We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Highly reccommended hotel. Great facilities including the swimming pool, gym, steam & sauna plus the jacuzzi. My husband and I enjoyed 2 nights there for our wedding anniversary. Lovely food, staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the superior room, beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lisaja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear lisaja74
Great feedback thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,465 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed in the Cedar Court Hotel last night using a groupon offer for bed, breakfast and evening meal. This was our second time staying there and once again we were not disappointed.

The reception, bar and restaurant areas are decorated to a high standard and the gym is well equipped (as far as hotel gyms go) the pool area is also clean and well looked after. Our room (203) was a twin that was quite small compared to other twins we have stayed in. The decor was a little dated and there could have been a little more attention to detail with the cleaning (the tv remote was very dirty and the carpet was a dirty round the edges.

The hotel was very quiet but there was still plenty of staff available to help with our enquires. Special mention has to go to Sally working on the bar on Sunday night who was very friendly and helpful and Sam the waiter at breakfast who obviously took great pride in his work and was very pleasant to us.

We had a 2 course meal as part of the offer which was cooked to a high standard and the menu offered plenty of choice. Bar prices were as you would expect for a hotel 4 pounds for a pint of Budweiser and 3 pound 50 for a glass of wine.

We would not choose to stay there normally as we only live 40 minuets away but should a similar offer come up again n groupon then I think we would take advantage.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alec C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Alec C
Great feedback thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience, and we hope its not long before we see you again.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

You can not argue that this place is excellent value for money. The nature of the location (near motorway)and thin building walls stop this from being perfect but they do everything else to make it as perfect as possible. From the welcome we received from Josie on reception to the upgrade to a family room and kids pack that was waiting for us. The welcome of the dog and the excellent food at dinner and breakfast. Whenever we asked the staff where helpful adaptable and accommodating. A couple of veggie options would have been nice but the open lasagne was great. Wine waiting in the room who could ask for more and so cheap.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harasdnalloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Harasdnalloh
Thank you for the kind feedback. Constructive comments are always valuable
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed Fri/Sat night last weekend. Staff very friendly & helpful. Restaurant food very tasty, didn't look a lot when it came but by we finished felt it was enough. Breakfast help yourself, try the creamy porridge..yummy. Food kept well topped up & hot. Pool etc lovely & relaxing. Wedding on both days...guests from the Friday a bit raucous but soon sorted, No disruption at all Saturday.
Will definitely stay again without a doubt.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor in a special disabled room, quite big for ease of movement & huge we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Frances S
Great feedback, thank you for sharing with the wider TA audience
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and found this to be a good hotel with a comfortable bed and nice room with a high standard of decor.

There were no problems that a good head waiter wouldn't fix - we ate dinner here both nights of our stay and had trouble with the service both nights, as well as with breakfast staff. The first night we waited 20 minutes before I managed to get someone to take even our drinks order. The second night the food arrived before the drinks did, and we had to flag down the waitress as we could see her wandering about with our starters with clearly no idea what table they were for. At breakfast, we were shown to a table, then a different member of staff abruptly told us 'someone else is sitting there' then turned his back and ignored our request for another table!

The food however was of an excellent standard and we really enjoyed it.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stephlmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear stephlmc
Balanced feedback, thank you
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I booked a special occasion package which includes a superior room, a bottle of chilled Prosecco, a box of chocolates and robes with slippers, online for my partners birthday. Unfortunately, we found non of the above waiting for us in our room.
Our superior room was situated right next to the function room which was playing extremely loud music (I had "I love you baby" in my head all day). We moved rooms and received our robes and slippers, then we received our Prosecco but still no chocolates. I complained again to reception and eventually received them 3 hours after check in. I expected everything to be in the room on arrival.
We had dinner in the restaurant and I had soil in my salad.
The morning after, we were disturbed three times, twice by the maid, even though the do not disturb sign was hung outside our room. The third time was by the receptionist asking us when we were checking out. We had a 2pm checkout time also included in our package. To top the stay off, a maintenance man was outside our room sawing.
On our way out, I diplomatically conveyed how exasperated I was with the whole experience, the birthday break was ruined, due to some kind of communication failure via the online booking system. Although we had all the booking info printed out, the reception team could not view the details on their monitors.
We were given a £30 refund before we left, but I don't feel like I would want to stay at this hotel again, especially for a special occasion.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Tracy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Tracy R
I am sorry we got this so wrong for you.
Your feedback has enabled us to take corrective actions accordingly.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Currently on our second day of a 2 night stay at the Cedar Court Hotel. My husband has been away with the army for the past month and this is the first time in that period that me and my 11 month old have seen him so we decided to take advantage of the deals available and booked 2 nights b&b with dinner on first night for £98 before he has to go back again on Monday.

Hotel is clean, room is facing car park but nice and quiet, very impressed that a proper cot was waiting for us on arrival. Bed is comfy and of good size.

We had scallops (extra £2 supplement) and corn beef hash croquettes for starter and both had half a roast chicken for the main meal and food was delicious and service was fantastic. Breakfast this morning was delicious. Lots of choice and well cooked.

The best part of the stay in the hotel is by far the staff. From the minute we arrived and so far today the service has been exceptional. Friendly reception staff, guys that work by the pool/gym have been great and the staff in the restaurant are brilliant. Nothing is too much.

Will defiantley be booking another stay soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakefieldGM, General Manager at Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Emily B
Thank for taking the opportunity during this short period of time away to share your thoughts of Cedar Court Wakefield with the wider TA audience. It is indeed the team that make the difference - thnak you for recognising this
Enjoy your stay and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calder Grove
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
949 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Ramada Wakefield
Ramada Wakefield
#2 of 2 in Ossett
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Wakefield M1, Jct. 40
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wakefield
2.9 mi away
CitiLodge Hotel
CitiLodge Hotel
#17 of 19 in Wakefield
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield

Address: Denby Dale Road, Calder Grove, Wakefield WF4 3QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wakefield > Calder Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Calder Grove
Price Range: £36 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from junction 39, M1, this well established family owned hotel encapsulates the warmth and hospitality of Yorkshire. Whatever the reason for your stay, the four star Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield offers a variety of facilities such as 149 bedrooms,restaurant,19 conference and function suites and the popular fitness centre to unwind in the pool at the end of your day. The hotel offers free WIFI throughout all bedrooms and public areas and shows SKY sports in the lounge area on a daily basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Court Hotel Wakefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wakefield Cedar Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing