creaking around upstairs. Another couple arrived and was treated to the same handwritten reception. No evening meal was available (due to the small number of guests) so instead we drove into Vaxjo (20 minutes each way) – as did the other couple. No Rickard; no ‘quorum’ of guests; no dinner; no ambiance: it was altogether an entirely different experience from the day before. The owner finally appeared to collect our payment before departure. This was the first and last time we saw her.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Villa Gransholm is a very small hotel with a very good restaurant. To keep it this way, we have to know if our guests want to have dinner or not. We can´t ask the chef to work and prepere a nice 3-courses dinner just "in case of". That I hope everyone understand. We have check in time 3 pm to 6 pm. During this time we´ll be around. It i a big house and a really big garden so we don´t always notice exactly when the guests arriving. That´s why we have a telephone at the desk (and our telephone numbers). Sometimes the guest arriving earlier (I think you did so). That´s why we have the notes, everyone can find the rooms, even if we´re not around. (My mother lives in the Villa - she is always near, but she do not want to stand behind the reception desk for hours waiting for our guests.)
If you have made a reservation in the restaurant you will get a delicious 3-courses dinner. Sometimes i happens that there is only one couple in the restaurant, that doesn´t matter - if the guests have made a reservation, they will get a nice dinner. But, the second day of your stay at Villa Gransholm there was only two couple - you and a family with a baby. The family had told us that they didn´t want to have dinner (there were going to visit some friends) - thats why Richard asked you what you had planned for the day, perhaps you would prefer to have dinner in one of the restaurants in Växjö instead of be our only guest in the restaurant this evening. I do hope that he gave you a choise? He told me that there was no problem.
Villa Gransholm is a family-owned property and we do our very best all the time. Thank you for visiting us - and thank you for the review, we learn all the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Villa Gransholm is a large, rambling structure, located in the pleasant countryside of Småland.
In the vicinity there is a manor that sells antiques, and not much else. Except empty country roads, woods, meadows and lakes. Silence and solitude just 16 km fråm Växjö town. An idela place to wind down on, and, for me, a retreat when I work in another hospital than my own.
Every room is unique, large, and reasonably well appointed. There are no Etro toiletris or 400 tread cotton sheets. Nor is there stark modern furniture. Villa Gransholm is not like that. It is more like visiting Your aunt in the British countryside. With a warm welcome, large public rooms with pleasant old furniture, roaring fires in the large fireplaces, lit candles in the livingroom and a house full of nooks, crannies, windows, creaking floors and a very pleasant atmosphere. Hjördis, the housekeeper, breakfast cook and jack-of-all trades will definitely make You welcome. Breakfast is first class with omelette on demand and lokal charcuteries and honey. Dinner is pre-ordered only and decent in price and lovely. I see Villa Granshol as my second home and would not change it for another. Go there with Your beloved. Take a romantic walk. Swim in the nude in a deserted lake. Go back, have a pre-dinner drink in the garden folly, enjoy the meal and rest in Your room, wondering why the ceiling is 4 meters above You and why You do not have it like that at home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhodesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

One of several inns that belong to the Swedish "Countryside Inns", this is certainly a place to come to be away from it all. This inn is akin to a typical B&B in the U.S., housing only 12 guest rooms in a converted country home dating back over 100 years. Plenty of grounds to wander and sitting rooms to relax in, but don't expect too many frills in the room itself. The bed was comfortable enough and the private bath appeared to be recently renovated, but any extras such as a TV, phone, desk or hair dryer are lacking (there's a TV in one of the common rooms). The inn hosts a restaurant with a single-choice daily menu, but we elected to head into the nearby town of Vaxjo just 15 minutes away where there is a wide variety of bars and restaurants in the Centrum area. The breakfast buffet was a bit spartan, with a selection of fruits and breads and two cereal choices. Nothing hot was available (other than toast), so we were a bit disappointed. Guess we've been spoiled by the tasty home-cooked breakfasts we get back home at some of the B&Bs. If it's seclusion, well off the beaten path you're looking for and you don't mind going without the frills, this is the perfect spot. But if you want a little more for your Kronor, you may want to try someplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank westtexgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Redmanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Villa Gransholm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gransholm Hotel

Address: 132 Gransholmsvaegen, Gemla 360 32, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Kronoberg County > Gemla
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gemla
Price Range: £115 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Gransholm Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Gransholm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing