We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Staying with Good Friends”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunter River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
My Mother's Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Hunter River B&B and Inns
Nelson Bay
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Like Staying with Good Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a fabulous bed & breakfast! Beautiful property and our "Uncle Adams" room was cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and you can order what you like. It was good that there was a flexible time too as many of the other places we stayed had a set time for breakfast.
Ragnar and Nellie were wonderful hosts and made us feel at home. All the rooms look great and everything is well run. They also gave us information about great restaurants and things to do in the area. Very close to Green Gables.

Room Tip: This is located on Highway 13 (not Route 13 if using a GPS)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnNelsonBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
whitewood, sk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

very nice people who run this B+B definatly felt welcome and comfortable. they were accomodating with a breakfast time at our special request to have it early. it was easy find Via the directions given over the phone. there was NO A/C, and we had a shared bath. This was also the most $$ we stayed in our whole trip. although the house is set back a good distance from the road it is in a valley and as a result the road noise was enough to keep a light sleeper awake when staying in the parlour room (windows had to be open due to the no a/c) very clean and a beautiful home, breakfast was great. But for the $$ i dont think i will stay again i will try one of the others in the area.

Room Tip: the parlour room is huge, but does not have an a/c unit of an ensuite bath, road noise is a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Clean room, comfortable, somewhat difficult to find, wifi reception was borderline at best, but overall a good value. The farm seemed meticulously clean, however, improved wi-fi, A/C, more private backyards for the one bedroom cottages, and more than one BBQ for four cottages would have improved my stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desfluorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

My husband and I made last-minute plans to spend the long weekend on PEI. We chose this Inn/B&B by a combination of its good location and good price... and a vacancy! The property is in a quiet country area, but an easy drive from surrounding communities and beaches including New Glasgow, North Rustico and Cavendish. With chain hotels in Charlottetown posting rates close to $300 a night, this choice was a no-brainer.

This country home has been lovingly and very beautifully restored. The photos on their website really don't do it justice. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the grounds were also lovely. Breakfast included a nice selection of cold dishes (fruit & yogurt, cold cereal, juice) and a hot entree (waffles & sausage or quiche one day, bacon & eggs the next) with ample fresh coffee or tea.

We stayed in the "Anne" room which was cozy. The bathroom featured a luxurious big tub and great shower. Unfortunately - one of my pet peeves as a traveller - the guest towels were too short to comfortably wrap yourself in after a soak in the tub. We happened to be staying there on two very hot nights. There was a large fan in the room which, coupled with the open window, helped - but some AC would have been a welcome addition. There wasn't a TV in the room, which wasn't much of a problem with plenty to entertain us in nice weather, but it might have been nice to have for a rainy day or a quiet evening in.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to fellow travellers!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreddybeachCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The inn is extremely clean, food was great and beautiful surroundings. I would have rated it as a 4.5 out of 5. Unfortunately I cannot do that. while eating breakfast the first morning they stopped at our table and asked if they could go in the room to change towels , I wasn't sure what I had left out and was not comfortable with that.The next morning I drove my husband to a meeting and came back by 8:25 am. My intent was to shower, have breakfast (which was prearranged for 9:00 am), and pack and be checked out by 10:00. (earlier than if I had stayed at a hotel). I walked in my room to discover the sheets and blankets had already been removed, which means that my purse, my open suitcase and most of my belongings that were on the bed in preparation for me to pack had been moved , and all of this done in the 20 minutes that I was gone, before 8:25 am.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerfromNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We booked this B&B because it was central in PEI and was close to a wedding and recpetion we were attending. It is off the beaten track, but not difficult to find and we were greeted by our host when we arrived. A friendly welcome and we were shown to our room. Everything was explained about the B&B and our room. We put our bags in the room and we were off to our reception. Came back late and found the place no problem. Easy to find.

The next morning we had a delicious breakfast and off to Charlottetown for lunch with friends. Since it was raining, we decided to go back to the B&B to relax and read until the wedding. We had a very enjoyable time, listening to the rain, in front of the fireplace, while we read our books. Off we went to the wedding and then came back after supper and had a great sleep.

Sunday morning was another excellent breakfast, more relaxing and then we were off to home.

Overall a very good place to stay, and if your plans included exploring PEI, then this is a central place. You could unpack, say here every night, and still see all of the Island. The maps are decieving - you can get anywhere on the island from this B&B in under one hour, both east and west.

I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nova scotia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We chose the Inn as an ideal hub for exploring the Island but it immediately became more than that. From the start Nellie and Ragnar looked after our every need and made us feel part of the family. We loved the peace and quiet, the stars at night, the great sleeps in our immaculate room and breakfasts which set us up for the day.
We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retiredandlovinit04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunter River
2.8 mi away
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
7.4 mi away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.8 mi away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Inn at St. Peters
The Inn at St. Peters
#1 of 1 in Saint Peters Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Mother's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Mother's Country Inn

Property: My Mother's Country Inn
Address: PO Box 172, Hunter River, Prince Edward Island C0A 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Hunter River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hunter River
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing