We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a party!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newmillerdam
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue for a party!!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recently had our 25th wedding anniversary at Hotel St Pierre and it all went very smoothly thanks to the help and professionalism of the lovely Melanie, the wedding and event coordinator!

We have received feedback from most of our guest, and this is an honest and fair review.

We had to do very little in terms of preparation for the party, this was all dealt with by Melanie which took a lot of stress out of the whole thing. We had a lot of guest and the recently refurbished Monet suite was very nice and more than adequate to hold all our guest.

There was a few buffet menu's to choose from, and going by the feedback from our guest, was very good, nicely served in a separate room off the Monet suite which is a good idea.

If I was going to make any negative comment at all, it would be that there wasn't enough bar staff on through the whole evening, resulting in long waits at the bar for drinks. This is also the feedback from the majority of our guest. The bar Manager is very nice, however when asked to serve due to the long wait, he refused and left the bar, leaving only member of staff. Some guest had no other option but to buy bottles of wine to avoid waiting. I had asked for extra bar staff before the event, so if the hotel Manager should read this I would suggest that when catering for such a big event with over 100 people, then to increase the manpower on the bar.

Also, just one other minor thing, the key fobs are far too big! One of our guests removed it from the key for the evening as it was too big for his pocket, when he tried to get drinks on his room later in the evening he was refused by the young man on the bar who said he didn't believe he was a staying guest, which was a bit embarrassing, but all resolved in the end!

Breakfast was good, served by a lovely pleasant lady. All our presents were put into a locked room overnight, so we didnt have to worry about them.

All in all a great night, and a great venue, all our guest thoroughly enjoyed themselves and the whole evening was a great success!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxpel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    273
    90
    35
    26
See reviews for
232
273
36
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Not the most obvious place to hold a wedding you might think but within 5 minutes of meeting Melanie (who coordinated everything brilliantly) we knew this was the place. Everything was so easy to plan and our whole day (and stay) went perfectly. Everything we wanted was catered for effortlessly and the day went by without a single problem. the whole team were helpful, friendly and interested in what we wanted, and our wedding night in the lovely room was perfect. I can't praise the whole team highly enough, and will definitely recommend St. Pierre to anybody for any function. The cleanliness, food, overall experience etc etc was second to none. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We arrived at 10pm very exhausted from travelling and seeing family in the local area. We were looking forward to having a good night's sleep. There was a wedding reception in the hotel and were rightly enjoying their evening. It is not their fault. However, the bass of the music thundered up into our hotel room and we were unable to sleep due to how loud it was (i am a very heavy sleeper and sleep through pretty much anything). The music eventually stopped at 12:30am. We waited for 2 hours and 30 minutes to go to bed. We had to leave early as we were travelling back home the next day. It was not good value for money because they should have done a reduced rate for non-wedding guests, or at the very least, informed you that there was a wedding taking place when we made the booking. We would then have made an informed decision not to stay because we knew we needed to sleep. We phoned and spoke to the night porter who just said sorry. The next day on check out we spoke to the receptionist about this. She just shrugged her shoulders and said sorry!!! The whole point of a hotel is to get a night's sleep. This was not achieved. It is not the fault of the people having their wedding. The fault lies with the hotel for being greedy and thinking that it is acceptable to play loud music until 12:30am, whilst other guests are trying to sleep. The room was mediocre. Nothing great and no frills. If you book here and would like to sleep, it may be worth checking to see if a wedding is taking place in advance.

Room Tip: Check to see if a wedding is taking place if you would like to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthamptonOzzie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

we visited this hotel for a family get together. From the complicated booking to check out the service was excellent.

The woman I spoke to to book the rooms even rang my mother to help with her booking.
The reception lady was extremely helpful and friendly.

Our waiter Philip was also outstanding.

Value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evwalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a hotel that you don't want to judge by the dated look, I attended a family wedding on Friday 1/11/13 and I am so please to say that we all had the best day ever... The hotel was clean and we all received a very warm welcome. After the main wedding we all went into the main room who we all had the best 3 course meal, but the mean thing that really pleased me was that I was able to order drinks at the table and the young man who I think was Scott was the best person I had dealings with one the day, he was so happy to get my drinks and even made some cheeky bloody Mary's which wasn't on normally available.. During the course of the day Scott saved me from a major problem my feel cracked and he fixed it with some superglue and saved me leaving the wedding early.. I would also like to thank all of the young girl who served us during the meal and mel but I wasn't very impressed with the duty manager he really had a bad attitude problem along with a worse BO issue.. After the meal we all moved into the bar and again Scott appeared to served, clean and entertain us whilst trying to get the room fixed into a dance room.

In the late evening Scott and the young girls did an amazing job looking after all the guests at the wedding including he bride who the manager that we sort of a number of times. The DJ was good and played us all the best songs to dance to... The staff at this hotel are the most hard working ever as they are always so happy to help, serve and clean up after everyone. At the end of the day the staff cleaned up and where setting something up for the Saturday the staff don't seem to sleep or stop and my friend stayed and told me that all the same staff where their when we left in the morning, from all of the guests I really want to say a big thank you to the chef, the young girls, Mel and ESP Scott for taking this a wedding to remember, but I really would like someone in high management to talk with the manager that was on that night about this behaviour and hygiene as this is not a very good look or smell for anyone.

If you are traveling or even thinking about having your wedding here please do and you will have the best time ever..

All the best and hope to see you all when I return for a Sunday lunch as recommend by the fit Scott..

Kim xxx

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimwils0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our 2nd visit and, as last time, we couldn't fault anything. Staff are as ever are very courteous and helpful, nothing is too much trouble - ask and ye shall receive ! Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyLizzy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed for one night October
Room comfortable and clean with all facilities including choc bar!
Staff friendly and very helpful
Food very good
Hotel in lovely position close to magnificent lake - excellent walking
It provided excellent accommodation and we would certainly go back

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newmillerdam
2.2 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
945 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
#1 of 1 in Calder Grove
1,322 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Wakefield Woolley Edge M1 Southbound
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel St Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel St Pierre

Property: Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Address: 733 Barnsley Road, Newmillerdam, Wakefield WF2 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Newmillerdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Newmillerdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel St Pierre 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Hotel St Pierre, 3 star hotel set in the tranquil and picturesque surroundings of Newmillerdam, Wakefield.The Hotel offers 54 en-suite bedrooms, 6 conference and banqueting rooms, Pierre's Restaurant, Lounge Bar and ample free parking. Ideally located just a few miles from J39 of the M1.Less than 3 miles from Wakefield Centre and just a short drive to Barnsley, M62 and Leeds City Centre.Whether you're here on business or pleasure we have the perfect surroundings to help you relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel St Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Pierre
Best Western Wakefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing